Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Finish Your Project

by AgentParsec - Compo Entry

A lonely mouse must finish his project while taking care of other needs in order to keep his inspiration up.

Click on the region of the room you want to go to in order to have the mouse perform an action: sleep, eat, work on project, or watch TV. All activities affect your stats in different ways (and can sometimes be affected in unusual ways), and your inspiration will go up if your other stats are kept low. Complete the project to see the ending.

(Please note: You can't set a new action for a few seconds after an action starts. This is by design; it's not being unresponsive.)

The music changes as your stats change. It's sometimes subtle but should be noticeable.

This entry was made in Unity (as always).

*EDIT* Posted a video of the ending, since it takes a very long time to get to it and many people probably won't see it. Took down the Linux link since some people were having problems with it, sorry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#97Audio3.59
#123Mood3.54
#133Graphics3.88
#372Theme3.74
#423Overall3.32
#569Innovation3.11
#1033Fun2.46

Comments

lisac says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Well done, really good subject and the style and atmosphere fit the theme really well.

BaneStar007 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:12am

Tried to get him to full red.. expected some kind of table flip or something.. doe any of the bars do something extreme at the top end?

AgentParsec says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:17am

@BaneStar007 - If the blue or green bars max out, it forces your next action to be sleeping or eating. Otherwise, the main effect is that the higher the bars are, the less your inspiration builds. If they're overall too high, then your inspiration will actually go down, making it impossible to work on the project until you can get everything back in order.

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:10am

Nice idea and graphics ;] but i couldnt complete the game ;[

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:13am

Love the whole "show don't tell" thing you got going on. The switching between activities isn't very responsive, but then again, that's pretty accurate towards project work.

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:13am

For linux:
$ unzip finishyourproject.zip
$ chmod +x finishyourproject.x86
$ ./finishyourproject.x86

Otherwise a reall nice game, good job

tinykidtoo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:14am

I love the animation and the design of the character.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:14am

Fun game. I had to finish the project, nice job!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:14am

Hi!
At first is a bit confusing, like clicking in some parts doesnt seem to work, but after a few tries it works nicely.
It reminds me to the sims mechanics, addictive game!

egos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:16am

so nice i really appreciate
But there are any challenge

shyupuff says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:16am

Loved the art style and music. Really set the mood.

vekjeft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:17am

It's like my/our last 49 hours are repeated in a videogame:D Love the mood, music fits very good.

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18am

Good mood, but it was hard to figure out the relationships between the tasks. Does eating or sleeping make you feel less grumpy? Does watching tv make you more grumpy or less? Does working on the project make you more grumpy or less?

Good use of mood, and the graphics fit well together.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:50am

Awesome little game you have here :D

Quarterflip says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57am

I feel like this game is a representation of a certain something we just spent 2 days participating in...

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:31am

Oddly relaxing in my opinion...

Groydis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:05am

Not an overall fan of these types of games, but still, this one has nice graphics, cool music and all the mechanics work. Good Work!

jfreax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:58am

The graphic is quite cute. Well done. The background music fits the mood.

The gameplay is rather long and not thaaat much fun. But overall good implementation and nice idea and it fits the theme perfectly. I like it.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Hi there. Despite the lovely graphics and music, this is very bleak ;) Good job creating that atmosphere. Found overall too slow to be a game holding interest, not enough to do.

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:59pm

The game got boring relatively quickly, and I didn't finish it due to how long it was. However, the mood was very well done both through the mechanics and through audio (the changing audio was certainly a nice touch). You were able to get a lot across without much text! I didn't feel like the friendly, cartoon graphics fit the game, and this may have been done on purpose, but it didn't work for me.

Overall, it was alright. Fantastic mood, but a game about working on a project just isn't fun for me.

Liam :D says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Love it love it love it!

This is what a good version of the game I made looks like :) So happy I found this!

ben_pxlplz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Very funny and familiar! Great job with this!

tedling says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Good graphics, thought out game mechanics. It was too long for me though. The mechanics are very simple and it takes too long to complete the project imho.

But this kind of game mechanic is really awesome and can be applied to a lot of differenct scenarios. Stick to it!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Because of sad music, it reminds me studying for exam ;-) Good mood!

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Nice theme, the art serve it much. Well done!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:55pm

I like the graphical style, and also the music is relaxing. But everything takes so long, and there isn't much depth to it. It felt more of a chore *click - wait 30 seconds - click again - wait 30 seconds* without having to think about it. A 3x as fast version would have been more interesting.

xhunterko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:50am

*applauds* Well done. Very very real. Came in expecting exactly what I got. A little long though and could've used a bit more ways to get inspiration. Still, solid, solid game!

Tifu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:48am

Very meta.
Cute mouse! I liked the ending a lot. It took me like 50 minutes to get there though, could have been a lot shorter =/

Lacaranian says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:06am

Solid piece of work! A bit long (the music got repetitive), but it helped to reinforce the theme.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:33am

This game was extremely slow, but set up a very melancholy mood. The music and concept work well together to give you the sensation that this is just a very draining experience which is honestly what it's like if you are a lonely creative type person. As a game, however, and especially as a jam game, I think the length of the game detracts from the overall experience. I spent what felt like quite a long time making progress on my project and only filled up a little bit past the "finish" word. I assume that this is a rather personal game for you since it defies that kinds of expectations you would have from playing most other games. As an emotional piece, it works rather well. I really with that the gameplay itself had more depth. It seemed like there wasn't actually any fail condition, which makes the game not tense, but just something that requires more endurance. If there were some mechanic that allowed me to jump start my inspiration, rather than just watching tv all day, which is honestly not a good way to inspire yourself, then I think I would have enjoyed this game more. I was able to watch the video you created to get the ending of the game, which I found rather intense. The visuals clash somewhat with the mood since everything is rather cute looking, even the UI is more colorful than you would expect. For such a depressing game, I figured you would have a lot darker tone with the art. The things you did with the audio were cool, but rather subtle to the point where I probably would not have noticed unless it was pointed out to me. Nonetheless, the music itself was very fitting with the mood. The "events" that impede progress were rather frustrating too, although I only experienced it a couple of times. I really hope you enjoyed creating this game, because I enjoyed playing it. Thanks for making this game and sharing it with me!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:28pm

It's a nice concept but after playing for 10 minutes, I think I was less than 20% done with the project :-(

brainstorm says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 7:25am

Innovation 5/5: Pretty innovative, at least more than the mouse, who took inspiration watching the tv!!

Fun 3/5: Fun, but too slow-paced mechanics.

Theme 3/5: Run in a single screen.

Graphics 5/5: Great graphics!!!

Audio 4/5: Good music, but there aren'tany sfx.

Mood 5/5: Great atmosphere!!!

Overall 4/5: Great, but I'm not a big fan of slow-paced games like this.

pht59x says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Lovely graphics, animation and music. But the gameplay is far too slow. Sorry...

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Must be a sad project! Love the concept, implementation and recognize of emotions in face of the mouse.

Well made!

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:06pm

I really liked this game, and the everyday life simulation kind of thing. The graphics and music just made mood perfect. It was very long and repetitive though, so I'm glad you uploaded the spoiler video. Nice ending. We're all just mice doing the same shit over and over again :)

DevoNoel says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:09am

Its a little tedious, but I guess that's kind of the point. Neat idea.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]