Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Space Melee

by reverso13 - Jam Entry

Space Melee is a space game with the goal of pushing the other player out of the screen.
You have to push the other player with your own body, but be careful because you are affected by the gravity of all the planets that are around you.

Instructions:

- Download Adobe AIR: http://get.adobe.com/es/air/
- 2 players minimum
- Select number of planets (more planets == more difficult)
- Push each other out of screen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#362Humor(Jam)2.86
#449Audio(Jam)2.85
#484Innovation(Jam)3.06
#528Graphics(Jam)3.22
#606Theme(Jam)3.44
#693Mood(Jam)2.77
#730Fun(Jam)2.74
#787Overall(Jam)2.86

Comments

peejaygee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:08am

With all due respect, I've not had much experience with Adobe AIR, so tying to run an un-trusted application, I chose against it, nice graphics though (see them in the screenshot)

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:13am

Really cool game!

Try mine, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

ParaPup says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:15am

It was alright the graphics flipped out during the start and were then all one color for each object.

Nice attempt though :)

maybeimelias says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:25am

I enjoyed the music and graphics, but the gameplay was lacking a lot. I unfortunately didn't get to play it with another person, but even by myself it was a bit too hard to control my guy. I was always spinning and flying away. Plus I never was able to knock the other player out. He just got knocked out on his own gravitational pull to the center.

reverso13 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:45am

@peejaygee Adobe AIR is a well known framework, made by Adobe. It's more trustable than a .exe

@Ozcr Thanks! I'll try yours now ;)

@ParaPup yeah sometimes color doesn't show as expected. Restart and try again with new planets.

@maybeimelias the controls are hard but it is much enjoyable if you play with another person :P

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:20pm

I like that you can choose the amount of planets. That just stands out to me as a neat touch. Decent entry overall

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:37pm

The graphics look pretty cool! However I would've liked a bit of a tutorial or something D:

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Graphics are pretty nice. With my friend we alaways died alone and never succeed in pushing the other player out of the screen... maybe controls are too hard ?

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Like the art. Good job.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:50pm

The web link seems to take me to a download.

MrSun says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Big fan of the graphics, great job!

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Cool sumo kind of game. I feel that players movement could be more polished, but it was fun to play.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:19am

Nice game and cool concept!

Good job!

Grouflon says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Nice graphics and audio, nice concept too but the controls are impossible to understand :) that puts the challenge in the "how not to die" area more than in the "how to win".

01rafael says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:37pm

Great style!!! I like it so much. But astronauts are die all time

Galan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Simple, but fun! The controls were a bit derpy, but playing with another player made it pretty damn funny.

Demy says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Hard game, you're moving randomly (I know about planets and gravitation but it feels very random). Nice graphics, but sound is annoying. Fun game for quickly winning or losing (mostly by accident).

Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:45pm

The controls are more than difficult. I basically always just drop down to earth. But graphics look great, and the basic idea is nice. With some work on the controls it could be a lot of fun.

ShadowStryker says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Agreeing with what peejaygee said, I have no experience with Adobe AIR. Just as with him, I chose against running the application. I'm not accusing you of anything, and please don't take offense from this. I just have no experience with it.

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 1:56am

Very nice ;)

Rodaja says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Controls are way to hard to master as there is a bit of turning happening on its own, and then up and down propell you forwards or backwards instead of in the direction of the head/feet, as would have felt intuitive.

I played this one on my own and still lost against a non-moving adversary, mainly because of the controls, but then again I wasn't able to throw it out despite it's lack of input.

Graphics are nice, though the background sort of stands out from the rest, but the colors are nice. Good job!

jachepe says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Good job! cool game with a interesting idea!

Valeour says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Web link takes me to a download, which is annoying, and I don't have another player to play with. I haven't rated, so don't worry. Sorry!

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:27am

nice work

mohammad says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:20am

Nice game just difficult to play...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]