Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Hectic!

by zakchaos - Jam Entry

Made for the #LDJAM

Theme: "Entire game on one screen"

Use arrow keys to move.
Collect green dots.
Avoid Spikes.
Avoid Blue guys who like to push you around.
Stay alive as long as possible collecting dots for high score.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#511Theme(Jam)3.55
#574Audio(Jam)2.47
#687Humor(Jam)2.23
#735Innovation(Jam)2.68
#738Fun(Jam)2.73
#739Overall(Jam)2.93
#821Graphics(Jam)2.56
#940Mood(Jam)2.13

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:05pm

nice idea, but very difficult game

shubshub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:07pm

It was very confusing to play

christopf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Man that's a hard game! And that's also what i like most about it. It's quite challenging and getting your attraction through it. But what i miss is the difference in levels, also a fullscreen mode would make things a little easier imo :D

zakchaos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:14pm

@cristphopf (You should be able to enable full screen when playing the embedded version via ludumdare)

v01pe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Nice, challenging game! What @christopf said - I basically stopped playing after dying in the 2nd level, because I was like: OK, seen everything…
The hit-box of the player is a little bit too big IMO.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:56pm

I like the concept! Neat!!

Deft97 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:36am

Surprisingly fun c:
Only complaint is that the screen is a bit too busy to focus on anything.
(But that might be intentional)

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:40am

Wow, I hate those guys!!! Like the gameplay but it's hard :) I had fun playing, well done!!!

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:41am

Phew, this game is hard! I like that using the conveyor belts can be a really good thing (avoiding enemies) or a really bad thing (suck you into the spikes).

The player and enemies could have used a little more contrast to make them easier to separate visually from the background.

misto423 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:42am

Pretty cool. The collision seemed a little buggy for me, and the game just stopped when I died (had to refresh to play again). Still pretty fun and I think the challenge worked to your advantage for this kind of game.

Muush says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:21am

Very difficult yet not necessarily fun. Certainly better than a lot of games here in LD. Not bad at all

rainshapes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Interesting and challenging game!

Skipi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:44pm

The hitbox on either the player or the spikes are a bit too large. Other than that, the game is fun.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Simple, but still fun. Though, I wish spike and conveyor animations were smoother.

Kerdelos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:09pm

740 ! I was almost done ! The game is fun however I found the controls have a kind of inertia that makes it hard to avoid the spikes. And I would try to make the animation of the arrow more smooth, I don't know why but the way they are, they prevent me to focus on my character. But good job anyway ;D

hjfrew says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Great tweaks on the pac-man formula!

Pat Kemp says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:11am

Very difficult! I think the loose player controls make it feel kind of out of my control. Compare to a brutal difficulty like Super Meat Boy where the controls are very tight, but the levels are super difficult. Basically, in your game, I feel like the game is screwing me over rather than me making mistakes.

Tortoise says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:14am

Challenging game I could only get the outer rings before dieing. Lost my sight of my character a few times too. Surprisingly fun once you get the hang of it.

Crefossus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:36am

Some parts of the music track are catchy although it's little disjointed overall.

Could be more fun if the hitbox on the main character was a bit smaller. The blue guys pushing you sometimes feels like you lost control (may also be the conveyor belt). I thought that it was kind of emergent when a blue guy pushed me into the dots.

After you understand all the mechanics and the hitbox then it's fine.

zompi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:32pm

It looks simple but in fact is a difficult game. Too bad the difficulty is because the huge hit box of spikes. But it has something that keep player try again and again and again. So, good concept and gives some fun afterall :)

Rothens says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:55am

well.. this was difficult :D

Caspila says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:21am

The controls need some more polishing. Also the hitbox of the player is waaaay too big. All the times that I died I felt like the game was cheating, instead of felling like I made a mistake and controlled the character wrongly.

ruerob says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Nice little game. Hard to play first but after a while I get used to it. Maybe the character should stop completly after releasing the arrow key.

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:09pm

Good work finishing this game, and following the theme. I feel it was a little too hard, and I'm not sure if there was a huge amount of depth (not a lot to learn). I liked the music in the game, it fit the overall feel of the game well.

nassi says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Sadly not that much fun to play, mainly because of the finicky movement combined with the hitboxes I guess. My best score was exactly 400 I think.

Having to reload the page to replay was pretty annoying. A bit jittery on Pale Moon (a Firefox based browser), but ran pretty smoothly on Chrome.

zakchaos says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Hmm, shouldnt have had to reload, after you die after the score prompt it goes back to press space to start,

crazyrems says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:46pm

A good entry, but way too hard. The character hitbox is oversized, so we are always trying to get out of the ground that pushes you. Get killed 5 times in a half minute without any progression.

FistBumpGames says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Very hard, very fiddly and very confusing. Kinda fun though and good for a LD!

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:01am

Awesome maze!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]