Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Two Hearts

by dkilford - Compo Entry

Two Hearts

A top down action game about trying to reunite two hearts.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#123Mood3.54
#163Audio3.42
#169Overall3.65
#174Graphics3.77
#318Fun3.35
#592Innovation3.08
#1070Theme2.96
#1742Coolness39%

Comments

YM says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:52am

Windows link is a 404 :(

dkilford says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:11am

Was reuploading a new version, there was a bug where people running on 120 hertz monitors were moving at a different speed.

DrHahn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:23am

Nice.

Harest says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Well done. Dat final level, i tried first to kill the squares outside of the "box". Then i realized it'd probably be easier to just try entering in it :p.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:54pm

interesting. It was easy in the beginning when you have to control the two hearts independent of each other but I saw it coming when you have to move both at the same time and it like brain complete brain fuck for me. Nice game!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:54am

Really love the art! The game is pretty hard though...

Akurn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:01pm

The acceleration / deceleration delay is a bit annoying on a keyboard. But the game looks gorgeous! Need to try it with a controller.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:55pm

My right stick was scattered across my controller so I was stuck with the keyboard. Wonderful concept! I actually thought that the last levels where for two players so I felt a bit dumb when sitting there practicing my multitasking skills. For the last level I got into a zen mode where I sat and repeated the same movement over and over again for half an hour. It was actually an amazing experience. I would have loved to see a bit more training before those ridiculously hard levels and perhaps some aid/restriction to move the two synchronously. Amazing work, I really liked it!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:55am

Wow I really like the visual design in this. The use of colors is awesome and the transitions between levels is super polished. Just the right length for a LD, too!

My one complaint: dual control is difficult and there's one level where the players start on the other side of where their controls are on the keyboard which was confusing for me

DarkEngineer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Nice the art!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Cute concept, quite challenging, nice job!

Kovalsky says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:24pm

awesome! good idea!

kothead says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Awesome idea and beautiful implementation! Good job!

ciaodavinci says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:02am

A nicely executed concept. I like how the levels reforms itself after every stage.

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:05am

Fun and challenging. It becomes immensely difficult once the player has to move both pieces at the same time, which is something few people can do well. I would at least recommend not placing the player in death zones (or at least wait to move death bringing pieces) right at the beginning of levels.

All in all, fun game!

OttersDen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:06am

That last level where you have to control both of them was difficult! But I made it through after a few tries. The ambient music was very fitting. Only one critique, you should not let the player be able to move until the level transition is done. I was able to sneak through a couple of walls before they were in place. Still, good game! Well done.

Tonasz says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 1:21pm

I first I thought player shouldn't be able to move during transition (wow, they really gave that feel of polish) but then I found out it's difficult to pass few levels without it. Game is really difficult when you have to control two at the same moment - I had to give up later because of my lack of coordination :C Nice, chilly background music. I enjoyed whole game a lot, lovely entry :)

Kamihmatt says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Great reflexion game. We have play with two and win ! Very good look in game

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:37am

Very impressive. One of my favorites for this LD sessions. I like aesthetic which is pure. I like too this simple mecanics - but I hate theses ugly black cubes. Well done. Thank you ++

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]