Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Blocked

by Pinpickle - Compo Entry

A game where the gameplay objects rearrange, twist and split to try and stop you from getting to your square.

Problem is, the square runs away every time, and new blocks come out to try and stop you every time. Heck, even your controls change from time to time!

Press M to mute.

First Ludum Dare and first game made in 2 years. It's good to be back.

Updates:
Fix "ice-physics" of platforming

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#40Overall3.94
#40Fun3.88
#51Audio3.84
#71Theme4.22
#75Innovation4.00
#118Mood3.55
#286Graphics3.53
#795Humor2.13

Comments

LuisGuimaraes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39am

Very interesting. The climbing parts are too hard though because of the icey controls :X

Halleflux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:57am

Very well done! I like the spontaneous feel of the game, forcing you to figure out the new rules of each round quickly.
The visuals are also very nice and smooth.
The downside are the controls for some parts of the game. It's very hard to control, making it difficult to jump up on the tiny little blocks. (I am referring to the platformer section.)
Well done!

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:38am

Addictive little game. I had to keep playing until I got one of the jumping blocks. My max score was 398.

crewderek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:43am

A very unique little game you have here. The music fits well. The level change is also very cool!

egos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:59am

so well realized the multiple game .
The platform are so rude and frustrating in comparison of the other maybe more time will be great

wandersenus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:58am

nice game!

jepster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:58am

I'll join the chorus and give this game two thumbs up! And the platforming section a thumb down. I only managed to beat it once. Oh, and my score was 151.

Of the 9 or so games I played already, this is the first I want to keep playing. Oh, and the music is really good!

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:01am

Love the colors and animations you made, they really fit very well whe music is also good, I like it. Controllers are nce for the non-platformer gameplay but maybe for the platform part less speed in x would be better? not sure. Great game!

Pinpickle says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:03am

Thanks for the kind words everyone! Sorry about the "ice" physics. This is after I have toned down the iciness. I considered it more of a mechanic because the jumps themselves aren't really that hard and I didn't have the time to make smarter platform generation.

Starting to wonder if this would count as a "typo" fix...

jfreax says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:51am

Interesting game concept. Nice idea. Unfortunately the control is quite hard, or should I say: It's challenging? ;)

Nice simple graphic.

onilink_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:16am

I love this game.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:55am

Fun and intense! Kind of reminds me of the Wario Ware games where you need to think fast to get the current goal. Maybe would have been good to add small pauses between the screens to improve the game dynamics.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Hi there. Very trippy sounds and visuals, in a mondrian sort-of way... Like the changing mechanics, though some of them were tough the game was generous and gave quite a bit of play. IFRAME version on LD page didn't work properly (size) but the Web linked version worked okay (Chrome on W8.1) Good job!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Super next level! I love the animations, and the whole concept is pretty sick. +1

miotatsu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:39am

This game is amazing! I am in love with it, I have no constructive criticism for you because this game is perfect. I'm blown away

cmdr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:40am

I really liked this game. The skill curve is good. I just wished the controls were a little less floaty. But overall, great game :D

datachomper says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:27am

Nicely polished. Gameplay is tough as nails!

goro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:00am

COOL!!!

feizenbara says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:49am

Great entry! Sometimes I have troubles figuring out where I am/where to go, but it's fun :)

AsixJin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:14am

I love little games like this. Very good time waster for when you need to burn time on the desktop. I kinda wished there was a way to pause the game as it does in between levels though.

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Took me a minute to work out what was going on, but I enjoyed it. The levels with gravity are really tircky! A little more explanation of what was going to happen might help a bit :P

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Ahh time limits!! Very fun but very hard. Great execution, although the controls felt a bit wobbly sometimes.

deathray says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:45am

Yikes! It's kind of intense. I would recommend some kind of cue to the user about what's an enemy object vs. something you can just fly right over. Good job on the music and the fast-paced entertainment.

TehSkull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:32am

Super difficult. Needs to at least be guaranteed that you won't insta-die when the levels change. Otherwise very frantic, I love it.

Ossi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:18am

Fantastic game! I love the way it looks and sounds. The way you transition to new levels and change up the rules of the game in very simple ways allows for good diversity. I actually like the slippery nature of the movement, since most of the obstacles only block you it's not as frustrating unless they killed you instantly. Some serious polish going on here! Great job!

Caspila says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:27am

Interesting concept, the simplistic art style suits the gameplay perfectly. Especially liked the quick and dynamic pacing of the game. Balancing is very unforgiving at the moment, though. A small indicator when gravity changes would be nice, too (e.g. some sound cue).

Damdoshi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:28am

Nice work. It could be an illustration about what is a video game.

TheGreenTie says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:28pm

That spawn hub, those transitions, that feel! So good!
It was pretty hard to know when you are in platform mode, though.

csanyk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:09am

I like it a lot. The quick countdown timer and sudden rules changes each new level keep you on your toes.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:23pm

interesting mechanics, definitely "different", well done

Dokthar says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:16am

I really like the switch floor and floorless ^^ A realy good game with nice graphique

Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:44am

Wow! I'm blown away! Everything from the sound design to the levels, the transitions, the controls, the goal of the game, everything - I'm just amazed. There are so many incredible parts about the design - like that you have the feedback of which level you're on in the background, that you gain one cube every time you win a level, and lose one every time you lose, but still you can never have more than two - such well balanced choices. The countdown on the sides is great, it doesn't take too much attention, but it's always there when you want to know. The variation in the levels is great, and I'm very impressed by the timing that you've managed to create, so that there's always time to get to the goal no matter the complexity of the level. Also the starting screen. So well done. You've really succeeded in making a game that teaches itself to the player all the way from beginning to end. It keeps you on your toes all the time, and it's both forgiving and unforgiving at the same time in that you brutally lose a level as soon as you make a mistake, but it gives you a whole new life when you win. And if you do fail a level, you don't have a to replay it, which is great too, so you never really get stuck in that sense. If there's something I think could be improved, it'd be that I died a couple of times pretty much instantly as the level started (usually going from one of the floating scenes to another), and that sometimes the difficulty level sometimes changed a little too much between levels, so that you went from kind of easy to extremely difficult and back to kind of easy again. Still, there's really something to the difficulty level gap, because there's variation and that also helps in keeping you on your toes. Awesome stylistic choices, and I'm incredibly impressed with how solid a game you made in these 48 hours. I'm a fan!

5/5 stars all the way through, except an n/a for humor as I couldn't really see the relevance.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:53am

PS: New high score! 980! :)

rottenmage says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 4:52am

Nice work! Some of the jumping levels felt a bit unfair, though. Great job nonetheless!

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:31am

Just what i wanted right now! It's action is excellent.Very good pacing, music, gamedesign overall!Cool!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Fun game! I liked the three different styles of gameplay, it kept the game interesting and a good challenge. Also, the graphics and music were well suited from the game, very polished. Well done!

XTremEive says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:32pm

I really dig the ever changing mechanics. And the fast pace of the game. That's the kind of game I like. Fast, challenging and fun.

Canyon says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 4:39am

I like the music!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]