Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Pinball Wizardry

by dsilvers - Jam Entry

Pinball! Fire! Lightning! Can you handle it? Get your flipper fingers ready and bounce fireballs around the castle to get the best score you can!

Fusion 2.5 source is included with Windows download.

Update 2: Good news, everybody! The physics problem has been fixed. I'll be posting the new version tomorrow along with some more bug fixes and nice improvements. YAY!

Update: I am currently investigating the collision issues with the flippers & backdrops. I've also made some minor tweaks. Flippers now flip faster (two impulse calls per flip instead of just one), and there is a fade to white when the game ends (with the music also fading). I'll be posting this update along with some other minor fireball physics tweaks when I get those nasty bugs cleared. Thank you all for the great feedback!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#337Fun(Jam)3.27
#418Theme(Jam)3.64
#456Mood(Jam)3.10
#460Humor(Jam)2.65
#561Overall(Jam)3.14
#792Innovation(Jam)2.55
#1385Coolness49%

Comments

tyty5949 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

NOTE: You forgot the dashes in your websites URL. I was smart enough to google you and figure out there are supposed to be dashes. Now to my review.

Pretty good game. The graphics and music are really nice. It took me a few minutes to figure out that the bass sound was when I used the paddles. lol. However the paddles could be a bit glitchy. Other than that a solid little pinball game.

dsilvers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:39am

Yeah I can't believe I typo'd my own URL, lol. Trying to see if I can fix it.

dsilvers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:43am

Should work now! Thanks for the headsup! :D

Shivur says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Good game. Epic music! The only thing is the collision with the flippers that is glitchy.

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Fun little game. I wish there was a free play mode so that I could just try to time the paddles with the beat of the music.

dsilvers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:40pm

@Shivur: Yeah it's a physics problem. The bumpers overlap the angled collider on the side. It works fine on the right flipper but for some reason the left flipper (which has nearly identical code other than rotating from 0 to 45 degrees instead of 180 to 135) tends to get sticky. I'm going to hit up the Fusion community for help solving this one, or if anyone here uses Fusion feel free to take a look at the source code and help me out!

@GhostBomb Ooo good suggestion! If I were to ever do anything more than pick at the couple remaining bugs in the future, a free play mode could definitely happen, as well as a campaign. I'd love to make different boards, especially taller ones with scrolling, extra flippers, and specific targets/enemies to hit in order to beat the level.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:00pm

i got 1018 :D really fun game to play, and the music is EPIC! :D

lxd1 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Its fun.

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Nice lively game! The physics sometimes messed up, but altogether nice effects.

guldlock says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:33pm

As other people say it has epic music, but I really enjoyed the lightning effect and the feedback from it! It blew my mind the first time I caught it! Cool game!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Great music

Proximal Pyro says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Like the concept but the wierd physics is making the game unplayable.

Tommyno222 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Very polished game. It's fun to play, audio is great and bonuses clever made.

Ovidios says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Great graphics, a way too epic background track and the well-known pinball-concept make this a nice and enjoyable game.

But if you ever plan to do a post-compo-version then try to fix some collision-boxes and remove the bug in wich you just stand like this: http://www.directupload.net/file/d/3830/l6v4pgry.png and can wait for the stars to fall on you and farm infinite points. ^^

dsilvers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Yeah maybe something like the fire going out over time if it isn't bouncing into sconces on the walls or something could help alleviate that.

dsilvers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:13pm

Hey all, I misread the Jam rules last night and thought I had to opt out of everything. Silly me! I've still opted out of graphics & audio, but unchecked the rest.

andysolace says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Music is pretty epic lol! Especially when under that electrified effect :D

Gameplay is great fun and graphics aren't bad either. Good entry!

There are a few bugs though, which is a shame. The ball seems to pass through the flippers sometimes, at the hinges, and there's nothing you can do to stop yourself from losing a ball :( Downer when you're on a roll! But, still a great little game :D

Well done!

shotty456 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:41pm

I love pinball so i had pretty high-expectations for this. That said it was awesome. I'm definitely going to play this some more!

Wakka says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:58pm

well that was really amazing, that epic music made the game outstanding :D Collision detection isnt always acurate.

Thermite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Love the name and the thematic style. Shame about the physics issues, but good overall

dsilvers says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:27pm

I'ma get that physics issue worked out. Silly collisions!

Dreii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:14am

Haha! the music was super epic. The game was fun, That lightning power up was super cool, I ran into a bug where my ball kept sliding underneath my bumpers from behind.

good job!

Thanks for rating my game too!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:25pm

it's little glitchy sometimes :) either that of the paddles just don't like me very much.

dsilvers says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:34pm

Yeah the left paddle specifically is kinda funny but the incoming update fixes that. I'm holding out until I can get the ball to not drop through the paddles or bottom wall anymore.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:14pm

I like a lot the idea of a dynamic pinball! The only problem is the sometimes glitchy physics.

Davision says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Collisions are sadly broken on the flippers so I could not play much. Looks interesting though.

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Good Work ^^

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:51am

I enjoyed how chaotic and hectic this was! There are some collision issues but you've got the start of something great here.

ynots says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:34am

good game...

Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Nice entry! A few collision bugs, though. Would love to play a more polished version.

Riocide says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:21pm

like the snares!

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:44pm

Nice setting) pretty fun to play

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:53am

ok - i am suprised i liked that - there were a few collision glitches - but overall very fun

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Looks nice, good polish. One thing I noticed was that I didn't feel like I had very much control over where the ball was going to go. This could have to do with the physics, but I think it's also because the paddles are flat in their "idle" state. Normally in pinball games they are angled so you can let the ball roll along them and select when you want to flip it, sending it to different parts of the board. Because the ball is bouncy and the paddles are flat, you're pretty much limited to the reflected vector of the ball's current velocity.

dsilvers says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 3:57pm

@BMacIntosh You won't believe this, but angling the flippers has gotten me closer to alleviating the collision problems! A lot of them are engine issues and I've reported the bug, but for now it's starting to behave itself a lot more. I will try my hardest to get this update out before the time limit!

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:59am

Awesome concept!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]