Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Baguette Quest

by Saturnyn - Jam Entry

Baguette Quest is a simple and silly action game.
We are a team of two persons:
- Mod made the art
- I did the coding

Keys are explained in game (arrows to move, space to attack, numbers to switch attacks).

Hope you like it :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#17Humor(Jam)4.15
#50Fun(Jam)3.87
#182Overall(Jam)3.64
#221Theme(Jam)3.87
#373Mood(Jam)3.22
#458Graphics(Jam)3.36
#524Innovation(Jam)3.00

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:47pm

well done, nice game :) but it's missing a Pause button

Phask says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Nice idea, loved to play it. And hilarious too... was laughing a lot :D

TKF15H says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57pm

That was more fun and challenging than I was expecting!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Good Game

DevoNoel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:58pm

Dammit Grandma, why?

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:59pm

The art is really cute. I did end up playing to the end. I had a lot of fun!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:00pm

10/10, cutest and funniest game I've seen so far. I will not be surprised if this game will be the best in the `Humor` category.

Tuism says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Oh mannnn, I really liked this, the humour is brilliant and the interaction is actually pretty good, but the controls are one huge problem. For me when playing a game, the difficulty should come in the game, not in how to get to that key quickly enough. So I've got my two hands straddled over the keyboard switching 123 with space AND enter and... Well, it doesn't feel intuitive.

GREAT writing though, I loved it :)

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:41am

Exciting baguette adventures, hope it never stops!
I think I had more fun with this than I should have had :P

I actually laughed out loud multiple times during the course of the game. The graphics are charming and it actually gets pretty challenging towards the end. Great job!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Wooooooow! That was truly epic! You did such a good job with the characters and dialogue, and I loved the premise. At first it seems kind of easy, but the last few levels are cruel and punishing! I'm glad I made it to the end.

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:36am

I wouldn't go ANYWHERE with that woman. Other then that, nice one, and I called Elsa before I was freezing bears left n right!

Pat Kemp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:32pm

Adorable premise, and fun gameplay. Nice job!

AinaSG says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 9:30am

Wow! this was actually more fun than i first though!

The controls where maybe a little too weird. but i had a lot of fun! it gets dificult very fast ! :D

Domicuc says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:00am

Masterpiece! The story is awesome, fun as hell! Like it so much! Nice work!!!

Btw. Check out my game too, thank you!

anael says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:06am

it's fun !

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Very fun! I liked a lot about this game:
- It was adorable and innocent
- It was really fun
- I though the art and story were wonderful
- multishot-ing the fat bears was great
- The fast armor bears were a thing to fear!
- I became unreasonably mad when mamie decided not to buy me a second baguette. I'M SAVING YOUR LIFE MAMIE! JUST GIVE ME ANOTHER BAGUETTE!!!
- When mamie said "damned" I laughed
- The last level was had just the right amount of difficulty. I almost quit, but stayed with it because I knew it was possible if I was good enough.

Me only complaint is that being on an enemy sprite and attacking didn't knock it away. It felt like that should knock it away. Also, I was sad that there was no win screen :(

Great game though, one of my favorites :D

ppupae says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Really nice, similar theme interpretation to us :) good work!

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:20am

Fun game than I expected!

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:19am

Very cute concept and well executed! I like that you designed this without death -- the bears don't die they just get chased off the screen, and the grandmother just get chased back to the start -- that really helped to keep this light and adorable.

gre says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:27pm

after playing almost 100 LD games, This is in my opinion THE BEST game I've played, with an an incredible and funny storyline. 5-star to all.

I love the mood and the different clichés to disney movies and also the wink on the ☃ theme.

schnerble says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Nice work :) Made me smile!

gameattack says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:32am

Very funny. very silly story. Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]