Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Go farm!

by vidarn - Jam Entry

A colorful farming game that features 5 different types of crops, several tools and upgrades and an awesome co-op mode.

What are you waiting for?
Go farm!

-- TUTORIAL --
View the second screenshot below for an animated tutorial explaining how to grow and sell your first crop (you might have to click it to view the animation)

-- INSTRUCTIONS --
To run the game, please drag and drop the file named go_farm.love on love.exe (on windows) or love.app (on osx)
In other words, do this:
go_farm.love ----> love

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#81Mood(Jam)3.79
#108Overall(Jam)3.78
#157Graphics(Jam)4.02
#213Fun(Jam)3.44
#302Innovation(Jam)3.37
#505Humor(Jam)2.59
#761Theme(Jam)3.23

Comments

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Don't know why you opt-out of the other, any way. The Graphics are great, love the floating animation, sounds are great and game-play is fun

mortus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:16am

I like a lot how relaxing and forgiving this game is (after playing another LD game about corn I really needed it!). Will try it in a more relaxed mood and with someone to cooperate again.

Is there challenge in the gameplay, or just this relaxing Zen thing?

vidarn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Thanks a lot for the kind feedback!

@rd127p77
Opting out from audio seemed the right thing to do since we used an online ambient sound mixer for the background sound.

@mortus
We're glad that you enjoyed the game! You are correct, the game is more of a "relaxing Zen thing", there is no way to fail and there is no real goal to achieve. Just farming and having fun I guess :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Pretty graphics!

kipelovets says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:49pm

I like how monotony of this game represents the monotony of a real farmer's life. All the time it's the same journey from the 'seeds machine' to working on your field, and to the 'coin machine'. Your field of view is limited to only few squares of green grass, but the sky above you is blue and limitless, both of which allows you to enjoy the beauty of the graphics during your labor.

Maurogik says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:54pm

The game is nice, a bit too calm/slow for my taste but it looks really good ;).

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:55pm

I get "no game". Any idea?

vidarn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:59pm

@sorlok
I'm sorry to hear that!
What operating system are you on?
Are you sure you dragged go_farm.love to the love executable?

inkeystring says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:35pm

really nice little game...couldn't help thinking of this :D https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0X2GD5C_wHY
..for some reason

inkeystring says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:36pm

and LOVE that you can define keys - thank you!

nuno says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:17am

Very cool! Hi-five from another Löver :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:36am

Wonderful, i love how relaxing the game is, you should opted audio for your marking criteria would have still given it 4-5 stars! also i love the isometric pixel art! Overall sweet entry

Boracho says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:48am

I spent spent 45 minutes playing this, haha. The gameplay is amazing considering how little time there was to work on it. the graphics are quaint(in a good way) and really fit the overall mood of the game. The play on the theme is clever as well. The world is interesting to explore, even given how small it is. And I absolutely LOVE the ambient wind chimes in the background. 10/10 would farm again.

OttersDen says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:58am

There was a lot of detail to this game that really made it enjoyable. The wind chimes, the bobbing up and down of the world, the key customization... all that was great attention to detail.

Well done!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:58am

very addictive game! Nice graphics, controls are a bit delayed. Can't understand purpose of sand =)

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:15am

I think this is a game that would get very diverse opinions.
I love the graphics, the gameplay and the mood is unique, but after 10 minutes it gets boring.
Still a very good job if you consider the time.
Nice!

sanchitgulati says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:28am

on mac osx, it gives "no game" :(

inkeystring says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:05pm

I too played this longer than any other entry..a lot longer, although I guess the gameplay forces you to take your time..it still had me hooked...especially once I was raking it in with a whole field of roses! I really thought it was great. Do you have plans to finish and release..perhaps with a game save?

christopf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Well, the big plus of the game for me is its audio and mood. You create a really farmish atmosphere even while its damn cold outside i feel on a sunny farming day :)
The graphics doing their job and the mechanic is working fine.
The take on the theme feels a bit lazy also it felt like there is no goal except to let things grow all over the world. Solid game.

headchant says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:23pm

I played this a long time. So calm. Love almost everything. Two minor problems: The collision is sometimes unclear and the animation looks a bit slow compared to the movement speed. Everything else is great!

Domicuc says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:28pm

beeeh i dont want to be on farm! XD.. good game :) lovely graphics.. Also check my project if you have some time,mate! :)

sorlok says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:25am

@vidarn, Thanks, I totally failed to read the instructions. Works now.

Comments: Really cool! I loved all the content that was folded into this game: once you figure out that you can walk off the corner of *any* grassy screen, the game becomes a lot more fun! I think a world map (Tab) would have been helpful. This is one of the games I would really like to see expanded on. Great job!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Funny game. Cool control system! But a bit fast growing:)

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:36pm

My kids loved to play you game. First they think is boring but after buying the backpack they played for 1 hour.

Very well made.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:44pm

Very cool pixel art

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:56pm

I don't usually download games (yes, I'm that lazy) I prefer the hassle-free web browser playing. But loved the isometric "island" floating in the air and decided to give it a try. That was a good decision :) Nice game, liked the atmosphere and the exploration bit!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:04am

Ah, this is sooo cute! I loved the experience of farming on a sky island. All of the ambience and graphical design are right on point (and THANK you for letting us set our own key bindings). I'm not really into straight simulators, sadly, so I sort of got to a point where I felt like I was supposed to be landscaping to my heart's content and didn't quite manage to engage with that goal, but everything you've developed here was great and I really enjoyed the opportunity to relax.

Thank you for the game!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Nice idea. A good game for relaxing or chilling. I like the sense of progression you can have at your own pace. Graphics are nice and they create a nice atmosphere.

Rothens says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Love the zen feeling :) I didn't have any sound by the way. :( Oh.. and how is this connected to the theme? :O Otherwise I love this. :3

crazyrems says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:40pm

The pane sliding animation makes me sick :S
And the player moves a bit too fast.
Otherwise graphics are beautiful and gameplay is solid.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Nice job! Very relaxing. I actually like how the area is sectioned off into 5x5 blocks, it sort of gives a sense of exploration, as well as fitting it into the theme better. Also bonus points for letting the player define their own controls before the game starts, that was pretty slick.

Chris M says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:17pm

I think I've spent more time on this LD game than any other this time round. The atmosphere created by the music and whimsical graphics make me feel happy to pour endless time into the game. Being able to explore the all these connected islands added a great sense of mystery to the game, you managed to achieve something very close to Harvest Moon here.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]