Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Blobbit - A Disaffected Squirmy

by Wampus - Jam Entry

Blobbit - An Disaffected Squirmy

You have discovered a world rich in gemstones and other resources, but the Squirmies of Blobbit are not very welcoming to strangers!

Since the theme was Entire Game on One Screen I wanted to make a game that would have a lot going on. Hope its not too much! Its a condensed RPG, strategy game, semi-tower defence game and slow machine in one.

Buy tiles to unlock resources, speed up production, attack Squirmies, gamble and more. If you're struggling to begin with just click on things, especially flashing things, to explore how to play. After a while you should work it out.

EDIT! Kerri (the artist/musician) wrote an explanation of the game in the comments that I had to add:-

"Here's the mechanics, in a nutshell. Each tile represents a resource. Gems (green tiles) are the basic resource you need to accumulate. As you collect more gems, you can unlock more tiles. As your production increases and you unlock more tiles, you can do more stuff, like build golems to protect the tiles you've won, buy bumps in your attack, defense and production stats, and play slots for bonuses.

The blobs reproduce exponentially at a fixed rate, and if they get to your space ship you're dead. Tap them to attack and kill them, but watch your life bar as you do. Over-reach will slow you down.

Killing the squirmies on the outer edge is harder than the ones who come close to your ship, so you need to boost your attack / defense stats to kill them.

When the "level up" arrows by your stats light up, you get about five points to distribute between them, however you choose. You can increase the number of clicks you can use and the rate at which you replenish resources and life stats. "

SPOILER TIPS:-

Instead of clicking to boost production on tiles constantly, wait until your ACTION bar is full then strategically click the tile you need most over and over.

Watch your LIFE bar. If it goes to 0 you will be injured and all your stats will suffer as a result until you fully recover

The upgrade shops are essential. Don't let Squirmies take them over. Put golems on these tiles and other tiles you need the most.

RECOVERY will speed up how quickly you regain ACTION points.

The Slot Machine shop has some great bonuses, if you care to gamble your hard earned gemstones.

Upgrading your production speed in the Product Shop will speed up ALL resource extraction.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#98Fun(Jam)3.72
#128Overall(Jam)3.74
#153Innovation(Jam)3.67
#210Audio(Jam)3.40
#221Theme(Jam)3.87
#282Graphics(Jam)3.72
#337Mood(Jam)3.28
#456Humor(Jam)2.66

Comments

sharp911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:14am

Looks great, I really didnt know what I was doing.

KaCoomb says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:41am

Hi Sharp, thanks for playing!

The idea we had originally is that you should be able to figure the game out by playing it - just tap the screen and look at the stats until it comes together. It ended up being a pretty complex game though, so it's not as obvious as we'd hoped it would be.

Here's the mechanics, in a nutshell. Each tile represents a resource. Gems (green tiles) are the basic resource you need to accumulate. As you collect more gems, you can unlock more tiles. As your production increases and you unlock more tiles, you can do more stuff, like build golems to protect the tiles you've won, buy bumps in your attack, defense and production stats, and play slots for bonuses.

The blobs reproduce exponentially at a fixed rate, and if they get to your space ship you're dead. Tap them to attack and kill them, but watch your life bar as you do. Over-reach will slow you down.

Killing the squirmies on the outer edge is harder than the ones who come close to your ship, so you need to boost your attack / defense stats to kill them.

When the "level up" arrows by your stats light up, you get about five points to distribute between them, however you choose. You can increase the number of clicks you can use and the rate at which you replenish resources and life stats.

The slot machine can produce big bonuses, but isn't really necessary to win the game.

Hope that helps you, and anyone else who tries it! We wanted to do more, but the big sell is, IT WORKS, pretty much as we wanted it to. And speaking only for myself, it's fun once you get the hang of it.

p1x3lruckus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:54am

Really good music is playing, but the screen is black so I can't play. But seriously, this music is amazing.

Wampus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:02am

p1x3lruckus thanks for letting us know. Which browser and OS are you using? Firefox, Chrome and IE11 are working for me here on Win7 64 bit.

Jonapulse says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:10am

Ah, that feeling when the last lifeless Blobby melts to the ground under your lasers and the genocide is complete. Another world cleansed for HUMANITY!

BLARGLE BLARGLE BLARGLE!

