Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Paper Dance

by TravisChen - Jam Entry

The curtains rise. A single spotlight comes into focus.
The lone dancer stands silent. Waiting.
Strings cry. Flutes flutter. Trumpets roar.
Her movement inspires.

A six minute interactive movement.

Choreography
ARROW - Movement (Adagio)
SPACE - Jump / Attack (Allegro)

A loving collaboration between the soon to be married Travis Chen (code) and Roxanne Young (art).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Audio(Jam)4.25
#16Mood(Jam)4.21
#35Graphics(Jam)4.50
#103Innovation(Jam)3.79
#118Overall(Jam)3.76
#240Theme(Jam)3.85
#506Fun(Jam)3.04

Comments

apiotrw says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:09am

Great visuals and great music. :)

dannyhodge says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:22am

That is the best looking entry I've seen so far!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:23am

Pretty good game, controls are a bit floaty but I definitely like the art style.

dekkuran says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:24am

Fantastic. Loved the way your fellow dancers follow you around the stage and how all the 2d cut outs flow to nicely. The black swan killed me... pretty quikly ;_;

Louisload says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:26am

this is a very beautiful game and experience. The graphics are perfect, and the concept is just magnificent. congratulations on the marriage, I wish both of you much happiness together!

Wayward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:30am

Beautiful :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:32am

Great gra[hics, music and atmosphere, but I didn't figure out the goal. Is it just a game to enjoy movements?

olligobber says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:35am

Looks, feels and sounds amazing. I love this game so much. It is so unique and... wow.

43iscoding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:36am

Impressive work! Graphics look astonishing! Gameplay is too simple, but this one isn't about gameplay imo.
P.S. I still remember sitting for a few hours playing The Trader ^^

Aglavra says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:38am

Graphics and sound are really impressive. The only problem is, that there is no difference between player and other dancers, so it is confusing.

Jed T. says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:39am

Best beautiful looking LD game I've ever played. I don't know if I could consider it a game though because there is no clear goal at hand? or am I missing something.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:43am

Very interesting good looking game. The gameplay is bare, which is bit sad. But the art direction is very nice to look at. I love the paper cardboard style and the vibe is very well pronounced. The game also looks fairly polished.

Tuism says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:50pm

So gorgeous! I really like the way the movement worked - it really looks like a dance! But it could be a little more sensitive to my input, it took a lot of getting used to the way it behaved, and often I still couldn't tell whether I was in control or not.

I also can't tell when the gam ended - did I hit something, or was it timed? Need more feedback on that.

Also the scoring, too.

Is the jumping good for anything besides looking pretty? If it is I couldn't tell.

Mechanically requires a bit more :) But so gorgeous!

nosfer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Nice graphics, floaty controls but made me play for a while and run away from black swan :)

Domicuc says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Man .. wow .. you make me a little bit cry.. this game have some magic..

TravisChen says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Thanks all for the early feedback :D

We're making some gameplay / mechanic tweaks and should have the build updated before the deadline!

moomoomomoo says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:11pm

wow. this game is beautiful!!! best entry by far!

Hellequin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:51pm

So nice!! I like the concept!!!!

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Sweet. As in "Ah, sweet." Very nice look.

lionroot says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Very cool. Started to get bored around 3 mins in, but it felt very moody. I wonder if there was more action farther in. Great music.

Kroq9Gar says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Great game, well done! Sliding a bit too much for my liking, put apart from that it's fantastic. And congratulations btw :)

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Superb graphics! It gets a bit boring after 3 minutes, but maybe thats just me ;)

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:59pm

This is just so astonishingly beautiful. It is glorious. Thank you for making this.

Aevek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Absolutely loved it. When I started I immediately developed some complaints, but by halfway through I had completely forgotten what they were. Great gameplay, the slide-ey controls were perfect for this game, and the style and the visuals... Love it.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:06pm

It would have been interesting to add more dance moves and combination to the controls and to play with more enemies or events that mirror the song as it progress. In the end I just sat and watched the stage grow prettier. Beautiful!

Jadernak says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:06pm

The flow, the art and the music are simply amazing.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:23pm

Awesome idea and sweet looking graphics. I loved the art style and music and how well they fit together. One of the best ideas I've seen. Great work.

