Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

ICE MAN

by Incredible Ape - Jam Entry

Journey through a magical frozen cave, dodging dangerous hazards.

Controls:

Move: A/D or Left/Right
Space: Select
HYPER MODE: W/S or Up/Down

0: Mute
-/+: Volume

NOTE: The embedded version is the Jam version. There are some bugfixes in the Web (Post Jam) link. Please use the embedded version for scoring. We encourage you to check out the updated version, though!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#59Audio(Jam)3.89
#108Overall(Jam)3.78
#128Fun(Jam)3.64
#129Graphics(Jam)4.11
#187Innovation(Jam)3.61
#221Theme(Jam)3.87
#259Mood(Jam)3.39
#530Humor(Jam)2.54

Comments

Inateno says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:02am

It's really hard !

peterthehe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Difficult game. Excellent overall: love the concept :D

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Too painfully difficult for me. But it was fascinatingly interesting how the arrangement forced the the eyes/brain to try to focus on two separate locations on the screen in a very counter-intuitive way. My neurons didn't want to cooperate, but I imagine they'd adapt given enough time. I'm curious if that could be adapted in any way to a practical improvement in hand/eye coordination or flexible reflexive thinking.

Maybe I just need to first drown myself in caffeine before playing a game like this. The arrow indicators were immensely helpful UI element, but I apparently needed even more help than they provided.

Perhaps starting off with a slower vertical avatar speed, and/or slower moving, more regular, or less dense obstacles, and then gradually making one or more of those variables harder over time, could help generate and maintain a state of flow. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flow_%28psychology%29

Pastry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Excellent game, great idea, frustrating and incredibly rewarding! Awesome job!

Pastry says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Seriously consider porting this for mobile, might need some tweaking but I'd buy it.

minibutmany says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:19pm

The graphics and audio were both very captivating! As Pastry said this could be really great for phones.

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:59am

TWENTY-TWO SECONDS and I feel like an ICE GAWD

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:37am

Let's Play: Super Gravitron

I love this game-- it's a smart take on the theme. You should definitely port this to mobile.

elvaq says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:10am

Cool take on SG. Great music and art too. Really nice twitchy feel!

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:41am

Nice aesthetic and polish. I also loved the arrow indicators you got - it really helped.

akhilnivarthi says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Pretty interesting game, cool aesthetics

pjimmy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:31pm

very original, yet very hard, well done

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Really hard :) Good jobs!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:36pm

brainfuck

Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Very enjoyable! This reminded me a lot of 6180 the Moon, but as a fast paced action game instead of a puzzle game. I love the split screen dynamic!

psychonull says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:52pm

It is hard but you can get better at it. I feel the challenge-reward balance is just great for me. It is very polished as well. Good job!

jachepe says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:56pm

very hard!! great work!

el-pepi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Amazing music and graphics!!!
It was really hard, but I just keeped playing, it feels really good!
I only got to 00:31:93 haha

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Excellent game ! It indeed looks like my entry, though it's a lot more polished ! Nice job :)

galman says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Cool original idea! Hard as needed. prefect game :)

hbocao says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:34pm

At first my brain couldn't handle the movements haha It was so funny. Then I got better. Who Am I kidding? I sucked hard. Very hard, indeed. The art is awesome and the sound creates a sense of constant danger. Nerve wrecking gameplay. Goob job, guys!
Tune down the difficulty a little bit, create a smooth learning curve and launch on mobile.

pkenney says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:44pm

A+! This is just the kind of game I like to play and make in these jams. You've got an interesting novel physics combined with simple difficult gameplay that forces you to take it to the extreme. And to get there, you need to bend your brain a little.

Your polish is also awesome, game looked and felt great.

Hyper mode was a sinister addition, love that you added it, though I couldn't hang.

My scores were 23:90 on normal mode, and 7:52 on hyper.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Very fun game. I liked the screen splitting, really makes this game unique and adds an element of visual dexterity on the player's side (focus up, focus down, repeat) which is cool. My one complaint would be the difficulty curve. I always ended up losing at around 24 seconds and didn't feel like I was getting any better with subsequent tries. This might just be me though. Overall, cool game, I love the innovation!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Nice game! It's pretty hard. I liked music and art.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Very well made. The start is incredibly hard but it gets better after you begin to focus in the right way.

Valeour says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Very funny and fun. Would be really interesting to see how well this could work on Android.
Did enjoy. :)

OddballDave says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:43pm

My brain can't cope with this game. Good stuff though.

Dokthar says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:52pm

Very fun Very hard Very solid entry. Good job

rnlf says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:54pm

This game is crazy hard! But it looks pretty damn hot and seems to be well polished! Good job!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:07pm

I agree that this should be ported over to mobile! The art, music and concept are all top notch. Good Job!

guimonpa says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:44pm

This is incredibly hard, but so very funny and addictive.
Nice graphics and audio.
I got 8:61 on hyper mode and it felt godlike!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Hard, but nice idea ! Nothing to say about good graphics and music. :)

Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:12am

The most addictive and rewarding game I've played so far. I like it because at first it seems impossibly hard, but if you stick with it you do start showing improvement quite quickly and get real sense of pride with your score. That's kind of what happened to flappy bird and that did alright! My highest so far is 28.40 seconds. I really like the look and music too.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:04pm

I featured your game at GameARTMonday: http://buff.ly/1qT3S6k
along with other beautiful Ludum Dare games.

Cheers! :)

pkenney says ...
Dec 31, 2014 @ 10:29pm

What this game didn't make top 100 for fun?? I need to reevaluate my life.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]