Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Bluman

by Luis Anton - Compo Entry

"There's your rocket! But where's the rest of the crew? Well, answers must wait! This mission was doomed since you arrived here, and leaving this place is your maximum priority right now."

This is the first time I create a platformer from scratch, phew! But I'm pretty happy. Apart from a few minor glitches, the player is able to run, jump, wall slide, wall jump, duck and there are one-way platforms, switches, doors, animated traps, cannons... and a surprise. Quite a lot of things in 24h! Yep, I had to sleep and care for my daughter :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#186Theme3.95
#200Fun3.51
#403Overall3.34
#430Audio2.92
#528Humor2.52
#645Graphics2.95
#760Mood2.69
#907Innovation2.58
#1659Coolness41%

Comments

AlexVsCoding says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:49am

Love the visuals, sound effects are class (remind me of lemmings) and certainly enough stressful puzzles to keep me occupied for a good while.

My only qualm is the browser version seems to have a heavy amount of lag. It may just be my computer (as it's had a looong day) but thought I'd let you know in case it was something you could fix. Checked the downloadble version and it ran perfectly.

Really great work. Get some rest!

Thanks for making this game!

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Nice variety of traps and hazards. Seems like a lot got done in a small time. I got stuck on the second cannon, I couldn't get past it, perhaps the timing is different on my PC but there was not enough gap between the rocks to run through.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Hi there. Loads happening here. Love the sound effects. The gore is good, but happens way too much, some of the jumps over spikes are very tight. Nice and generous with the respawns, which is good! I found the movement scheme confusing, perhaps should stay with movement relative to player character rather than screen - so climing up wall which faces left is right key not up key ?

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:34pm

oh_cripes: Have you tried ducking? : ) Pressing the down arrow when not standing on a platform makes your character duck! That's the only way to avoid those rocks, and that passage was created to force you to discover that :D

mrexessive: yep, lots of death. Some cross between Knytt and VVVVVVV here. It would be too short otherwise! But all traps are avoidable ;D In relation to movement relative to player, could be. I think it's the animation what confuses you: the character should crawl when climbing, not walk, maybe...

Thanks for playing!

jcsirron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:43am

I like this game. It's rather punishing in some areas, though.

Pete_H says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Very addictive and fin, that platforming si pretty sharp but did find that it felt as if the jump was a bit delayed at times. Really enjoyed it overall, that last tunne beat me, very tough!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:57am

well done - so much fun getting to the end

popcorn897 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:38am

Tough, but really fun. It does a great job of teaching the player with very little tutorial. You learn and use your new skills later and that is fun! Nice job on this one.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Very hard at first, but I had lots of fun :)

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:15pm

Pete_H, have you tried downloading it? I also feel the web version a bit laggy, sometimes :(

Domicuc says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:17pm

This game is good.. but im noob XD.. if you have some time also check my project :)

indie4fun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:30pm

The sound effects are funny! In some parts of the level I can't stop dying, but I keep trying.

Ludipe says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:50pm

I liked the mood created by art and sounds. The game is fun and I completed the whole thing. Pretty cool!

It's a pity that controls don't feel too responsive, and the wall run mechanic is a bit confusing. Nice game anyway, keep up the good job!

hollowspecter says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Awesome! Only downside is, that when you die, you still have the same velocity. Resulting in multiple deaths that feel quite unfair.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Great entry! Your game has a really cool retro vibe in gameplay, graphics and platforming, nice job!!

Elendow says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Nice concept!! I like the platformer style, changing "gravity" over the walls.

Controls are a bit difficult at first, maybe because you don't go forward on the wall, you go up.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:52pm

I like the art, funny sounds and good controls, it would otherwise be great game, but there is some insanely brutal pixel perfection requiring spots that get super frustrating fast. It started promising enough, but then kicked up difficulty like crazy right after the beginning. Especially the far right area needs a checkpoint before those rising fireballs.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:15am

Game offers traps and hazards very challenging to deal with. At some point I couldn't cross a hazard, only after some time I found that I could duck. :(
I have a lot of fun with the game !

AlbertoSM says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:31am

Nice idea! Some of the segments are hard to react to (I didn't know I could crouch!)

Otrora Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:36am

Way too hard for me. But I'm sure a lot of people will find it just fine. Cool art and very nice game design. There're some parts where checkpoint don't come soon enoght.

thopis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Very good!although i stuck somewhere,i'll play it again in the future for sure!

rabbit says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:19pm

The real difficulty of the game comes from the really heavy controls. It takes forever to come to a stop, it takes forever to reach your max speed.

Jumping felt very awkward.

Wall climbing controls are still confusing to me.

Players hitbox doesnt match his sprite.

Pierce_Z says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:33pm

I could not get past the lava jump =(
Fun game, very hard.

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:27pm

I should fix that lava jump, it's way too difficult X(

AdayMC says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:40am

Instarespawn and Hardcore mode set as default. Just like the old great glories. Insanely fun to die over and over again. :)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Woooah!! Funny platformer!
I liked the sounds a lot, did u do them by your own?
BTW Well done!

Shackhal says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Damn, I can't pass the where you must jump between 2 lava holes. It's too far away xD

The sound effects are great and the gameplay is good. Only the controls a re not so responsive as they should be in this kind of game.

Overall, I like it :)

tormentes says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:32am

Love the game, great job!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Cosy sounds! Really interesting wall walking/jumping, feels kinda weird in a good way. Simple and challenging. Good work!

recursor says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Very fun single-screen game. I like the wall-walk mechanic. It gets pretty difficult near the end but overall very nice.

DiggityDare says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 4:51pm

This is a problem I've seen with a lot of ludum dare games this time around. There's no immediate or clear indication of where or what the player actually is. I had to fiddle around for a minute trying to find out where I was. Perhaps a solution could be starting zoomed in on the player character, and then zooming out to show the rest of the level.

DiggityDare says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Another problem I have is that your interpretation of the theme ultimately equates to there only being one level, thus eliminating any replayability.

Vaclav says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 8:38pm

Best platformer so far. I wish I could complete it.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 8:35pm

Nice platformer, I think the leveldesign and difficulty curve was totally ok until I reach that part at the bottom right of the screen when you have to climb with two spikes + a fireball. I could never get throught it. The sfx were fun :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]