K.Chplr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Imaginative, beautiful and fun. An ecstatic demonstration of the most graceful roundhouse kick there is.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:16pm

I loved the music and the artwork. I did a theater theme too, but you definitely pulled it off waaaay better than I did haha. Really nice play on light and shadow. When the music picked up and the villain came out, it made me like, way happier than it should have.

Congratulations to the soon to be newlyweds!

AmyDee says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:46am

The aesthetics are lovely, and it's refreshing to see something like ballet appear in a game. The play itself seemed a little thin (pardon my language) and felt like it dragged on for too long. I enjoyed the ramping up of activity toward the end, and the overall concept was great.

jstzwd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:18am

Great Great Game!!! I love this! The paper style is so so attractive!! By the way, I suggest you use firefox or safari instead of Chrome for our game, thank you for your feedback!

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:55am

The only complaint I have is that the degree to which my dancer bounced off of obstacles felt a bit extreme. Other than that, everything about this was incredibly lovely.

Congratulations. :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:24am

Liked the paper cutout style. The controls were very floaty, fun to see something that looks so different.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:50am

Amazing experience, thank you very much for this, it was a pleasure from the beginning to the end. Thank you :)

2Bit says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:03am

Beautiful and executed extremely well. Should not have entered the Audio vote section though.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:07am

interesting :)
the music is made by you o_O ?

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Once I figured out that jumping kills the black girls, I quickly clustered up and spammed space the whole game. Huh.

shanageek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:04pm

WOW, this is amazing game with beautiful graphics and music!! I loved it :)

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:49pm

loved the style. played once, won the first time, and almost feel like it told a story (the way the follower dancers came out, and there was one black swan, and then she came back with her troops of black swans! ATTAAAACK!) floaty controls, but overall cool idea!

Gins says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Now this is one of the prettiest games I've seen this LD.
Experience games aren't really my cup of tea, but for what it was, I enjoyed it :)
The music fits really well.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Poetry on classical music. I never thought taht was be possible to find this here. I like physics. Neat ++

Kep says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Wow, Mood++!
Very unique. Well done!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:01am

Soothing gameplay, nice job!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:02am

Awesome game! I love it :D

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:59am

wow. looks really nice. great graphics and lighting.

sharp911 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:16am

Interesting Concept. The music is good. The graphics ok. The controls are hard to get used to. Not bad :)

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:13am

Good work, original, i like the black and white theme

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Lovely thing you have here. it's brilliant looking.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:51pm

masterpiece, encore :)

C63Industries says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:59pm

I had a hard time figuring out what the goal of the game is. I could defeat the black dancers and collect the plants on the stage and this seemed to effect my score, but I just couldn't figure out how it was being effected and if I was even doing the right thing. Other than that issue, I think it was a really great concept.

Something that might be neat is the black dancers spawn out of the shadows of the other dancers.

Lynx says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:58am

WOW! Stunning and beautiful! I will say though, that the movements seem a bit fast at first when you're first starting out...maybe start slower and slowly ramp them up as the player would get more confident with the controls

Bogden says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:23am

Amazing use of music to set the mood, tone, and gameplay at various times throughout the game.

Threstle says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Perfect mood. It's a very elegant game! Movement feels weird to me, but that's ok. ;)

OFF says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:41pm

The graphics are simple but amazing.
Actually the idea is great but the game side with point is not perfectly integrated at a certain point we are not sure of who we are, and even why the points are groing.
The fight between the black and white dancers is a great idea, but i think that if the game was stayed in a paper cut style (no rotation) it would have been a better game.
But still one of the best mood that i have seen for now.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Great ! :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:46pm

6106 points! This was really creative entry, good work you two! maybe the lead dancer could be different color so she would be easier to see along the crowd?

sputnik says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Superb visual.

Kuupu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Simply beautiful

<3

Groydis says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Beautiful.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Wow. Just Wow. This is brilliant!

