Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

True Story

by OrangeeZ - Jam Entry

Getting old can be fun, or it can be pretty harsh.
As life goes by you get sick, your body becomes weary...

But what if you are a hero, what if you cannot give yourself a minute to rest?

Fight weaknesses and sicknesses regularly, battle wild ocelots, eat bad food, and do everything in your power to protect, well... whoever needs the protection.

<--------->

WASD for movement, Mouse for aiming and fire

Regularly your character will get sick or euphoric, so keep an eye on the status log above his head.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#106Graphics(Jam)4.19
#181Humor(Jam)3.31
#182Overall(Jam)3.64
#206Fun(Jam)3.45
#236Audio(Jam)3.35
#335Innovation(Jam)3.29
#363Mood(Jam)3.24
#552Theme(Jam)3.50

Comments

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:15am

"Error launching unity web player"

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:25am

@xWarZonex, did you try windows build or a direct link?

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:29am

F5 is also useful.

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Nice Style. I like the panic attack part.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Nice mood, also the aging mechanic was interesting. Controls were sometimes irresponsive and the fact that enemies started attacking before they appeared on screen were huge downoffs :/

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Really creative!

AMS says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:19am

This is fantastic! Loved the graphics, the mechanic, it's and awesome game, thanks for making this, guys!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:24am

@AMS, Wow, thanks for the kind words, we're really happy to hear this!

Kaijuu says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:38am

Really nice idea!
And cool graphics

frondeus says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Nice, creative game :)

Maurogik says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:33pm

So I had pink eye and diahrea while shoothing at three tail foxes with a shotgun. And my freacking eye patch block my sight ! What's left to say... AWESOME GAME ! Congrats !

OctoTeam says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Very addictive and fun!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:09pm

We’ve been working hard to make it fun, thanks! C:

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Lovely aesthetics. There is an add hovering in the unity embed on this page that will not go away.

Demy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:42pm

It looks so good... and scary a little. I love it.

vidarn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:46pm

I never thought I'd say this, but I didn't understand the diharrea machanics :P
It seemed everytime i ate something, my character got diharrea, is that correct?
Anyways, I really liked the graphics and the weird ageing effects, good job!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Good graphics and audio, unfortunately couldn't try it too long because of "WASD" mandatory controls, but seems nice to play. ;)

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:03pm

@vidarn, I can totally understand you! I never thought I'd be writing a class callled DiarrheaController or literally coding crap =D

There are three types of healthy food and three types of those causing diarrhea; all of them restore health to the fullest though.

C63Industries says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:15pm

At first glance I thought this was going to be just another dual-joystick shooter type game, but it has some fun ideas and I really like the overall theme. The graphics and atmosphere is also really nice.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:44am

Snake, Snake, Snaaaake!!!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:51pm

jojojo ... it becomes a crazy one in a couple of minutes :D i like it ... high rated for fun

Tuism says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Am I the only one who had to deal with that giant bloody banner? WHY EVEN IS THAT THERE?!

Looking past that, it's a very well put together production. Really good animations.

The random disabilities... I get that they're funny, and they add a layer of frustration... But I'm not sure that's good frustration, because it's not something I can include into my plan, and take away agency. If you're going to penalise the player, make it avoidable, or else it doesn't add to the game - it makes it less fun.

It's pretty decent, really. Just wanted something a bit more in the ideas department!

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:19pm

It was nice. I think you should opt out of the audio category because you are using the song Snake Eater (which is really cool), rules say if you use audio previously created, or created by someone not from your team, you should opt out of that category.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Lovely graphics. I'm intrigued by the title. Why is it called "True Story"? Did you get attacked by ocelots?

Poupi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:53am

Nice graphics ;)

Crosstales says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:53am

Nice graphics and cool game with an innovative concept.

Very well done!

Elendow says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:55am

Very nice game, I love the status events and the aging system. The graphics are nice, but the bullets are hard to see sometimes. Great job!

Dokthar says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:07am

Really good game. I love the concept ^^

sorlok says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:27am

Clever idea, and the mechanics were pretty good. Some of the "powerups" were pretty frustrating to play with, but I guess that was the point. Great job!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:37am

@badlydrawnrod, "True Story" means that we cover not only a small part, but a whole life of a hero. First he's young and strong, but eventually withers and gets weak. And yes, we have one ocelot later in the game :D

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 2:33am

I love how nothing in this game fits together, except for the character starting to look like solid snake and the theme song starting to play (you should probably should have opted out of audio) both of which gave me a chuckle anyhow.

Had som wierd problems with fog/shroud of wall covering the left side of the screen starting from the player, and by around age 60 enemies stopped spawning.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Definitely had a few WTF moments playing this :D Very unique, and a lot of fun, nice work! (And that song at the end <3)

alyphen says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:27am

Quite well-polished and unique game. Graphical style was neat. Some of the hindering effects just weren't...fun though. Also, aging process was a little too fast - I felt the age should be around double for some of the effects to be happening. I got a hear attack and died at 40 after drinking numerous youth potions, which is a little bit nonsensical. Music also didn't really seem to fit well.

Dec 24, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Love the art, like the humor but wtf I got a heart attack, then woke up and died while I had a diaria after an erection?
Dont know how I feel about this game. Nice work :D

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 4:30am

Cute art, fun idea!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]