Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Press i for inventory

by mr_tag - Jam Entry

What if you were playing the most awesome RPG but got stuck in the inventory screen? In "press i for inventory" you get to do exactly that!

The hero will do all attacks automatically and use stuff from his quickslots if his health drops below 50%.

He will also sell the items in his Backpack after fighting a boss (every dungeon has 4 minions and 1 boss). So equip those cool items fast! (He will start selling from top left to bottom right and he won't sell the item you have on your hand)

Balancing is a "bit" off (note to self: don't do balancing heavy stuff in a game jam :).

Oh and: unity rocks! :)

Credits:
Dominik (programming), Patrick (gui-programming), Daniel (Icons)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#41Theme(Jam)4.27
#42Innovation(Jam)4.04
#289Overall(Jam)3.46
#391Graphics(Jam)3.50
#408Humor(Jam)2.75
#430Mood(Jam)3.14
#455Fun(Jam)3.11
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:41am

This is a great idea and I love the game! It can be a little difficult to compare all the different stats, especially with the hero constantly selling things, but it is still a cool idea!

rzuf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Love it, brilliant idea! It's so frantic. :D Like Progress Quest, but interactive. Will definitely play more of this. Good stuff.

error031 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:10pm

What a great idea, can't find the right words for it, thats how great it is!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Nice idea and, IMO, well executed. Are you thinking about to expand to another frames / skills ?

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Nice idea, I always loved the inventory part of the game.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:17pm

One of the best games so far! Great, funny concept and execution! My only complaint would be that the slots are not to obvious :) But still, the highest rated game so far!

C63Industries says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:20pm

The gameplay is like Progress Quest with an inventory system, but it lacks the humor of Progress Quest. Still a fun idea though.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:28pm

a neat concept, fun to play in a pure min-maxing inventory scramble kind of way!

ainokaisa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Looks fantastic. Great effort but balancing is one thing. My hero rarely took any damage.

Shackhal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:41pm

The graphics and the concept are great. But it soundless and the GUI and item attachment system need some improvements, like to detect where the things are going.

Also, after some time, my character becomes immortal. He didn't recieve any damage at all xD

Anyway, I had fun with it xD

mr_tag says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Thanks for the nice comments! That was a really good ludum dare, we got lots of stuff done but left too litle time for balancing and bugfixing.

And yeah, a late night bug made its way into the compo version... Critical hit chance and block chance will keep accumulating when you change something in your equipment. So sooner or later you hero will become an immortal killing machine :)

I fixed the bug in the bitbucket repository (source) and maybe I'll even do something about the balancing and add more dungeons/items/monsters over there!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:12pm

I always love these kind of RPG simulators! Yours had also a lot better graphics and content than most of them I've seen, I'm impressed! Add music, a smoother story and some kind of story arc presentation and I'd say you got a hit! :)

Jaenis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Really inventive take of the genre! :) Fun to play!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Great presentation and a really cool idea. (I made an Inventory screen game too, haha!)

This really has the feel of playing an RPG, and with those balance tweaks you were talking about, I could see myself playing this for ages! Awesome job.

Tater_hater says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:32pm

I loved this game, very hectic inventory management

Lupins says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Very nice, I had some problems with the drag, but stopped shortly after.
Nice graphics, and it looked very easy once I put the potion on the slots.
Keep up the nice work!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 8:52pm

It's fun, but there were a couple frustrating points with equipping items. Most of the items had the same appearance, so you couldn't always tell if you had equipped something. Also, I had to guess to figure out which slot things went in... it took me a while to figure out where bracelets went, for example, and the hero would sell things out from under me too quickly.

I love the concept, though. A couple sound effects would go a long way.

Chaoseed says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 12:54am

I like this a lot! It's kind of like the fun parts of RPGs without the tedious stuff. ;) It has a few issues, though...First, it's really hard to tell where to equip stuff. Could you maybe add a 'glow' or something on the appropriate slot when you pick up an item? Also, when you drag an item over and equip it, you still see the old item tooltip until you move the mouse. (I don't know how easy that is to fix, but it's a little annoying...) Also, do the items in quick slots do anything? Bread, cheese...the "magic potion", what does it do? It says it gives bonuses to XP and attributes, are those one-time or when do they happen? What else...Music would be good, if you can find the time to include it. ;) And one more thing, the 'Metalshirt' seems to be equipped in the headband slot, which seems odd.

But! The fact that I played enough to find these issues should show that I enjoyed it. ;)

Pix3M says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:06pm

I caught this game and became interested in having my own shot at this, and I think I know a potential solution to any balancing issues you can encounter. I looked at the source code, and I am very certain the issue we have is that the end result of combat cannot be determined and you cannot know until either the hero or the enemy loses the battle. You can have much stricter control of the outcome of the battle if you work backwards, by calculating damage that the hero and the enemy deal to each other before hand. Once you know how much they'll do over time, you can randomly generate a HP value of the enemy to know for certain if you have an easy win, or barely graze death as close as you like.

I'll see where this approach to battle works. Thanks for the inspiration!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]