Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Remote Island

by eolhing - Compo Entry

Remote Island is a Turn-Based Strategy Game.

You, as the captain, will have to guide your faithful soldiers on a mysterious island. No one knows what you will discover there.

Please play and rate the game! Let me know if you managed to finish it in the comments :D

Controls :
[Arrow keys] : move cursor
[Space] : Select action
[Escape] : Cancel action
[Enter] : Next turn

Dev info :
To make the code, I used Haxe with the libs heaps and actuate.
To make the graphics, I used Photoshop.
To make the music and sfx, I used FL Studio.

(Oh and there might be some easter egg somewhere ...)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#446Mood3.05
#472Audio2.86
#799Graphics2.71
#850Overall2.91
#875Innovation2.65
#922Fun2.65
#1049Theme3.00
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:21am

Perhaps look at some mouse support - manually switching between characters is tedious, even automatically switching, and opening the menu would make life easier.

Also, should my battles take more than an entire day? Seems a bit drawn out.

eolhing says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:18am

Hi ! Thanks for reviewing. The lack of mouse support was intentional at first because I wanted the game to have the feeling of handleld consoles. Maybe that was not such a good idea, it must be frustrating to have a mouse and not to be able to use it. :p
As for the battle, since each character can attack only once per day, it usually take more than a day, yeah. :)

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Very cool game! Impressive job making a complex system like this one, congratulations!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Hi there. Like the ambition here, and the SWG-like control facet popups seem impressive and big scope, but kept having to scroll browser page (Chrome + W8.1). Also the control facet system was pretty tricky to use fluidly, felt very turn based. Like the sound moods.

ncannasse says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:18pm

Good mood :)

Mouse support would have been nice, also there's a bug when you are into attack mode and press Enter. Several times I fired myself by pressing space on the soldier to cancel.

Belvar says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Relly well done. The use of the keyboard makes it feel like Advance Wars or Fire Emblem. A bit to punitive for a first level maybe... Controls could be enhanced, I shot my own units once or twice by mistake.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Mouse support would have been nice but still a great game. I liked the nice interface.

ViliX64 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Impressive game :)

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:00pm

The gameplay is a bit tedious, but the concept is pretty cool. I would have liked a visual feedback of an enemy attack.

Zwergesel says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:07pm

A bit frustrating to control. After I died I didn't have the motivation to restart.

mahu says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:07pm

I really like this style of gameplay, loved the actions menu, but monsters and players need a hud for hp that is allways on screen.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:08pm

This is a pretty nice foundation that I could see expanded on, but as it is it was a bit tedious. Liked the audio.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]