Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Cursed Islands 2

by rzuf - Compo Entry

Hello!
For my entry I made an epic RPG game with entire game world on single screen.

Important notes:
- game has save/load functionality to make your life less frustrating
- visit bars in towns often for important clues
- visiting some places multiple times is a must to beat the game
- game contains obligatory snowman

Game plays nicely on android devices, so I encourage you to download apk to your phone. It's pretty neat.

PS. pardon my handwriting, turns out it's even worse when pixelated...
PS2. you CAN get rid of the debug texts - when they appear just save your game, reload the page and continue playing without nasty letters obscuring your view.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#177Humor3.19
#289Theme3.82
#411Mood3.09
#423Overall3.32
#574Fun3.07
#673Graphics2.90
#886Innovation2.63

Comments

fleegle2000 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:27am

While the graphics need work (charming as they may be), this game has a solid RPG mechanic, and as a cat owner I can totally sympathize with the protagonist :) I haven't beat it yet but I have every intention of playing again to find out what happens.

talecrafter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:18am

Is that correct that the web version ist just a few hundred pixels wide?
Great idea to use a roleplaying game with world map. The graphics style is good enough, but the main character was hard to make out.

jepster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:20am

Damn, this game is hard! But I really enjoy the art style! Add some sound, fix your handwriting and you've got a solid thing going on!

stray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:22am

Chrome crashed!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:24am

Very fun little game. :D
I would totally get behind a bigger version of this, well done. :D

Alter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:33am

Good RPG! More then for 10 min.
Be sure to return to play.

Logun says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:51am

Graphics are cool, very nice map and ennemies. But It took me a LOT of time to farm, too long and I give up in front of the flying castle :( I love tiny RPG but the evolution curve need to be tweak. For a post compo entry ? :)

ranseur says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:09am

Neat concept, and I like the mspaintesque hand drawing! Just a little too farmy for my scarce time.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:14am

Solid RPG mechanics, nice and simple style. My only gripe is that when you pick up the running shoes there's an error that it can't find the shoes asset png and it covers up your health :)

rzuf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:32am

@talecrafter
Yeah, it's 480x320. I'm not a very clever person.

@Logun
Yup, it's a i little grindy, but I was playing it on my phone and it's beatable in one average toilet session.

Thanks for all the kind words everyone \:D/

SneManden says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Rare to see someone put their handwriting out there in a game: bold ;).

Great story and solid RPG. Wish you had chosen to scale the web-version to e.g. double size (pixel-preserving of course).

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:32am

So you have 48h to make a game, taking place on a single screen no less, and you make...an RPG? Hats off to you, that alone would deserve some points.

Luckily the game is good enough to stand on its own! The graphics are really charming (the pic of the guy holding a beer at the first bar cracked me up) and the mechanics are solid. I'm really impressed.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:56am

Hi there. Nice presentation. I died a lot... Liked the simple fight operation... Shame no sounds. Good job!

baseteam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:14am

lol, i can't understand what is going on :)

admix says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:19am

Cute, I love the graphics!

alecmilne says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:30am

I like it. It isn't trying to be a huge RPG, but for what it is, it is quite satisfying. Could have done with some simple sounds though.

AndresGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:41am

Liked it. First RPG I've played in this dare, executed well. Glad there was that save feature. Add some color and audio and it'll be golden.

plauk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:48am

gg

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Very good entry! I was directly sold by the graphics but I was slightly skeptical about the gameplay. But after playing a while I really got into the game. Perhaps xp rate is a bit slow, needed to farm a bit too much. But it was ok. Congrats for the good game.

CheeseyBob says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Really well executed concept - love it! I managed to beat it (having savegames was definitely needed) and there was a good amount of content. The last boss fight made me chuckle!

asobitech says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Probably needed one more day of play testing and tweaking. But nice first entry.

Jhelle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:44pm

I would love to see this kind of rpg being made into a full game. Maybe even local/online coop and more places to explore.
Great job!

igoramendola says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Ohhh, it's an adorable game! And it has a snowman!! ☃
Took me a while but I've finished it! I love RPG games :D
Cool graphic style and the game fits very well with the theme.
Nice work!

lycrashampoo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:14am

Hard to go wrong with a good old grindy RPG! One bug I noticed: when I equipped the shoes of fast being fast or whatever, an error message popped up about not being able to find "assets/shoes.png," obscuring my hit points. Dying and reloading did not get rid of this error message.

