Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Walhall

by TheDreik - Compo Entry

As the theme was about the game in one screen, I had to make only the boss fight, so the game is very short. ... or not?

Controls:
WASD - movement
J - confirm, attack
K - cancel, additional attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#130Fun3.66
#198Theme3.93
#305Overall3.45
#468Innovation3.24
#485Humor2.58
#706Audio2.43
#738Graphics2.79
#798Mood2.65
#1414Coolness48%

Comments

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:31am

Pretty fun game!!!

donan says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:45am

Played for more than 20 minutes. Awesome and perfect game. You deserve to be on the top :D

indigofiz says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:28am

This is so good. The achievements makes it nearly impossible to play, I managed to stop with 5 left because defeating the boss like 3 times doesn't unlock anything anymore.

One of my favorite entry so far!

Lyxilion says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:02pm

Your game is very fun ! It's a good game when you're bored :)

nicso says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:09pm

cool game, but couldn't beat the circler :(

Zekiel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:26pm

I didn't understand how to beat the circler. It was fun though !

TheDreik says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Thanks for feedback, guys. I will give some hints for make it easier with circle for you. (Sorry for not so good english)
1. Try to be destroyed by Circler minion.
2. Try to miss with bullets more frequently than hit boss.
This actions can unlock for you some useful unlockables. ;)

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:47pm

That was actually fun! I love the "unlockables" - great aspect!

Raxsus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Not the best graphics, but very fun. I wasn't able to beat the fourth boss.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Quick and simple boss battle with a lot of variation. Very well executed.

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Ha, what a pleasant surprise! At first I wondered why you'd need a statistics screen if there's only one bossfight that repeats, but well...let's just say it's worth playing multiple times.

Small bug (that I'm actually not complaining about): Heading directly into the spikes at the top and bottom doesn't seem to hurt the player, only if you turn to the side.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:11am

Very interesting game, will be better with more content! Keep going and looking forward to future versions.

DarkEngineer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Nice game

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:00pm

This is very, very fun. The achievements add a lot of replayability.

pkenney says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Wow!! Awesome gradual unveiling of the content that really sucked me in. Such a simple game would have gotten old but it was growing at a great pace where I wondered what was going to be next. Difficulty was also spot on - just exactly frustrating enough.

Smart design decisions really made the content shine.

Poupi says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 1:54am

Very nice ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]