Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Galactyc Budget Flights

by Elemental Zeal Games Studios - Jam Entry

Introducing Galactyc Budget Flights, our 9th Ludum Dare
entry. This game was made for the 31st Ludum Dare game jam. We hope you enjoy!

Description:
Hello, and welcome to Galactyc Budget Flights!

To keep you paying as little as possible for one of our value flights, your flight will be void of crew members.

Please ensure yourself a safe trip by overlooking all the ship's subsystems.

Fear not! The ship's onboard computer will prompt you every step of the way to ensure you have a safe and relaxing flight.

Thank you for choosing Galactyc Budget Flights.


Controls:
- Mouse switch between tabs
- 1,2,3 Keys to switch between tabs
- Up/Down Arrow Keys or W/S to switch between tabs
- M to mute

On Navigation Tab
- Left/Right Arrow Keys or A/D for navigating your ship

On Engine Tab
- Alternate Left/Right Arrow Keys or A/D for stabilizing engines
- Hit Space Bar to dump coolant into the engine(More coolant the closer
the coolant dot is to the center of the coolant bar)



Best of luck surviving as long as you can,
and best of luck to everyone else who made something this weekend.
:)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#93Humor(Jam)3.63
#319Innovation(Jam)3.32
#357Audio(Jam)3.10
#371Fun(Jam)3.23
#439Overall(Jam)3.27
#460Mood(Jam)3.09
#545Graphics(Jam)3.17
#606Theme(Jam)3.44

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Hi there. First of all... hahaha ! Like the presentation, the idea of balancing spam emails with asteroid dodging, is great. Nice sounds. Very funny and well on theme entry, good job!

zakchaos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:04pm

very cool presentation, i loved the HUD

SushiDestroy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:07pm

Well done

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Really like the multitasking idea, though I didn't understand it well at first, it got really fun.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Cool game! Really solid graphics, fun mechanic. Downsides maybe that it was a bit hard to figure out how certain mechanics worked (but once you knew they were fun :D), that sounds were unclear in the beginning and that the audio is kind of irritating in general... But I really enjoyed playing it! Really innovative.

Magicolo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:15pm

-Not exactly a one screen game :(
-Quantum Mechanics humor is always a winner :)
-Soundtrack is a little annoying :(
-Funny voice SFX :)
-Funny E-mail mechanic :)

elemel says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Very well written! I think the concept was fun but the game fell a bit short.

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Quite amusing storyline, doesn't everyone hate space spam? :D
Clear HUD with easy to pick up controls. Solid game, great job :)

AinaSG says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Funny how spam gets in the way!
I didn't liked the sountrack :C
But overall, original, fun and well presented! Congratulations!

01rafael says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:10pm

I hope I get it :)
After 2 minutes of gameplay, my computer was explode. But it was realy fun 2 minutes

Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Good job!
The game was really funny, especially with all the spam email from the "Martian Prince" and the "Tentacle Enlargement Pills". The graphics were quite nice too and I liked the interpretation of the theme. The sound seemed OK, but not the greatest. Overall, it was really fun!

dook says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Hehe very entertaining. And hard! Took me a few tries to really get the point but it made me smile :)

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Great game! I loved the humor and the game design. Juggling between panels was tough at first but I loved the idea of email spamming :) Good job

yosh says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:55am

That was fun! Really hard but fun :D
Also +1 for the mouth-made sounds ;)

iShadow says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:58am

Excellent in every way. Good idea, graphics, sound, and it's fun to play.

Sharky says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:04am

Very original and fun, a bit too hard on the mircomanagement, after several attempts I could only last 1:22 but it was enjoyable and noteworthy for sure:) just wish it was a hair less hard

Troilk says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:25am

Great game but very hard! :)

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:57am

HAHA loved the sound effects!. Cool idea I dig it! great job, artwork and audio really gave this game character!

