Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Not Making It

by Mattias Wargren - Compo Entry

Quick time events are stupid right!? Anyways ... make this coder happy by getting him to his computer.

# Features #
Pixels
Game references
Cheezy music loop
Camera shake
Quick time events

# Controls #
Any key to navigate menu
L,D,3,1 for movement

# Software #
Unity3D
Photoshop
Logic Pro
Cfxr


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#75Humor3.61
#102Audio3.58
#326Graphics3.47
#482Theme3.65
#503Mood2.98
#644Overall3.12
#743Fun2.89
#847Innovation2.70

Comments

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:13am

This basically explains developer procrastination. Can't get to my computer without arbitrary QTE's. Neat idea!

Anikki says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Nice mood.

Iak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:08pm

I mildly hate you for making a game all about Quicktime events. Then again, looking at some of the more recent Resident Evil games, you might make it into Capcom if you send them a copy of your game!

jepster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Great music, great art style. His dance moves are infectious!
The placement of the buttons in the logo don't match their placement on a QWERTY keyboard, so it really messed up my brain!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:22pm

@Iak Mild hate is my favourite hate.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:23pm

@jepster Thanks. And ... it is supposed to mess with your brain :)

tonypai says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I'm reach to level 12, and I can't handle it anymore. I was wondering maybe some surprise showing until I reach level 10, but it didn't. A little sad. :(

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28pm

heheh, this made me chuckle. A nice idea and well implemented. Good job.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:22pm

@tonypai The suprise is at level 999

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:10pm

I got to level 31. I kept thinking it was going to get harder but it didn't. I'm not even sure what quick time events are so maybe the easy gameplay is some kind of in joke that I don't get. I thought overall presentation was really good though. The music suited the mood of the game, and it drive me to crazy even after hearing the same bar about a 1000 times!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:17pm

that was meant to say DIDN'T drive me crazy after hearing it about 1000 times.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Hi there. Like the control scheme. Amusing how little time spent at computer... Like the music.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:59pm

love the 8 bit feel! Gameplay is a bit simple, but this game oozes character!

jthistle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Quite short, but great music and good graphics :)

ponk says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:10pm

CoooOoooollLL ... !

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:44pm

That's funny. Bizarre. But funny.

Ossi says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:45pm

Nice use of the theme and that's a really good song loop! The positioning of the keys was the biggest challenge and made the game really fun and interesting. I managed to get to level 21 before seeing what the lose state was even though I made a lot of mistakes. It perhaps felt a bit too easy. Well done!

TheDreik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Why coder are topless? It would be fun if in the next levels we developed some game using QTE or something like that. But in another hand theme...

anokta says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:50pm

neat art style! felt like there was no point on passing levels after the first couple of them though.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:19pm

A pretty funny take on QTEs

Kuupu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:23pm

hahahah! nice idea!
level 12 is my maximum!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Awesome style overall! Nice art.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Music is actually pretty cool! My only complaint is that I had to twist my fingers kinda weird to be able to hit LD31 keys quickly enough haha.

That's a pretty hardcore punishment for not reaching the computer though...

QuexD says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:44am

Great! how did you come up with the amazing controls!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:40am

@QuexD Plain luck I guess!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:42am

The guy's smile made me smile :)

Nice audio and pixel art!

Gets a bit repetitive, but hey, thats what QTE's are about right?! :D

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Thanks for the comments!

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:13pm

This was cool, I like the peculiar yet relevant choice of keys. The music loop is pretty catchy too!

Kitch says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:25am

I personally resent the way you portray coders as shirtless grinning idiots, dancing around, wanting nothing more than to get to their computer...
wait a minute...
*puts shirt back on, stops smiling and dancing, and gets to computer*
Hey, nice game! Good work!

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Very good!Liked the mechanics with letters and beautiful music too!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:31am

It got pretty fun when things got fast!

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:37am

Put a shirt on! Here's a list of things I liked: the simple style, the goofy music, the cactus, the completely un-intuitive controls, the particle effects and the Wilhelm scream. The gameplay would be repetitive if not for the quickly increasing difficulty (I made it to 13). Man, that guy has a really tall ceiling!

panda says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:36am

I love the dancing guy graphics! Simple game, but well executed! This is fun!

andyphobic says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:48am

I really admired how you messed with my brain.

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:40am

Nice game, very polished and the music is really catchy too!

Dec 25, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Great choice of controls makes it sooooo difficult! :) LD31! It would not be as fun with ordinary arrows or something. Placement of keys on the keyboard turns this QTE into a mind-breaking masterpiece ;)

Dec 28, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Simple game, very well made. I Included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/fGRz-9CpOIg

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]