Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Disk of Phaistos

by hi-scor.es - Compo Entry

A combination platformer/shooter. On one screen.

Head for the white platform.

Controls:
WASD - move
mouse - click to jump & hold to shoot
spacebar - transmogrify

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2356Coolness0%

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Hi there. Loved your game, found it difficult, very innovative idea to switch modes. Like the way you built together the title screen, instructions and tutorial. Shame no sounds. Good job!

Raxsus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:14pm

I've never seen a game like this before; very interesting concept. The only thing's that could be added are sound/music, better graphics, and the enemies spawning outside the rooms border (when they just appear inside the room, it looks unpolished).

ehtd says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:03am

I liked the interaction between shooting platform, just the randomly appearing enemies make it quite hard to beat

lycrashampoo says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:59am

Really cool concept and graphics! In practice, I found it frustrating trying to kill a bug where I wanted a platform to go, and the process of jumping to the white platform wasn't interesting in itself. The way the game starts is pretty great, though, and I got really excited when I realized you could swap between the disk and the man. So there's definitely a core of awesome in here.

paperweight says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:00am

Interesting except the seizure inducing colour changes.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Very innovative, great build-up of mood. Seems like I could leave the screen area as the disk, which made it hard to follow. Great idea!

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Interesting! It took me a while to figure out...I see what you were doing with the game sort of guiding the player along, but it was still kind of obscure. I'm not even sure how I would make it more obvious, though, maybe it's just a tricky concept to get your head around...Anyway, I definitely like the idea. The problem I had was that it's really difficult! Only one hit is kind of unforgiving. The incessant flashes are a little painful, too. By the way, could you maybe make "A" jump as well? That would make it a lot easier to control. I'd like to see an improved version of this, there's interesting possibility here. ;) Maybe an easy level to start off with, harder ones later?

OttersDen says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 9:00am

This is interesting! However, the visual transition between the two game modes is a bit jarring to the eyes. But nevertheless, good work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]