Also, I haven't played all the way through yet, but my magic is up to 16 and I have no idea if that's ever going to be useful for anything. Other than that, I'm having a lot of fun, though! The art style is pretty cute.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:15am

Nice and simple I like it, good entry!

lycrashampoo says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:16am

Hard to go wrong with a good old grindy RPG! One bug I noticed: when I equipped the shoes of fast being fast or whatever, an error message popped up about not being able to find "assets/shoes.png," obscuring my hit points. Dying and reloading did not get rid of this error message.

Also, I haven't played all the way through yet, but my magic is up to 16 and I have no idea if that's ever going to be useful for anything. Other than that, I'm having a lot of fun, though! The art style is pretty cute.

MurrayL says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:10am

Fun, and I like the graphics - it seems like a long-lost handheld game.

Way hard, though!

I would definitely play a game like this with multiple maps/randomly-generated quests for quick (5-10 minute) adventuring.

Yarek says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:17pm

I think you must be really brave to try an RPG in 48h and using this theme so this gives you some points for sure :)

doitle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:18pm

This was pretty fun. I wish I could see the end but I can't figure out how to get more health. Even at 9 Str 9 Mag I died on the way to the old fort.

rzuf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:50pm

@lycrashampoo
You use both strength and magic during fights (which one - depends on a monster you encounter) As for being able to beat the game - aside from griding there is a quest that progresses the story.

@doitle
You have to grind a little. Stay close to the towns, rest often and you'll be ok!
Also - Continue option is your friend. :}

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:03pm

looks promising, but the controls are a bit off on my 1+
i have to click right of buttons, moving on the map is relly difficult.
like the graphics style

Larry says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:17pm

The game must be good if I decide to spend the time grinding for experience to beat the game. Once I realize it's a matter of stat difference, it was easy to just grind until I'm over-leveled.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:30am

Very fun little game. Neat ++

thopis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:43am

Very nice!I like the artstyle,it's fun and the game is good too!

AlbertoSM says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:25am

Nice idea! No audio makes it a bit dull, but I like its intentions!

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:17am

Very good game. I like the artstyle too! It seems simple but it is very well done, i playing a lot. Congratulations!

AsixJin says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:13am

Dang this game is hard...I just ran most of the time!

vinull says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Old school grinding JRPGs are not my thing, but this is still a cool take on them. I made my way all the way to the fort and needed a key so I went to the cave and at the point is where I gave up (lot of reloading!). I think the problem I had most was it seemed RNG was required to win - sometimes the first creature killed me and sometimes I took down five of them and made it to the next town with ease.

rzuf says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:26pm

@vinull
It's not RNG that's required to win, it's just a little patience. You have to level up a couple of levels before venturing forth, staying close to towns. Didn't you read the clues placed conveniently in the bar? :P

Trite Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Could use some sounds and a graphics upgrade but it's a solid game :)

t4u says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:40pm

It's all big grind fest but with so much fun. I love simplistic graphics that perfectly match the silly plot. I finished the game but was unable to collect shoes in the forest. I clicked too quickly to see what amulet does :(.

At some point I got a message on left top of my screen which made it impossible to see my health.

One of my fav LD entries(if not THE fav). Shame you cant increase your hp.

rzuf says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:16am

@t4u Thank you kind sir. <3 You get shoes randomly by wandering in the Dark Forest (it's like 1/15 chance every time you get an encounter there). HP is increasable - the amulet you mentioned gives you additional 2. :D

Vaclav says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

This was pretty fun, I've beaten the game. It's very nice for a compo entry, and the graphics is outstanding.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Pretty fun! A bit difficult, though, I can't really get anywhere without dying...Still, you got the entire framework of an RPG, and the graphics are cute. So, good job!

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:42pm

While I really liked the graphics, the game window could be a tad bigger. The concept is great, and the quest appropriately epic .)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]