Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Artful Dodger

by Ashtom - Compo Entry

Artful Dodger is a frantic arcade game where you must dodge whatever comes at you.

I wanted to create a world that takes shape in front of the player to keep the action on a single screen. This game is inspired by Bit Pilot, Eliss Infinity and Asteroids of course!

Use the arrow keys or WASD to pilot the spacecraft.

The game was made with Game Maker: Studio, Sprite Something and cfxr (OSX version for sfxr).
I also made a 3 chiptunes soundtrack using my precious Game Boy.

MAC version is NOW AVAILABLE!
(Sorry but the web version is way too laggy so I won't release it)

Thanks in advance for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#41Audio3.91
#51Fun3.83
#104Mood3.58
#113Overall3.72
#426Graphics3.30
#585Innovation3.09
#604Theme3.57
#1783Coolness37%

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Nice addictive gameplay

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Got to level 8! Love the music and it's really fun, could maybe do with the stars appearing slightly more frequently as I was on level 1 for quite a while waiting for them.

Ashtom says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Thanks for the feedback! I added the stars in the last hours to prevent players from staying in corners and I didn't had enough time to balance the spawn rate properly. I will keep that in the to do list in case I make a post-compo version.

uvwar says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:01am

Pretty Awesome! Like others mentioned the stars were a little slow, and you can do fairly well by not moving at all, which I'm guessing you realized and added the stars in the first place etc. Keep going with it, it's a fun concept!

sureshnath says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:45pm

Cool game, reached level 6 after a lot of struggle. My next addictive game. Well done

CheeseyBob says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Wooooaah! 10/10, 100/100, Best game! Best game LD31! Really loved the way the player controlled and the way enemies spawned in, in particular. So gooooood! :3

DarkEngineer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Nice game

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Addictiveeeee!!
Nice game, I like the graphic style and well studied mechanics. Well done!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Really cool graphics! I Included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 31 compilation video series, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/YpdCMKphEUw

Poupi says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Nice work!

Downtown says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:28pm

This was really well done, loved it. Music was perfect, controls felt great. the difficulty stepped up in really nice increments but I think the progression was a little slow which made repeated play throughs pretty tedious. fantastic submission overall though.

peeweek says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Really nice, addictive and painfully hard :)
Loved the tune, really exciting.

Thanks for your good work!

Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:01pm

excellent work! I love that you can lure the incoming enemies into asteroids to clear up the field of play a little bit. I don't think I've seen anything quite like that before, and it's a nice added layer of depth ontop of what would have otherwise been a fairly generic avoidance game.

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Cool idea ! The evolution of enemies is very cool !

Neonlare says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Fun and really addictive getting a higher and higher score in this!

Dec 16, 2014 @ 5:19pm

That was really fun! It got intense when the asteroids started appearing.

Warpgames says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:19pm

Simple and addictive. Good job.

vidarn says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Really cool!
I _loved_ the music and the gameplay was interesting and varied enough to keep me playing quite a while. Great job!

OpenGL says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:58am

I can't run the OSX version in my mac 10.10. I tried to downloaded serval time. and error info: “Artful Dodger - LD31” is damaged and can’t be opened. You should move it to the Trash.

Ashtom says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:16pm

@OpengGL: that's because you need to configure Gatekeeper on your Mac to allow applications from any origin. I couldn't afford to pay an OSX developer certificate which is why OSX doesn't recognise my app as trusted.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]