Tortoise says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:12am

I really liked the idea of having to balance spam emails and keeping my engine stable. Audio could have used work, other than that, good job!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:15am

Have you ever played Space Alert (or Galaxy Trucker, which is set in the same universe)? Space Alert's a cooperative board game. Your game has a bit of a similar feel to it, in story and mechanics. Which is pretty cool.
The stability mechanic took me a little to figure out. What I was supposed to do there (rapid tapping, not just one direction or the other) to control it wasn't immediately clear.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:17am

Really cool concept, I'm a big fan of the "Martian Prince" emails :)

Bloxri says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:30am

I had some fun with this game. I played on Linux, and some of the UI elements were bugged, but that may have just been me so I will idsregard it. Overall it was a pretty good game. I always found myslef getting relaxed, tabbing through each page not having any problems. I would think it was smooth sailing, until I would linger too long on one and accidentally fail from another. A fun mechanic. Well done.

egos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:10am

the multi tasking game is really well executed.
Fun, good sound and music and polished
Good job

barryrowe says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:19am

This is hectic, and frustrating, and awesome. It's a lot of fun, and you feel at least a percentage like what any normal person would probably feel like shoved into a spaceship with no training. The audio is clean, the interface is smooth, and the turn around time on failure keeps you coming back to try again. Great job.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:22am

The sounds are awesome. Good graphics, nice music, and cool innovation!

SwiftIllusion says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:10am

Great fun, the writing/humor/presentation was brilliant, and the sounds hilarious :). Really enjoyed my experience with this, great job :).

raincole says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:36am

Nice concept, but not sure how to cool down in tab2

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Galactic Buddies indeed! I wasn't so sure about this when I saw a wall of text at the beginning, but you sure sold me on it with the humor and concept. I think I would have preferred sounds from bfxr for computer noises, but the ones you have were properly game-jam charming. The gameplay was great and I would have like to play more but I was unsure how to keep the engine stable. Overall high marks from me, great job!

cabezotta says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Nice! really funny!

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Ok, so it seems my quantum mechanics knowledge is alright, but at fail at managing my e-mail hahahahahaha! that spam is worst than driving into asteriods xD
Loved the humor and funny vfx !! good job guys :)

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:51pm

The time warp sound effect was the best. Awesome concept for one screen. How do you stabilize the engines?

Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Brilliant! I loved the email subjects in particular, but the entire thing is spot-on hilarious. Also, those sound effects :D Minor point: I didn't quite understand how the stabilizer worked -- it just seemed to flip the amplitude of the sine wave around.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Took me a moment to realize how everything works but then it was a blast, the multitasking was surprisingly fun. Grea art and the sounds were funny.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:53am

great idea - loved the home made sounds - added to my play again list

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:12pm

good idea..

bushmango says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:42pm

good idea but it's kind of tedius

Trite Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Not my type of game but i like it, good job :)

Crosstales says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:50am

Cool game concept - well done!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:59am

I am thinking exactly what @intersectiongames is thinking, this reminds me a lot of Space Alert! It's a hilarious board game where you need to do silly stuff like jiggle the mouse in the control room once in a while or the screen saver will come on and sleep your computers.

Very nice presentation, hilarious sound effects, and enjoyable (if difficult) gameplay. Loved the emails too! :)

Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:51am

Fun game with cool mechanics nice job

ramonparaiba says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Exelent game. Congratulations, dude!

GagaPete says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:22pm

The game don't run on my PC (got some weird rendering issues directly after the "Powered by Unity"-splash. It looks impressive from what I can see on the screenshots and read in the comments nontheless.

igoramendola says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Hahaha nice entry! The concept it's pretty good and innovative, and the game is very funny (especially audios). Besides, I think it fits very well with the theme. Good work! And my best is 1:39 so far.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:35pm

nice, very clever, love how the voice was used for sound effects, very funny, well done

Kitch says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Heh, looks like we have the same taste in 48 hour game making concepts :) Really liked it, especially the graphics and sound effects. Good job! Thanks!

