Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

180° Past Pluto

by Brassawiking - Compo Entry

Didn't really plan on participating, but then I remembered an old idea that I've had in my mind and now was a good time to try it out. A very simple game, but extremely polished for once. I have many ideas on how to expand the gameplay but for now I just keep it as a simple endless mode. Enjoy!

My best score is 117, try to beat it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#141Audio3.46
#238Graphics3.63
#277Innovation3.54
#333Mood3.19
#366Overall3.38
#505Fun3.13
#510Theme3.63
#658Humor2.35
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

ThunderCodes says ...
Dec 6, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Too hard to control :/

Boog33 says ...
Dec 6, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Great Idea, but is was too hard. I couldn't get it.

Dec 7, 2014 @ 12:11am

Very fun concept, I thought the controls were fine, besides for the fact that you the scrolling on the window moves when you press the up and down keys

borgi says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 2:01am

I don't get it, what should I do? I can control my thing fine, but can not interact with anything. Looks promising though!

Jack31081988 says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 2:35am

It's fun.. the controls are hard but thats the challange! i like it :D

Raxsus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 4:20am

Very challenging but still fun.

merrak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:13am

Controls seem fine to me. With some practice I got 8... only 109 points short! I really like the graphics and audio.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:47am

Hi there. Great looking game, love the sounds too. Controls tricky, needs better reactions than mine. Managed to get a few level jumps in each time. Maybe needs to move a bit slower for first few levels, is quite harsh to restart after once running out of time.

Pat Kemp says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Controls are tough, but graphics are slick. The avatar/ball is particularly cool.

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Hard to control but once I got the mechanics it was great. Hard to control, but nice game to play :D
Great work :) (imagine this game with touch interface now and go for it :D )

nbilyk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:46pm

I did eventually get used to the controls and that's when it started to be fun. The only thing I really didn't like was having to start back at 0 every time, it was rather unforgiving that way. The graphics, music and gameplay were awesome.

wavertron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Very nice. I think yeah the controls are tricky because the player doesnt have an obvious facing. But given the simplicity of the "reverse for pickup" mechanic, that may work in the games favour. It might be too easy if the player was an obvious space ship icon? hmmm, perhaps just making the player a triangle instead might be a little kinder to players?... Anyways, nice game with a simple focus.

Magicolo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:53pm

-Control scheme is a little awkward :(
-Music and SFX :)
-Laggy :(
-Would need more elements to make it a good game :(
-Visually appealing (particularly the velocity effect) :)
-Keep it up!

hogtrick says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Pretty nice idea. The game have a nice flow, and a fun gameplay. Good work.

hbocao says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Really nice concept! Maybe this idea could work on mobile? Loved the art! The controls are hard to master, but it's very possible to learn. Great entry!

sikosis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:12pm

I was a little lost in what I was meant to do. The controls work well and the music is probably my favourite part of the game.

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:59am

Clever, simple mechanic. One of the frustrating aspects, however, was remembering if I needed to press up or down to reverse direction. It doesn't seem like it should be that hard to remember, especially given the color of the player controlled point, but for some reason it was. I was frequently speeding up right at the moment I intended to reverse, because I was hitting the wrong direction. Maybe use another key to control reverse? Or a double down tap to invert direction, but maintain current speed?

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:45pm

WOW! awesome idea! i love it! great job!

SinistraGames says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Great idea and great game! The only minus is the skill ceiling from the start is too high. After several tries I got more hang of it but it's still really hard. You need to practice the moves in your mind, kinda hard. But great style, sounds and mechanic : )!!

runvs says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Nice game & great concept. Love the visuals of the changeing background. Music fits also very nicht. Though the game is really hard to control, which is a good thing, because it makes the game very challenging!

FistBumpGames says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Good idea, really well done, but hard as hell^^ nice visuals

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 2:02am

Very nice ;)

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:15am

Feel like a nano particle! xD

xebecair says ...
Sep 1, 2019 @ 5:12pm

Very Nice ;)

<a href="https://puzzleanswers.net/word-cross/">Word Cross Answers</a>

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]