Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Randomaze

by Nikteddy92 - Jam Entry

Anmork, a little Cubeman, is trapped insiede terrible game...

Run! The clock is ticking! And collect all you can to get out of this hell!!

-----

Developed alone during the #LD31 JAM.

I hope you'll enjoy!
Rate & comment please! :D

-----

P.s. I posted a fixed version with the all-demanded skippable dialogues & the music muting. I already knew the dialogues were a little booring and slow.. but I didn't have time to setup a well made and working text-engine.. NOTE: You can skip dialogue ONLY BEFORE the dialogue starts.. I'm sorry but on how the game i structured, a better engine would modify too much what I did during the jam.

-----

p.p.s. I'll post as soon as possible an "arcade" versione of the game, without the "fluff" and only with a bigger maze and a more hardcore feeling! Stay Tuned!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#132Humor(Jam)3.45
#229Theme(Jam)3.86
#259Audio(Jam)3.31
#434Fun(Jam)3.14
#456Mood(Jam)3.10
#524Innovation(Jam)3.00
#596Overall(Jam)3.10
#798Graphics(Jam)2.60

Comments

Bevilacqua says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:01am

Im sorry for your bad luck! Looks good so far!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Really good, had some fun! It gets a bit repetetive though.

SivGoose says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Great game! Music seems to fit to the atmosphere of the game and it was fun to play. When pressing f5 to restart the game my computer, for some reason had trouble loading it up. Might just be my computer tho. The only problem was sometimes the text at the start disappeared before I could read it. Other then that its a fantastic game!

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:00pm

nice, I didn't understand how to clear a level though,
there was a rainbow thingy that I couldn't interact with, and the pressure plate in the lower right corner did nothing aswell, so when timer runs out I'm doomed :p

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:43pm

clever setup for this game. although i liked when the popup text was talking over each other, it did make it a little hard to read. well done on the game!

pht59x says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:50pm

Splash-screen does not give clues with regard to how to get into the maze and really start playing. Music is good, but might be a bit repetive after a while, hence a switch to turn it off.

berareu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Nice work! Sadly sometimes the items were bugged (like the rainbow keycard or the coins) and I couldn't pick them up so I couldn't finish the game... Good job anyway! Ciao!

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:22am

Nice idea - I just wish you could skip the dialogue somehow after the first death. Music worked well with the theme

Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Liked:
- The dialogue! It really enhanced the game and set it apart from other maze games by adding a story and characters!
- Interpretation of theme. It really was all on one screen
- The graphics/layout. I though the idea of a lobby was really cool.
- The mazes. They were well generated and the timer had just enough time to make a run through the maze really tense.

Disliked:
- No way to skip dialogue. This is what ruined the game for me. I played twice, making it to the second maze on my second go, but didn't play again because it would mean going through the dialogue again.
- No way to go through dialogue at your own pace. The pacing you chose wasn't bad, but I wanted to click through it faster. Because I couldn't do that, I started the game already mildly annoyed.
- The music. It was nice at first, but quickly became repetitive. A music-toggle switch would fix this.

Overall I enjoyed playing, and reading the dialogue the *first* time.

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Agree with BoxedMeatRevolution: when adding a 'cutscene', let the player skip it! Time ran out on my first maze and... I didn't really felt like trying again (I did, but requires patience!) ;D Well done, though! :D

Pfilzweg says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Great game but i would like skippable conversation :>

nuqu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:35pm

I really liked the story told on one entire screen. Very funny little universe!

Hunter X says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:41pm

A very interesting concept with a lot of potential for expansion. The maze generation felt a little off at times (coins being stuck in unreachable areas etc.) and after a few games I seemed to be unable to use the teleporter any more, but on the whole it was an entertaining experience.

Lupins says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Nice game :)
You can improve the input though.

blzkz says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:26am

Nice game, humor an theme, but I hate to read all the "tuto" again if I want to retry, still fun game :)

Warboys says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:39am

How do you skip the dialogue? I loaded the skippable dialogue version but can only see the 'mute music' button. I played once but I can't give it a fair review if I can't play some more :)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:48am

Mmmmh..
After the start, when you get teleported inside the lobby, there should be a white icon on the top-right corner. Pressing T you should toggle music..
In the same version of the game, when you get near Max & Viktor, the two cubes, you can click X to skip that scene. If you can do it there should be a pop-up on how to when you get near them. I hope you can give it a try. :)

Warboys says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:05am

Dialogue is super cute, nice touch! The maze gameplay is fun and the timer feels pretty balanced. I died a few times before figuring out I needed that rainbow card but after that I had a great time :)

Good job on the cube perspective btw, that was a fun touch!

Shivur says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Funny story!

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Wish there will be not cubes instead of characters, great concept, I see potential=)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Pretty interesting concept and nice interpretation of the theme. I liked the rather humourous dialogue although the maze generation definitely needs some refining (as there were instances of coins spawning on top of walls).

Demy says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Interesting way to 'wrap' maze-walker with the story. Could be more comfortable if he will keep moving while key is pressed (inside the maze).

Ashtom says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:56pm

I had to play the post-ld to get the teleporter working. Fun and stressful.

Dec 24, 2014 @ 3:10pm

I'm not 100% sure, but it is possible that some of the coins spawn on walls and are therefore not reachable?

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Excellent use of the theme. I love the characters you build in between the game play. And I love that they talk while you're playing as well. The gameplay is simple and the game is not without its rough edges, but even so very nicely done. The cute story is worth it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]