Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Weaponrise

by GibTreaty - Compo Entry

An Arms Race (or Gun Game for Call of Duty fans) and The Haunted: Hells Reach inspired game. The goal is to get to the final wave and have fun upgrading your weapons as you go. One kill = upgrade. But be careful, whichever weapon you use to kill an enemy is the one that will be upgraded.

Controls:
WASD/Arrow Keys - Movement
Left Mouse Button - Shoot
Right Mouse Button - Throw Grenade


Ideally I would've like to have added way more weapons but, yuh know, time constraints and all.

Note: Thanks to the Unity 5.0.0b17 update the sound now works in the webplayer!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#540Audio2.74
#663Graphics2.93
#706Fun2.93
#874Mood2.56
#899Overall2.86
#972Theme3.21
#1061Innovation2.29

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:02am

Cool game, very difficult at first.

Cheetoturkey says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:18am

Great game!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Hi there, shame you only selected Humor as a rating category - did you intend that ? You can still change it I think.

I found the control system confusing, very difficult to kill the zombies, have to expose so much just get killed, becomes a click battle.

GibTreaty says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Humor was actually the only category I had deselected, the site must've bugged. It should be fixed now.

GibTreaty says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Also they are meant to be robots.

ynots says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:43pm

controls are confusing..

Dec 11, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Very fun arena shooter! The first level seems way harder than the rest of the game, but once you get into it, there's a lot of strategic, fast paced shooting action. My only minor gripe was with the bullet on bullet collisions, rendering tightly bunched enemy groups nearly invulnerable without the machinegun type gun equipped. Great job!

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Nice, I think you could balace it a bit further, but ok for a jam :)
You are without votes (I think my stars wont count for you) since you did not check the fields that you want to be judged at.

dieblume86 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Nice start.

marvalgames says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Very cool and challenging.
Nice simple graphics and easy to just play. THe controls seem a little too "slidey" but not a game breaker.
Touch it up some more.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:40pm

I enjoyed it! Although your AI isn't as clever as me! I could easily snipe them down from distance. :P

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Decent game an pretty good controls. The fact that bullets cancelled each other out actually made it pretty hard to even damage the enemies. It made grenade spam the only viable solution at first. Which actually isn't a huge deal since it was fun using the bombs!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Well suited sound and fine gameplay. I like the upgrade mechanic! Nice Work, well done! :D

Shackhal says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:50pm

I like the music and the timed bomb. It's a very used concept, but it works. Still, it's very hard since the first wave.

Overall, I like it :)

hbocao says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:50pm

The enemies could start with a little less health, took to long to beat the first wave. Overall, nice job!

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Nice grenade countdown effect! The sounds were a bit harsh (thanks for the audio menu!) and the initial start is really difficult if you don't make a point of upgrading your gun first.

The player's introduction to the gameplay could be more obvious; perhaps mentioning upgrades when they happen in a more obvious/flashy way would help. Also, telling the user they can hold down on left mouse goes a long way to making this less difficult for weirdos like me who don't try that first.

I really like this game, and I played it all the way to the end. Watching the weapons and player art change every time I upgraded was fun. Nicely done!

jachepe says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Cool game but the controls are a bit hard! Good work!

sirdorius says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 6:02pm

The physicfs are kind of wonky. And it's pretty slow for a survival shooter. Bullets are way too weak compared to grenades

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Indeed a hard game! A bit confusing that the same feedback was given for when enemies where hit as when the player was hit, it felt like it was bad hitting the enemies. Taking out bullets with bullets was also oddly interesting. Keep up the good work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]