Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

BREAK| |THROUGH

by Jeremy Oduber - Compo Entry

Use the mouse to play this video game. Keep playing to have your expectations subverted just a little. Figure out the rest of the rules yourself.

Made with HaxeFlixel, FlashDevelop, and bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#673Graphics2.90
#685Audio2.48
#723Fun2.91
#798Mood2.65
#816Humor2.07
#838Overall2.92
#965Innovation2.48
#989Theme3.17

Comments

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:01am

Cool concept - I found the graphics a little hard to focus on, which would have been the only detraction from what appears to be an interesting mix of breakout and space-invaders.

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:23am

what a good game!!!

Wayward says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:37am

Nice retro sound and graphic.
Nice interpretation of the theme

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:13am

Great take on this classic game! The controls feels really good and solid making it funnier to play than it maybe should be :p The visuals really add to the experience.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:38am

Pretty solid. Old good Arcanoid.

kraln says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:58am

Lots of fun! A little sad that once you lose your balls you're all gone.

rzfmzn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:00am

Took me a moment to figure out some of the rules, but overall I liked it :)
always nice to play a good breakout :)

rzuf says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:45am

Love them screenshakes :3
Solid and juicy.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:49am

Breakout is always fun and this version actually did subvert my expectations. Definitely worth playing for a while, new stuff keeps popping up :)

taviandir says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:53am

Wow, really psychadelic graphics haha. i kinda like how if you lose all your balls , you have nothing else to do than to wait for the falling blocks to kill me - gave me a kinda "oh shit i am really going to die!"-feel in my stomach :)

dekkuran says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:58am

Nice! I love that as the blocks come down you can navigate the game as if it were a maze. That's a really novel take on breakout. The graphics are great as well. Are the green textural effects on the blocks procedurally generated?

kiiro94 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Very nice! Loved the concept and graphics

lisac says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Interesting twist :)

hexagore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Would be nice if you got the game over screen as soon as you lose your last ball, but then it wouldn't be subverting my expectations I guess :P I like the style a lot.

woodecker says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Nice and difficult breakout version. Cool graphics!

chadheim says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Fun idea! Only issue was losing control of the paddle when my mouse cursor left the game area due to my frantic mousing to keep those balls going.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:36pm

nice game, but it's missing a Pause button.

CryoGenesis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Really fun game!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Nice retro game mood, inspiring both the graphics and audio! Would've preferred that I lost if I lost my balls. Good luck! :)

Legiion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:02pm

I think you should add a mouse lock

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Nice innovation of a classical game!

Von Hunt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Simple and satisfying execution of a classic game. Good job

NoahbroCZ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Nice game, maybe player could have more balls. Check my game too: Presidents bodyguard simulator.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:38pm

It played well enough, but I had problems whenever the mouse left the window which happened rather too often. I know that's Flash not you.

sharpie656 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Pretty cool game, lost all my balls in seconds and just waited for the block to kill me.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Cool graphics.
Bad sound.
Wish it had music. :(

When I lost all of the balls I had no way to restart?

Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:58pm

Interesting take on brick breaker. Aesthetics were pretty cool too. Great job!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Nice game, awesome style, a lot of cool little details.

syawqy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:12am

I lose too early...

Integershift says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:29am

Graphics were interesting the game was a pretty standard brick breaker but it was pretty good the only thing really lacking was innovation also. You may should have opted out of Humor

Omer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:25am

Nice, addictive and well done, though all too similar to brick breaker as it is.

Jim Haslett says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:29am

My only compliant is that it doesn't end right when the balls are all gone. You have to wait for the blocks to get you.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:57am

Interesting take on a classic game.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:08am

Nicely done.I Included it in part 2 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/QrqYJieiXWs

alvarop says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:48am

As silly as it may sound, this is one of my favorite games so far. Simple, clean and really nice aesthetics. A twist on a game that we all know and love. Really, this was executed in a very clean and clear fashion. Good job!

Ozcr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:18am

Really cool game!

Give mine a try, http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=44154

Groydis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:20am

I like the art style you used, the game mechanic is solid. Except when I lost all my balls and the game didn't instantly reset. Good Job.

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:47am

Decent game. I like the spin on the classic block breaker concept.

Crosstales says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Nice endless breakout-game - had a lot of fun playing this piece... Good old time ;-)
Good job!

Jeremy Oduber says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Thanks for playing everyone! I see that at least some of you experienced the game the way I had intended, so I can now officially declare this LD a success for me.

In reaction to some of your questions and concerns:

-Regarding having to wait when you lose all your balls: intentional! Await the inevitability of death, it is your punishment for betraying the trust of the balls! (hint: if you don't want to wait you can press R at any time to restart)

-Regarding the lack of a pause feature: oops. click out of the screen and HaxeFlixel will pause it automatically though.

-Regarding the mouse leaving the screen: That'll teach me to use mouse controls in Flash. Keyboard controls just weren't responsive enough though. Oh well.

-Regarding the graphics: no procedural anything, just 16 sprites with random splotches of pixels. Cool that it seemed convincingly random, though!

Again, thanks for playing, hope to see you all next LD!

marvalgames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Talk about retro.
I think this game came out before breakout :)
Commodore Vic-20 or something.
Nevertheless real nice twist on the games and the look works.

daviosmash says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:29pm

It was fun - a mix of overwhelming but manageable. The graphics were hard to look at, but I do like the attempt at style.

GreenyUk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Not very original, but a solid implementation of a good game. I appreciate the unique graphics, but wasn't a massive fan of them. Solid job overall OP. :)

Nobuyoshi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:42pm

The graphics and sound are great.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Love it! Nice graphics and very challenging. The only thing I missed is some music, but I really liked it.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:48pm

awesome game! :D I love it

FergusonTV says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:05am

Classic but efficient. Good job.

trykondev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Cool visual style and the sound effects were very fitting and satisfying!

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:03am

Quite fun, and really groovy graphic style! Go HaxeFlixel!

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:25pm

Cool breakout. Simple gameplay works always. I like the falling blocks, they give old game a nice twist. Good job

ynots says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:41pm

CLASSIC ONE...

LMT says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:24pm

A nice little game. I do like the mix on the original breakout game, it seems quite new.

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:58pm

interesting take on the the breakout/arkanoid theme.

Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:20pm

a bit slow. cool on the random width thingy of the paddle!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]