Ossi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:52pm

That was pretty cool! I really like the graphics of the UI and the juggling and maintaining between tabs to keep yourself alive. The audio set the mood well and some of those emails were pretty funny! Well done!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:54pm

450 KB gotta be enough for a spaceship, no?
Nice multitasking game, though I would have liked if there would have been an actual target destination to fly to, instead of only avoiding asteroids. The engine tab is a bit confusing at first, but can easily be solved by rapidly spamming spacebar and left and right arrowkeys. And why is there no keyboard shortcut for deleting emails, it was kinda annoying having to switch to the mouse for that.
My best was probably somewhere around 5 minutes, but then the screen suddenly faded black, and the game restarted...

allurious says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:23pm

For some reason the web version didn't run for me in Chrome. :(

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:28pm

This game is simply awesome!

alabebop says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:15pm

This is no easy but really fun! While playing it reminds the complicated trivial life we have here on earth. Love it very much!

doos says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:53pm

That was hilarious and well done.. Full points to everything!

TKF15H says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:58am

Ha! That was fun! Loved that deleting spam is so critical. Almost made it to 3 minutes! xD

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:39am

Interesting idea, I didn't understand clearly in the beginning. Nice sound effects!

RyanNielson says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Head little game, I think this could make a super interesting and hectic game and you could add a ton of new elements to it. Although, it seemed like steering my ship wasn't working so I kept hitting asteroids. I was clicking the button, but wasn't sure if it was doing anything. Perhaps some better feedback like button press effects or sounds would help. Maybe this was a bug though, I played the Mac version.

tudd says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:38am

Funny game and I love the music and sound effects!

I couldn't read the intro text because the scrollbar kept gravitating to the top, and coolant didn't work (pressing space switched to the email tab)

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:11am

Great use of humour in this.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:17am

First, I thought I should read the emails, but didnt get how=) Only later I realised it just spam, hah=))
Very humorous sound by the way=)

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:41am

No time to read emails, no time to take care of the engine, no time for... Arrrrggh, dead. Again.
Is it possible to reach the end of the trip without exploding in little pieces lying in space ? I wonder, but I'm not sure. Fun game anyways. :D

Almax27 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:30pm

Hehe, loved the sound effects, died a few times thanks to those damn asteroids but got the hang of it pretty quickly. Awesome entry!

Backterria says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 11:47am

Great interface and generally vvery polished entry!Love the music too :)

FistBumpGames says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Good game, right amount of challenge and fun. Sounds were hilarous, background theme maybe a bit repetitive but otherwise good.
Gameplay was interesting but felt a bit cluttered at times (like having to delete each email seperatly, while doding asteroids).
Otherwise good game!

sikosis says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:52am

Lots going on there ... I get get a little lost. Nice sound effects, though the background sound which you could mute was getting a little on my nerves ;) Overall nice one.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:01pm

Funny little time waster, I enjoyed the sounds and overall humor.

BooleanByte says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Haha, spam in space... game... spaceship... don't thik i have seen that before. Is this what they are doing up at ISS?

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:41am

Really great submission, the humor was definitely on point. I laughed out loud at the mail subject titles. Clicked a lot of buttons and couldn't really figure out how to play, but I dig the idea. Good job! :)

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:29am

Neat multitasking concept--it took a few games to understand all the subsystems (especially stability and email) but I like how the challenge ramped up.

aeveis says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:50am

pretty fun! I liked the management between everything and the silliness of it.

Vaclav says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Hahah the sound effects were very much fun! Also nice music and graphics. I wish there was win ending or something.

gameattack says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:50am

Very funny. I can't even survive 30 sec though.

Dunric says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Awesome!!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:16am

Great entry!!

I loved this game. It was really really fun steering the ship. Multitasking in general felt really good. It had incredibly subtle and great humor ("tentacle enlargement pills!). XD

I wish there was some kind of ending or checkpoints to hit. But that's a good complaint because I just want more! The look and sound to the game was very cute as well! There was a charm to it that I couldn't explain. Very well done! :D

gallerdude says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Fun Multitasking, reminded me of my game. Appreciate the useful HUD, and quick task switching.

YourNerdyJoe says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:41pm

lol the sfx!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]