SolomaZ says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Beautiful concept and execution! I didn't feel too graceful however slamming into trees over and over again. XP. Felt more like iceskating. A lot of potential here though!

bobombe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:18pm

The graphics and light effects are amazing !Even if it became a little boring at the end :/

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:32pm

This is so pretty... and congratulations! I really loved the look and feel of the game at the end, when the busyness of it really looked like the choreography of that portion of Swan Lake. Getting to dance with the corps de ballet was fun :>

Thank you for the game!

ljdp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Lovely game. Gorgeous style. Perhaps six minutes is too long?

Raxsus says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Very cool, nice music, and I can honestly say that I have never seen a game about ballet.

Night says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:01pm

One of the most beautiful game I've EVER see. Congratulations!

MaxguN says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:02pm

A great experience, just a bit repetitve for 5 minutes but really enjoyable and beautiful. Congrats !

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Very creative and very nice graphics :D I ended up just mashing jump while doing figure 8s :)

indie4fun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Wow, really beatufiul art, I love the paper style. And the music... :')

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Beautiful presentation!

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:04am

One of my favourites! Beautiful, great interpretation of the theme!
It truly looks like a labour of love - in more ways then one .) /sorry, I'm a sucker for romance in game development/

Otrora Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:47am

Art style got me from the start. You two nailed the mood there, but maybe you could tweak a bit the movement. It will remain difficult but be more enjoyable if it were a bit smooth. Other than that, a solid entry.

Devark says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:24am

Very polished and interesting idea - good job!

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:44am

This is beautiful and a lot of fun. Congrats on your engagement!

Demy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:54am

Awesome mood and great idea! Just wow.

Simon says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:51am

This is absolutely fabulous. I loved it :)

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Loved it!!!! Great work!!!!

farwyler says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:00pm

Wow! Great style!

Gluklichman says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Awesome game with awesome art.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Nice. I liked this one. Controls felt a little cumbersome and I kept getting hung up on the scenery, and I forgot that I could jump, so the black dancers pretty much overwhelmed me until the very end. Really good interactive experience.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Gorgeous graphics and sound - one of the nicest titles I've seen so far!

Great job and happy weeding day :-)

LukuluK says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:16am

A very beautiful expressive game ! I'm just a bit effraid that the gameplay's meaning would be understood as xenophobic.

Managore says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:14am

This is lovely! The paper cut-out style fits the game ridiculously well, and the trees and audience sets the stage (no pun intended) perfectly. The spotlight works very well, both to highlight the player and to cast shadows and add depth to the game. My only issue, and it is a small one, is that towards the end of the game it becomes very hard to see what's going on. Overall, a beautiful experience!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:19am

This is ingenious. Using the spotlight to highlight the lead dancer is really smart, given the dance theme. A great, unique graphical style. Gret work!

ynots says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:48am

nice artwork..

Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:39pm

This is so hauntingly beautiful, I almost regretted that I was expected to do something, instead of just watching and listening.

I can tell this is going to be a great marriage. Congratulations!

I can't believe nobody asked yet, and I hope it's not because everyone knows: what's the music?

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:46am

Jammin, I played the whole thing! Well made!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:26am

Very pretty, elegant and charming. Wasn't sure on the objective though.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:49pm

I am truly impressed.. Wow, amazing job my friend. One of my (if not THE) favorites of this LD. 5 stars.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Wow, amazing artstyle. Liked it a lot!

AlbertoSM says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Really nice presentation, but it has some technical flaws, specially when dealing with a lot of stuff on-screen (dancers, particle systems and flowers), where the frame rate drops significantly. Plus the long lasting playthrough can get boring since nothing else happens during, other than having more dancers show up.

barryrowe says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:47am

Nailed it. This game looks, plays, and feels wonderful. The mood is perfect. The chosen music and the timing of the enemies is dead on. It's a nice take on a high score game. And the visuals are outstanding. Very good work.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:09am

Graphics and Mood 5 stars! You should have let us rate audio! I would've given you 5 stars! Awesome job, loved the music and presentation. Well done!

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:28am

Loved the paper theme, very beautiful. And the music too! :D Reminds me of Tengami. My friend says she would buy it if there was more.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:54pm

The style and mood are fantastic, a great experience.

Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Psssst - You are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rdf4FdafRVw

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Beautiful, lovely idea.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Amazingly beautiful. Fantastic game. Thank you.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:29pm

I'm speechless, too much emotions. This is not a game, this is a faerie dream.

JJEvil says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:51pm

One of the best looking games of LD31. Controls are difficult, but you've created an excellent, beautiful experience.

Scam says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Not much a game here. This is more like a piece of beautiful art with some game elements. Still I liked it a lot.

yosh says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Really an excellent game. It took me some time to understand the fact that more white dancers = more flowers to collect.

This game was such a great experience, as the player, I was literally making the performance while still trying to score as much as possible.

Lastly, the game didn't even lag with all the characters and collectible and particles showing up at once... pretty impressive.
5 stars :)

tonypai says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:52am

Good looking graphics! And the idea and mechanic are both awesome! Great job! :D

KyleDAudio says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:59am

Obviously beautiful! I particularly loved how well the mood of the music fit in every situation during the gameplay. Well done!

Also, just to let you know, I always score entries very strictly and fairly and this is the first-ever LD game I've rated 5 stars for every category available. :) <3

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:24am

Nice style, beautiful art! But somewhat limited gameplay. Movement/control could be more tuned with the rest of the game as most of time the dancer collide in the walls.

That aside, really impressive work.

el-pepi says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 2:40am

Nice graphics and music. But gets repetitive a little bit too fast for me.

Dec 17, 2014 @ 5:26am

The concept is quite unique and your graphics is amazing! The game is so beautiful that it's a like enjoying an art work when playing the game. The control seems not very smooth but it can also be thought as a kind of style. Maybe you can have more hint or indirect control elements in the game telling the player what they should do? Or naive player may be confused on the objectives in the game.

dunin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 6:48am

good mood.
Some more mecanics would be cool, six minutes is long...

JFern says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:44am

Wow, this was beautiful! I loved the graphics and atmosphere. Got stuck a few times on stage and it was hard to tell where I was sometimes, but definitely an interesting experience!

Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:59am

Gorgeous! Concept are awersome.
You need to set more time to cooldown for jump. I jumped like a mad and made bloody massacre at the end :o)

Krunoslav says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:09am

Very beautiful graphics and mood, i liked to play it.

Shimone says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 12:03pm

One of my favorite jam entries so far!

Si1ver says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Fantastic style!

Dec 18, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Very artsy! Fantastic graphics and sound, obviously. It would have been nice if you could have added some more gamey elements to it, but that's just my personal preference. It is what it is, and what it is is a rather nice interactive experience. Nice job!

zillix says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 5:27am

Beautiful. The spotlight and trail were well used to track the player, and seamlessly transferred to another character if mine was hit. I enjoyed the change of pacing with the flowers and enemies as the song went on, though 6 minutes still felt a little long. Fantastic work!

sebasRez says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:24pm

This is a great game to be studied by game designers. At first the floaty controls of the ballerina made me question the direction but as she flowed across the screen it was a clear example of an excellent mix of game mechanics and theme. It was like looking at a game version of black swan which blew me away.

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:08pm

This is very pleasant visually, but unfortunately the gameplay doesn't quite stand up to the mark. It needs... something more, a goal to work towards or something, otherwise it just feels lacking.

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:40am

It's really great ! Some strange mix between black swan and a death core gigs :D Bravo!

Vandash says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Great idea great execution :)

Florent says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:23pm

Very nice visuals !

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:43pm

I really loved it, but I wasn't even paying to the score whatsoever

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 1:43pm

I really loved it, but I wasn't even paying attention to the score whatsoever

Wiering says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:57am

Is that Tchaikovsky?

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:34pm

I didn't play for the gameplay it was just beautiful to look and listen. Good artsy game :)

Erkberg says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 11:37pm

Amazing job on the art and mood of the game. Gameplay is kind of not there and unfortunately it ran at very low fps on my laptop, still enjoyed this quite a bit. Good job overall!

camlang says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:16am

I love music, it's awesome! Super mood, great job!

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 1:55am

very beautiful (and fun)! glad to know it was a romantic collaboration - suits a game like this. well done.

Jungle says ...
Feb 2, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Very beautiful, but it is a bit boring.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]