Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

The Mosquito Effect (mosquito simulator)

by 01rafael - Jam Entry

"The Mosquito Effect" is an awesome mosquito simulator. There are no overweighting screens here. Just only one screen is included to entire the day of mosquito life. Oh, I forgot! The entire day of mosquito MUTANT life! You will enjoy this insane game.

By the way, we have created this game by taking a part in a Moscow Microsoft GamesJam on last weekend. The entire game was written for 32 hours by 6 people.The original version of the game was ported to the Oculus VR. If you have Oculus VR then you will download oculus version soon. In any case, you can download the PC version and enjoy this creation.I hope that you will enjoy the mosquito simulator. It's so good , how good may be the game creating for 32 hours.
And one more thing ! The man, who stands by the black stroke - it's a bug ! Do not kill him and fly farther )) And try to aviod collision with any surrounding objects because of camera begin to behave strange.

Management:
up, down , left, right - mouse
acceleration - space

Oculus :
up, down, left, right - turn of the head
acceleration - space

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#235Humor(Jam)3.17
#479Audio(Jam)2.77
#606Graphics(Jam)3.06
#622Innovation(Jam)2.85
#686Fun(Jam)2.81
#733Mood(Jam)2.71
#844Overall(Jam)2.78
#1013Theme(Jam)1.95

Comments

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:13am

I like the screaming, also, I didn't realize I was a large mosquito until I was near the two men. I have an Oculus, will be interested in trying the VR version!

01rafael says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:08am

Hi Kate! We broke oculus version tomorow and got to fix it as soon as possible. I will let you know when we finish that. Please stay tuned!

Thanks,
Mike

besieger1 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Has to be the strangest game this LD, yet absolutely brilliant. I can see this being a steam game.

Wezley says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:51pm

5 star everything from me! Great job! :D

guldlock says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Cool idea but how is it connected to the theme?

01rafael says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:00pm

guldlock, I'll try to explain. Well.. mosquito watch only one screen every time during the lifetime. And this screen is his life.
Well... its a joke :)
Seriously, I dont know how to connect this game to theme, but anyway I like this game and I really want to show it to somebody else.

fil00dl says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:03pm

completely crazy and awesome, nice soundtrack in chillout zone

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Awesome game :) love it

01rafael says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:17pm

thank you guys!

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Really good idea but you should have enemies like frogs that eat you or pest control humans

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Had more fun with it then with Goat Simulator. Then again, always thought that watching paint dry is more fun then playing Goat Simulator.

lonely2012

01rafael says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:31pm

caryoscelus, we should try to make this game more like a game :)
this is onle concept. But we'll add some features soon, that's boost up gameplay. for example a gunmans that will shoot the mosquito and many many more.
Please stay tuned.

masterhyjinx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:23am

Reminds me of Mr. Mosquito. Interesting idea, hope you had fun making it. I didn't make it to killing all the Unity Engineers.

I hit a fence and broke my mosquito.

01rafael says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:51am

Oh.. poor mosquito. I promised to him thats he'll be ok.
And we try to fix all this bugs very soon :)

iShadow says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:37am

Oversized mosquito hunting humans - OMG!
And I though after goat, rock, grass, [you name it] simulator nothing would suprize me.
Nice Game!

aare says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:40am

Nice game, I would love to try it out with oculus :) I wish though the scale would be cranked up a little mit more. So that the landing on a person would feel like a real challenge.

01rafael says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:44am

aare, I'll get in touch with you, after we submit fixed oculus version.

SoulGame says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:54am

What the hell :D Crazy game. I would have continue playing but at some point the camera was completely out of control: to see my mosquito centered on screen, I had to scroll all the way to the right, very weird. Still, impressive work for 32h. P.S: I've read your description but I'm not convinced by the theme interpretation though...

01rafael says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:06pm

SoulGame, when this bug with camera is happened is better to restart game. This is my quick fix :)
About a theme. We not much try to convince somebody, because all proofs is rediculous. But, anyway, game build only on one screen. No menu screens, end game screens, etc. I hope this is our alibi ;)

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:39am

Run, puny humans! This is the sound of your death! The controls seemed a bit janky, but that's part of this game's charm.

stevekratos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:13am

Good work...

