Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

ZedHead

by dokidoki - Compo Entry

Reunite Zed the snowman with his head! It's short, but I didn't have much of the weekend to work on it.
Some things I would have added if I had had more time: sound, different vehicles, better movement animation.
As with my previous entry, I included onscreen buttons for mobile, but this game is harder to play on mobile.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#347Humor2.82
#794Theme3.41
#845Fun2.78
#880Graphics2.59
#982Innovation2.45
#1041Overall2.65
#1057Mood2.17
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

ehtd says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:44am

Frogger with a snowman, nice mix.

daftcube says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:44am

Funny, quick game! I like it.

tigerbyte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:45am

Nice take on frogger. I also have a feeling you secretly wanted the snowman to win the theme? :)

Difficult, but lots of fun. Classic.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:46am

Pretty good entry. The hat part is pretty hard :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:47am

Frustrating to restart, but otherwise pretty solid.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:00am

Simple, yet effective!

mrwillowb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:12am

very laggy and the game just freezes when I hit a car, not very playable sorry. Boring take on an old concept not very original.

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Ha, needs a bit of "juice" (and audio!) but I love the concept and the frowny snowman is a great character - I think you should keep workin' on it!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Hi there. Looks appealing, nice graphics. Shame no sounds. The controls feel a bit impossible, pixel perfect timing etc... might be my browser (Chrome on W8.1) making it run wrong ?, would expect snowman and head to be able to move faster than the traffic.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:50am

Like was stated earlier, the game is unoriginal, while technically everything works fine and the bonus round is a nice touch, the gameplay isn't exciting and is most exactly the same to hundreds of other games. But given that you didn't have much time it's a good effort.

Meral says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Rolling the head around looks simple but nice. The twist to get the hat afterwards too took me right at the point where I thought "this was too easy". Nicely done.

Sometimes I would have liked a tad more margin on the collision detection. I think it's a little too tight on the bottom. Being able to just press 'r' to restart would have been comfortable.

Caspila says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:59am

It's a nice mashup but perhaps you should've elaborated more the idea. One problem that I had is that I thought that the bounding box of the snowman was his entire body because there's no sense of depth. You could add some shadows to improve that aspect.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:46pm

what an angry snowman haha

Mekuri says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:20pm

nice frogger twist. And damn it gets hard :P
Nice job!

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Hahaha ohh man, that's nuts. I got the body together but the hat was just too much! That's what I get for taking the easy way out and moving the head to the body in phase 1, though!

My main complaint with this game would be the retry button. I am playing the game with my keyboard but you make me move my hand off and over to the mouse to retry, that's a big no-no in a game where you die this often/fast.

Nice little entry though, made me laugh.

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Hahahaha, love the rolling head.
Really tough traffic though, not so much space once you're assembled.

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:07am

ahahahahaha! This is really funny implementation of cross the road mechanics!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]