Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Peter Padder Pauleypop

by pjchardt - Compo Entry

Peter Padder Pauleypop is a love poem to SNES Final Fantasy games and the fishing sequence in the Illusion of Gaia.

Consider the experience the sashimi version of a video game.

Controls: Arrow keys, exc to exit

Tools:
Engine: Unity 2D
Code: C# Language
Visuals: Photoshop
SFX: Audacity and a microphone
Music: http://www.abundant-music.com/, SynthFont2, and Audacity
Font: FFF-Tusj - http://www.fontsquirrel.com/fonts/FFF-Tusj

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics4.81
Mood4.60
Coolness70%
#16Audio4.10
#83Overall3.80
#341Humor2.83
#482Innovation3.23
#922Fun2.65
#947Theme3.25

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:21am

Interesting game :D love it

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:18am

Holy crap this game is beautiful! 5 stars is not enough!

SarahFrisk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:24am

Seriously, I love that art. Great job!

jrap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:53am

This is so pretty its making me angry. I wish there were six, seven or maybe eight stars to give you. I also think its a really neat compartmentalized emotional experience, like this triggers a response from me.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:55am

Very beautiful game! Amazing atmosphere. Great work!

deathray says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:56am

Mood +100000 The beautiful art and music combine with the simple gameplay and surreal world to create a really unique experience. Well done!

tielbyrd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:19am

What a fun little game! The graphics are absolutely beautiful--I love that hand-drawn look. It's very artsy, poetic, and sets the mood perfectly. Fantastic entry, well done.

ponk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:21am

Beautiful .. ! BEAUTIFUUUUUULLLL...!!!

Rene Damm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:33am

Amazing. Beautiful graphics and animations, great audio. Overall just great presentation. Nice simple mechanics. Pretty cool when you first hit "Feed" and you realize that thing is alive. Great stuff.

barryrowe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:02am

This game looks sooo good. It's also a challenge to make doing the same thing multiple times interesting, but I never thought about quitting. I had to see what was next. Awesome entry.

Hellequin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:38am

Beautiful game... eveything is great! well done!

rabbit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:44am

What wonderful art, atmosphere, and a unique experience you have created here. Very enjoyable.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:13am

Art and mood just fantastic! Gameplay is simple, but anyway this is really good entry.

MaddeStudios says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Wowzers. The art and that music, amazing.

InfectionTeam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:47pm

I love this!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Awesome job!!

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:49pm

A beautiful experience.

Wertle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Great job on the mood. The art all fit together beautifully, and I liked the way the poetry(?) was integrated. Overall, a nice little experience.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:50pm

very melancholy! Art and music is awesome! Great work!

ilokimo says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:30am

Wonderful yet could have gone further, I wish this had went in as a Jam as it is ambitious yet simple.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:35am

Lovely aesthetic setup!

spotco says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:10am

Quite pretty, couldn't read all the text.

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:28am

A very complete experience. The way you used artwork and text is really nice, I liked the life of contemplation this eyeball lives in.

Robber says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:57am

looks really gorgeous, but needs more game

Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:03am

Beautiful artistic game. I love the graphics and the music. Congratulations! :)

brainstorm says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:39am

Innovation 3/5: I've seen some games like this, but it isn't a common genre.

Fun n/a: It doesn't have exactly gameplay.

Theme 5/5: Great use of the theme!!!

Graphics 5/5: The best graphics that I've seen on the Ludum Dare!!!

Audio 5/5: It made me sad (in the good way)

Humor n/a: It doesn't have humor.

Mood 5/5: The combination of graphics, music and history is perfect.

Overall 5/5: It's not exactly a game, but it's great.

Night says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Great and really very atmospheric! I like this short story.

skiddings says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:13pm

So pretty!

AlbertoSM says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Not really suitable to the theme of the LD, but the artwork is really good nonetheless.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Wonderful. Thanks for making a post, otherwise I might never have found out about it

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:34pm

beautiful and inspiring... and short. :P wish there was more!

khahem says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:59am

Beautiful and amazing mood. I'd love to see more.

cmdr says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:04am

Awesome! The art style was amazing and I didn't mind that the gameplay was simple because the story was interesting. And what a design for the building! I enjoyed this thoroughly.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:31pm

I feel like I can't show the game the appreciation it deserves ._.

tudd says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:07am

Interesting, *really* good sound and visual design. It wasn't very fun, and it felt like a chore catching the "fish", but I can see that that's totally the point!

Funny concept and interesting story. You're a great artist! Can I buy the music anywhere?

My ratings -> http://puu.sh/dwpEY.png ;)

tudd says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:09am

Oh, and double thanks for not hiding the Unity graphics config which everyone else is doing for no real reason. Unity does a **horrible** job at detecting my screen resolution, and thanks to you leaving it up I was able to play with crisp graphics, and without the game horribly stretching itself to fit my weird monitor.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:53am

Thanks for all of the comments! This has definitely been the best response to an LD game I have made :)
@tudd - you can have the music. message me @pjchardt on twitter

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 1:33am

Beautiful game! But I think I shouldn't judge it by the standard of games. It is more like a piece of art than game.
But let's speak in terms of game standards first anyway. The graphics is extremely good. Audio is awesome, too. In terms of art... The art is kind of abstract for me... And I'm not an art student so I'm not sure what I should say about it... But I'd like to think of it as a piece of poetic modern art. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]