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:26am

We have a lot of mosquitoes where I live. I think this helps me understand them better. :)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:53am

Idea have a potential, but controls and level design makes me cry. I think you can make killer of Goat Simulator if you find proper designer in your team.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Nice idea

Divitos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:54pm

This game's amazing!

spitfire87 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:55pm

BTW, mosquito is the most dangerous specie in earth, after humans ofc. Not that this game has any social background anyways, its just about the lols. One of the funniest games, great job!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Reasonable game, I found it a bit confusing what I was doing, and why I was doing it, a mosquito killing humans by touching them... The graphics were good, the screams were... unpleasant. Maybe I missed something, so it could use a bit more guidance or tutorial.
Finally, i was unable to exit any other way than using Alt-F4, so please add that when pressing Escape the game quits or at least goes to a menu or something!

01rafael says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Gemberkoekje, we'll definitely fix this bug with Alt+F4 and have to advance sounds to create them a bit groovie.
Thank you for advices and stay tuned. Improvements coming soon!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Wow, what a nice turbo Mosquito thing))
I wish I could play this with Oculus Rift)))

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:15pm

The screaming took me by surprise, despite the comments here. Those firemen sure do make a lot of noise when they see a mosquito.

Cheetoturkey says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:12am

Well dang if i saw a mosquito that big i would scream to, Haha nice game man it was fun

Dec 14, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Well that was unexpected. Not sure what was the goal of the game. Did not fit the theme at all. But well done?!

Poupi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Nice work :)

Croze says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:25am

Very interesting lol

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:32am

It's crazy to be a giant mosquito!! hahahaha those humans that panic like that... pussies! xD great job

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:57pm

Mosquito simulator. After goat and rock I have waited this many years. Lol - well done ++

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:18am

Good idea but the camera's movement behaved weird.

Kitch says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:17am

Very interesting entry. Different, and fun. Looking for a theme connection... and not coming up with a lot... but good luck with it in the future! It's a really cool idea.
Thanks!

benmcnelly says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:24am

Finally! Someone else with an Oculus version! I tried it very nice! I should do the Jam next time, 2 days was just not enough for me to finish all my game concepts. You did great though!

Meta-link says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:25pm

The concept is really cool, I liked it !
But it's really hard to get accomodate to the gameplay and control our mosquito, maybe it's easier with the occulus version ...

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Very fresh experience, but a strange one also =)))

ynots says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 4:25pm

nice//

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:25pm

I have no idea what I just played. I turned all those workmen into a paste made of cubes? I'm so lost. A chair was playing music. 10/10

davidB says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:10am

I can't run it on my windows 8 32bit, and no linux version.

01rafael says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 11:26am

We'll try this out on 32-bit. And, also, upload the Linux version soon. Plese, stay tuned.
Thanks,
Mike

igoramendola says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 7:33pm

hahaha it's a really funny entry! xD
Like others said: although it hasn't a direct relation with the theme, it's very original and is a nice work :D

mathmadlen says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:40am

Great, now I'll also have recurring nightmares about giant mosquitoes...? ,)

Insane. Absolutely insane. In a good way.

cardboard says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:17am

Even though the camera was rather wonky, I enjoyed exploring the map and pestering the humans. The music is nice as well.

Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Nice game dude!!! I like the mosquito!!! hehehe

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:42am

omg - crazy but fun game - camera is out of control tho

peterthehe says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Brilliant! I'm not too sure about the theme though :P The scaling seems a bit off too but great game overall :)

Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:32am

Really neat idea for a game :) Definetly something I would like to see developed further :D

Dunric says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Cool!!

BabaJaga says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Can confirm, the screams are accurate

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:49am

Nice and goofy. The audio balance is off, though.

Anachron says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:07am

Wacky and hilarious! The humans are evil and must be punished. I can see this becoming the next Goat Simulator-like blockbuster.

local minimum says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Flying a mosquito was awesome. It was a bit hard to get a grip on the position of the mosquito and direction of flight in relation to the humans. Part of it may have been that I never use inverted Y axis on mouse... so I would recommend adding the ability to toggle that. I also suppose the way the camera moved around is optimized for VR?
I liked the panic screams and the work on the graphics is really great.

banana4life says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Kinda boring

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:58pm

banana4life, this discussion open for any offers and solutions, not only strong opinions ;)
Sincerely,
Mike

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 8:25pm

I'm away on vacation without my rift, but if you leave it up, I'll play it when I get back!

Piscythe says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:03pm

Cool. I liked the audio environment and the concept, but the PC controls felt limited and the camera easily lost sight of the mosquito. It was quite fun chasing around screaming guys though.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:34am

nice graphics

orion_black says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 2:01am

Weird in a good way, reminded me of Mr. Mosquito. The camera is kind of off but would love to try it in an oculus.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]