Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Towering Perspective

by UntitledQ - Jam Entry

Make your way through 50 enemy-riddled floors in this roguelikelike. Move with WASD, aim/attack with the mouse and switch weapons with the mouse wheel. The enemies get progressively fiercer, so be sure to gear up at every opportunity!

The game is pretty rough around the edges (most advertised special item effects are not actually implemented) due to terrible time management, as is tradition in our Ludum Dare group :)

Assembled by a team of 2 programmers in Visual Studio 2013 Community Edition, paint.net, Genetica, 3ds Max and Sculptris using C++, OpenGL, SFML 2.1, Box2D and Assimp.

Update: We released a post-jam version ironing and fleshing out all the bits and kinks we had envisioned!



If you are presented with an error about not finding msvcr120.dll, you may need to install the Visual C++ 2013 redistributable (x86): http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=40784

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#434Fun(Jam)3.14
#439Overall(Jam)3.27
#445Humor(Jam)2.68
#582Innovation(Jam)2.92
#586Mood(Jam)2.93
#626Graphics(Jam)3.03
#634Audio(Jam)2.17
#737Theme(Jam)3.27

Comments

Thermite says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Pretty good game, graphic style reminded me of Runescape. I'm only about 10 levels in so far, will definitely have to have another go later :)

BlueTheLemon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Congratulation for finishing this Game ! \o/
What an awesome little game ! I really enjoyed this one.
I have two concern : The lack of sound and the lack of feedback on the usage of a melee weapon.

That's it, the rest is great ! Amazing impression of progression, cool ennemies, graphics that does the job.

GG guys

Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:22pm

awesome game :)

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:26pm

nice use of polygons...

Ken Scott says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:01am

I'm impressed by the amount of content you were able to pull together. The controls are rough and camera makes the line of sight difficult to gauge. Still, good job.

fantasywiz54 says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:01pm

I liked the game. I only got to floor 12 because as soon as I climbed the ladder I got hit and knocked out of the level. Other than that, it was fun. The roguelike style was done well and the items were nice to use and collect.

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Really solid game, fantastic job!

jtpup0 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Well thought out and fun game!

OneMuppet says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Great job, it was a good "just-one-more-level" and "what-if-I'll-just-run" kind of game! BTW, the "just-run"-strategy was not a success! ;)

snickersnacks says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Has that addicting factor, makes you want to keep climbing. Had a lot of fun with it :) good job

Piscythe says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:28am

There was an impressive quantity of content, which would have enamored me a lot more if I could use any of the items, heal myself in any fashion, or not find myself stuck with a "musket of rubber" with a melee-equivalent range (the cause of my first death.) It's a good start, and I'm currently downloading the post-jam to see something closer to what you wanted this to be.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:39am

I tried the post-compo and it's a huge improvement, but still a little rough. I had a lot of problems with the weapon switching with my scroll wheel, and found myself wishing for q/e weapon switching. I failed on floor 26 when I fell through a pit trap and landed inside a rock. Still, it actually has everything that the in-jam version was supposed to, and I commend your continued commitment to the game and strongly recommend that anyone rating this check out both versions.

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 4:58am

Pretty fun game, though there isn't much variety after the first section. Does this game have an end point? I got nearly up to floor 50 before I started falling down floors rapidly.

Budaniel says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:10am

It was hard to tell where I was shooting, but I thought it was an interesting concept. I would have liked more instruction as to what I was supposed to do.

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 12:35am

Wow, that's a lot of content! I couldn't get past 43 because there was an enemy camping the ladder that immediately hit me into a hole every time I tried to go up.

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 12:39am

Very good but the audio wasn't working for me.

Poupi says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 2:02am

Good Job! ;)

01rafael says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Interesting sandbox! Great job

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:34am

This is a good start, though the lack of increasing difficulty made it too easy. I loved watching the tower get taller beneath me.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]