Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Admin vs BFU

by jarnik - Jam Entry

Frankie is a common IT guy, he just cares about his lovely PCs and servers. He feels that work as admin must be like live in heaven except one moment… There are days when creatures from hell, usually called BFU, are trying to use his loved PCs and spread virus among them or damage them like dirty mouse wheel. But there is one thing which makes his day, slapping the BFUs. So, welcome in IT department simulator !

Frankie, the network admin guy, controls, repairs or scan nearby PCs and servers by using shell commands or performing special admin actions, for example sacrificing goat. Admin runs between his office and computers to fix all the problems caused by the users. The computers are connected via network to server which can be seen in the computer network map. If computer is infected then virus can also spread to the connected server through which other computers can be infect later in the network.

To win just survive for given time limit and at least one user has to stay.
But to lose is pretty simple - just piss off all users, so all of them will leave.

Game controls:
Arrow keys – admin’s moves
“bump” to PC or server – connect with PC or server to fix them
Type letters – enter shell command to fix PCs and servers
Enter – send shell command
Left CTRL, Command – show map

Credits:
BEM - programming
Mike - programming
@Jarnik - graphics
@VojtechOutulny - design, sounds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#48Innovation(Jam)4.00
#59Theme(Jam)4.19
#210Audio(Jam)3.40
#255Graphics(Jam)3.76
#285Overall(Jam)3.47
#290Fun(Jam)3.33
#2356Coolness0%

Comments

Falin says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:57am

+ Hard typing game. Fun to play. Simple.
- Too long distance between servers.

vincentd says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Good idea, nicely rendered. Ugly walls, though.
Impossible to really play with my azerty keyboard... (couldn't type - character for instance).

stray says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 2:14pm

nice graphic

Insality says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 2:16pm

interesting idea but hard to play, rly :D
nice graphic[2]

bubblebuddha says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 2:30pm

interesting graphic style :) gamplay is a little bit hard for me.

Istani says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 3:28pm

interesting. i like it XD

Nice oldscool graphics

Snuux says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Super graphics!)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Now I know how to code! Thanks!

maddogawl says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Very cool game, I really like the concept of it!

wilpel1234 says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Really liked this game! Felt like a hacker!

AlSweigart says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Ha! I play the speedtest typing program with the "unix commands" word set. This game felt exactly like that. It would be nice to be able hold down the arrow keys to move instead of pressing them a bunch. But I had fun playing it.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Neat. It's an interesting idea although being able to use the arrow keys to go back and fix things rather than deleting everything first would be nice. :)

Wezley says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 9:36pm

Very nice game! Great job! :)

MMOOxy says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Hard game, even harder without an english keyboard layout.

laxeot says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:09pm

This is rad! Would anybody be willing to check my game out?
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=45502

wandersenus says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:11pm

interesting. i like it
Nice oldscool graphics

xaedes says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:21pm

I like the graphics and game concept very much!

But please let this game be playable with other keyboard layouts than english. I had to end because of this.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 7, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Nice, it's funny, but very challenging.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:07am

its actually impossible. problems "recharge" too quickly.

Snuux says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:14am

Interesting idea. And cool gameplay. I like it!

revolter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:17am

It gives me an error:

Forbidden

You don't have permission to access /pub/ld31/ on this server.

SeriousDeath says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:52am

i own3d \o/ Very fun game and cool concept, even though it brought back horrible IT admin memories :P

yongcamu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:49pm

Damn, love everything about it. Really nice! Going all nerdy over the strings the player needs to type. :D Big fan of them!

Shampop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Idea is cool but i can't really play, my keyboard is an european AZERTY, the letters are OK, but when i want to use other signs (like "&" or ";"), they aren't in the good place in my keyboard. So it's pretty hard...

Figglewatts says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:45pm

Simple and fun. Nice work!

yongcamu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:14pm

Came back to say, I can't stop playing this. :D Makes all the nerd cells in me tingle.

gltovar says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:36pm

I really like the concept, enjoyed playing it =]

Lokiman says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:58am

At first I sucked but then I own3d ... and then I sucked again until I found out about the servers! :D

Good job on the game guys, I really had fun helping those BFUs! :)

Shimone says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:42pm

I like this kind of games but I couldn't play it as I wanted because when I "&", it actually writes "^" (maybe that's because I have a japanese keyboard). Nice idea by the way!

hexagore says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:48pm

yay typing game! Fun. And those commands looked very realistic... I don't know enough linux to know if they're all actually real, wouldn't surprise me though :)

Raptor85 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:24am

managed to win, it's impossible to save too many though, they decay far too fast. decently fun typing game though, could have used a bit more funny commands.

Wiering says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:34am

For the theme, wouldn't it be better if Frankie could do everything remotely from is one screen?

Bloxri says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:36am

Very challenging, even after a minute or two. Very very good submission though. Good job on the sounds, graphics and the overall game. Great job, seriously. One of the better games I played so far!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]