I eventually understood how to play it. Wasn't too confusing.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:16am

I have to say that I really like the "no tutorial, just learning by doing" concept.
I have been playing for a while now and in the beginning I thought I could learn the game by playing it - I was pretty lost soon after.
Maybe that's just the price I have to pay for 72 hours jamming :)

I actually have to play again now after reading your explanation in the comments before I rate :)

Jacksendary says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:19am

I had no idea about what i was doing ¯_(ツ)_/¯ but I think I won xD

KaCoomb says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:50am

If you killed all the squirmies, you won! Congratulations! Wampus is going to finish this properly and stick it on the Android store for tablets, complete with all the visual and sound FX cues he didn't have time for, so you can really feel the win.

The-Force says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:52pm

I played two times and the second time I was keeping the squirmies alive to keep playing. Lost like an hour xD

rzuf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Oooooh I get it! Definitely needs a tutorial. :D

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:54am

I've been waiting to play this! :D

Zathalos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:20am

Nice. It took me like 15 mins to beat the game. I was persistent because I didn't want to lose. The clicking got a little repetitive at the end. If you could click and hold it would be a lot better. :) Nice job.

tcarter says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:59am

The audio was inoffensive, which is good considering how long I was playing it. Really interesting resource management. Nice job!

Team Myopia says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:28am

Great game, and I played it all the way through. It did take me till level 10 or so to figure out you can level up your stats but after that it was just a matter of divide and conquer.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:10am

Played it through to the end. At first, I had no idea what I was doing, but I got the hang of things over time. Great game!

iMer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:11am

A little confusing at first, but I got it after a while.
Never used the slot machine and only skilled into recovery pretty much.
Was quite fun and the music was nice as well

ondrejbalas says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:20am

I played until I won and it was lots of fun. Great job!

AndresGames says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:13am

I have to admit I played this multiple times. It was a lot of fun. Ended up spamming recovery, at the end I had like 120 recovery 20 action and like 40 resources. Seems like it could be a little more balanced then just throw everything here. Consider maybe having one that increases your health or something. Great game, keep working on it. Make more maps with increasing difficulty :D

asobitech says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:38am

Pretty deep mechanics, really needs some training missions.
But as it's Ludum Dare, I can understand there was no time.
Lovely graphics and sound.

SirRicecake says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:30am

I visited the web-link, but all I saw after loading was the red background.
(Mac OSX 10.9.5, Safari 7.1). Chrome 39, Opera 26 and Firefox 33 are working though.

Nice game! Really got me hooked. I felt rewarded, expanding my step-by-step :D.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:30pm

O.o This is really a good game forged in 72h... Good Idea, good artwork... Will play it twice!

hitchh1k3r says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:09pm

The graphics, concept, and music behind this were awesome. Personally I found it overwhelming at first. After I figured out what I was doing it was fine, but by then I stood no chance against the Squirmies. I finally figured out that I could use action points to hurt them and that helped a lot. Perhaps it would help if the game only showed the menus that were available, as to not frighten the player. Also maybe the enemies could hold off on taking over until the player has done enough things to prove they know what they are doing. Overall amazing job, I really liked this entry.

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Took me a while to get the hang of it. Love the mix of gameplay elements!

lycrashampoo says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:36am

That was really fun! I managed to pick it up by playing. Enjoyed the board game vibe quite a bit.

xaedes says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 7:59pm

This kept me playing a long time. So much fun! It is really nice how many thing you can do, and all in one screen. I think you got the theme really got! The music fits really well in my opinion. The graphics are as good as the rest.
Good work! 5 Stars from me

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Awesome game. Took a little bit to figure out what I needed to do, but once I got the hang of it the game was quite fun. Also, I appreciate the warm-up time to poke around and figure things out at the beginning of the game.

Dec 24, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Very nice! It's a little tricky at first, since most people won't know what they're doing. But once I got up to speed, it was really fun. I played for about 15 minutes, and near the end it got pretty easy, as my health was regenerating almost as fast as I could kill the Squirmys.

I really like how everything fits together so well. The main thing I would change is the use of clay, lava and magic. Gems are used for almost everything, while the other resources have no use besides buying golems. Also, the game screen was a bit bigger than my laptop screen, so maybe making the screen smaller would be a good idea.

Altogether, a very solid entry!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]