Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Tower Trasher

by graebor - Jam Entry

Defend the blue tower, trash the red ones! Controls are simple and instructions are on the game page.

This is my first shot at making an RTS game, so I'm interested in blunt, honest feedback :)

I've opted out of the audio category since the BGM is a Kevin MacLeod track called "Basement Floor"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Fun(Jam)4.29
#21Overall(Jam)4.08
#96Mood(Jam)3.75
#100Graphics(Jam)4.21
#158Theme(Jam)3.96
#437Innovation(Jam)3.13
#460Humor(Jam)2.65
#2075Coolness26%

Comments

Insality says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:27am

ohoho, so solid game, great!
Man, u are awesome ;]

mintybacon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:29am

I really really liked this really smooth for your first RTS Congrats!

Mixer says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:38am

Lasted over 5 minutes! Solid, exciting, engaging game, with simple yet attractive audio and graphics.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:43am

Awesome game! I like the way the units are balanced. It's a bit difficult to tell which units you have selected. Also, be nice to single click to select a single unit.

mactinite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:47am

Really awesome! I lasted 236 seconds my first run through.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:55am

This is a really great RTS!

Kabukky says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:05am

Hi fellow Unity dev.
Really impressive work. Path finding could be improved, but those Bombers are awesome :)
I like the art style too!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:30am

I really love this mix of TD and RTS! Art style is pretty nice. Gameplay smooth and enjoyable. Great work!

andrewjoy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:01am

Pretty game with fun effects and fluid controls. The design could be more creative but it was executed well.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Hi there. Excellent! Love everything about your game. Managed to kill one of their towers second go. Definitely coming for a relook. Great job!

bushmango says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Thanks for commenting on my game, Four Seasons!
Re: to be fair, you should expect some lava to attack you if you sleep next to a volcano... but I've taken your feedback and made a bit easier and less frustrating 1.01 version with some other bug fixes included.

I liked your game, it gave me a nice little RTS fix. It can be hard to navigate around the map though -- my own guys kept getting in the way or they seemed to get stuck on stuff. Maybe a population cap would help as well as force you to move your guys out to attack?

sirdorius says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:07am

I really enjoyed this! Glad to see you even balanced the difficulty. Great work!

kaa says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:18am

RTS? This is awesome!

Dans17 says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:46am

Really nice job creating an RTS. Maybe I'm just bad, but I found attacking the other towers to pretty much impossible as you had to always focus your resources on defense.

radmars says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Awesome! This is so much fun. I wish there were control groups & single click selection though, I kept on accidentally getting my healers killed :P

stormouse says ...
Oct 3, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Wooow such a nice game! As a Starcraft player I enjoy this game a lot! Make it into a more complete one! You will, right?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]