Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Endless Expansion

by Hunter X - Compo Entry

9/12/2014: Fixed a minor bug in which pressing against a wall while jumping would cause the player to lose momentum, resulting in otherwise easy jumps being difficult to accomplish without knowing the correct workaround in advance. The original version of the game and its source code are available at https://st0rage.org/~hunterx/ld31/v1/index.html for reference purposes.

Dodge the obstacles and try and make it to the end, but be careful as the map expands and makes things harder to see!

My first completed entry for a Ludum Dare, in all its buggy glory. I took the concept of an entire game on one screen and decided to implement it in such a way that the camera gradually zooms out until the entire game map is visible at once. You can also make use of a 'magnifying glass', in which holding down a specific key will overlay a second image over the first displaying a zoomed-in view of the player. However, the magnifying glass both obscures the zoomed out map and is zoomed far enough in itself that to rely on it too much will leave the player vulnerable to hazards that they will be unaware of until the last moment.

The collision detection is a little wonky given that I had to write my player controller from scratch and some of the obstacles can be a little hit-or-miss, but it should all be beatable and overall I'm fairly satisfied with the amount of work I got done over the last two days. Maybe tomorrow I'll see about exporting a standalone version in addition to the web player.

And yes, the snowman is in there somewhere :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#202Theme3.92
#355Fun3.31
#372Innovation3.38
#393Overall3.35
#508Humor2.55
#637Graphics2.96
#920Mood2.50
#1742Coolness39%

Comments

miguelmurca says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:45am

I really like it! The concepts really cool and also well done! (I was expecting the screen just to zoom out more and more, so having stuff shifting place and still fitting was pretty cool!) Controls were overall nice as well, although sometimes a bit tricky.
Just one thing - what's up with those arms?

BaneStar007 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:27am

Awesome, Fits the Concept well, reminds me of Monty Mole. Don't like the bounding boxes on spikes.. too easy to be killed when I'm not touching the spike itself..

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Hi there. Like the idea. Got stuck at top of first left-right-left-right jump ladder though, final jump to right wouldn't work (Chrome on W8.1)

davesoft says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Very addictive, I love it! With a little more work on the art and player movement this would be awesome :D

qleonetti says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Concept is good but the jumping is a bit glitchy. Solid game outside than this issue

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Nice game! The physics were pretty nice and smooth, although there was a slight issue when you moved into a wall horizontally while in midair. Still, for the most part, the platforming physics were quite nice. The theme concept was done really well, and I also really liked the difficulty curve. I eventually gave up when I had to climb that tower with retracting spikes. The fact that the checkpoint was so far before the hard part was unfortunate. Still, the whole thing was quite well designed and animated. Good job!

revolter says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:00pm

The physics is buggy when jumping on platforms, might wanna use frictionless physics material to avoid that. It's debatable if it fits the theme ) but it was fun overall

Jonapulse says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Rawesome idea. I love worlds that unfold as you progress. I got quite far--I stopped on the tall timed spike platform place b/c I wasn't willing to do that as many time as I'd need to for a victory.

There's a really annoying unity physics thing that was causing problems here--where your horizontal collision stops your vertical movement. I can't remember if I've ever fixed that before, but it would improve your game a lot.

I'd also prefer faster horizontal movement.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Funy game. But I got stuck one the platforms with spawning / vanishing spikes. I'm not fond of false spikes experiences...

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Colliders are a bit large, but a clever idea and a fun game!

flatgub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:48pm

This was a really cool idea and executed well!
The animations were smooth which was nice too!
My only complaint is that the controls were sticky and the physics felt off at times...

allanolivei says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:10pm

The idea of the scenario expand and very good. But the movement of the character still has problem, the collider and very wide and sometimes gets stuck in corners.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Nice take on the theme. The player hit box was a little frustrating (dying without touching the spikes) but after you get past that it's great.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:29am

I really liked the shifting levels, and the checkpoints are very well spread out.

Good job!

jpmit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Very interesting idea, a really nice twist on a 2d platformer. Well adjusted difficulty settings as well.

Music and sfx would have been nice, though you know that already!

elvaq says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Wow, great use of theme! Pretty cool idea even if the gameplay was nothing new. I also thought the collision detection was a bit finnicky, maybe if the character was wider it wouldn't seem that way?
Great execution though, it all looked and felt slick.

berkano says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Very nice job and great way to fit into the theme! Trying to get up the spiky platforms on the right hand side was pretty frustrating. Would love a bit of music/sounds

Lupins says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:31pm

I gave up in the right most challenge... can't climb that!
Anyway, what a nice game you did!
Bad sides: The hit boxes are too big or something, they felt weird. No sounds :( you would be so nice to have some sound going on! And the death, it needs some feedback like pausing for 1 sec and flashing red, sometimes it took me a millisecond to realise: I am dead!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Addictive game!
I like the graphic style and the gameplay, but I also think that hitboxes are a little too big!
BTW well done! :D

Lacaranian says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Difficult but lots of fun. Some of the hitboxes seemed a little off. Good show!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]