Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Bad Television

by bitslap - Jam Entry

Bad Television
An bossrun epic.

Art and Code by Bitslap
Music by Dubmood and Zabutom
SFX by Zabutom

Soundtrack get: http://tiny.cc/badteleost

TV ate your popcorn, boo!

Someone reported that the audio only worked after restarting the client. Restart until audio works then.

Navigate with arrows
Jump with Z
Throw ALL your kitchen ware with X (incl dog)
Hold UP to throw higher

Only for windows this time. There is a ton of stuff i wanted to do better. Maybe a remix post compo.

Included a shameless link to my devlog for http://tiny.cc/frogtale

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio(Jam)4.57
#9Fun(Jam)4.14
#13Theme(Jam)4.43
#21Graphics(Jam)4.60
#27Overall(Jam)4.06
#52Mood(Jam)3.91
#106Humor(Jam)3.59
#390Innovation(Jam)3.21
#2185Coolness20%

Comments

Gigawicket says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:42am

The graphics are really well done, and I love the idea. I had trouble knowing if I was hitting the TV. There was no flashing animation or color change to know if anything was happening.

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:56am

Closest thing to an indication of hitting it, is its HP meter.
Sorry, what you want is called polish and i had no time :D

rogberth says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:26am

Remembers me a lot of banana nanaba. Really good and polished game, I'm going to save it and try to beat it at least once.

Good job!

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:56am

Terrific game! Great music and art!!!

Interface says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:58am

Really cool entry. Nice graphics, music, etc. Very good overall.

digibody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:32am

It was a fun little game :)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:34am

Love the music and gameplay, ahaha chucking all your kitchen ware dog including rofl. I love the boss fight at the end! overall cool game

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:39pm

I'm not very skilled, but I had a lot of fun with this!

MarioKid says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:45pm

It is quite nice.If I make a video of it I will make sure to send you a link :D

the31 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Difficult, but I beat it! Got stuck in the television frame on the win screen, but that thing happens.

Really liked the graphics and music--cool style! The gameplay was tough, but doable: pressing x so much was a bit tiring, and I never quite got the pipe boss' patterns down, but I ended up not needing to. Honestly I usually don't like boss battles, but this was still fun and very thematic.

KedumeBits says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:31pm

With no doubt the best game i tried since now, and i've tried a lot. Congratulations! I love de graphics and all the animations.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Super fun game! I love how it kept escalating. The theme was really good and the music and sound were really good.

After I beat the third boss I got stuck in the side of the wall of the tv? Not sure why that happened!

Anyways awesome stuff! :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:26pm

Great music and as always perfect visuals!

Code Medicine says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:33am

This is one of my favorites. I love how simple it is. The speed of the controls is perfect and it feels super good jumping and firing. I bet this would feel awesome with a controller. Once your living room explodes being able to shoot from one side of the game window to the other is neat. Audio is excellent, visuals are excellent. One major thing killing it for me is the size of the game window.

drnick says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:54am

Quite well made, the difficulty is very frustrating, but I guess that is intended.

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:33am

Nice one! Cute graphics, banging music, funny premise about the TV. Couldn't beat the final boss. Some hit indication would be nice, I agree.

villhest says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:39pm

That was pretty awesome.

Finlal says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:28am

One of my favorite in this LD. Simple but really well made and fun.
Great job.

rxi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:55pm

A *really* short game (assuming I didn't break it), but really lovely none the less. The music and art was great, as to be expected given the authors.

It was a shame that it felt like it ended much sooner than expec

joekinley says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Awesome graphics. You know I love your graphics.
Also the game is pretty cool. Had a lot of fun.
Downside: PLEASE don't use Z/Y as a button. I am on qwertz and it was so awkward, that I had a hard time even playing properly.

In the end, still an awesome game. Good job.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Great entry. Fun and loved the music, good job.

igoramendola says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Pretty cool game!!
It has great graphics/sounds and fits very well with the theme.
Besides, I liked the challenge. Good entry ^^

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:15am

The graphics are just fantastic!delicious animation too and cool concept!Great!

Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Frenetic! I wonder where does he keep all that kitchenware :P

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Nice take on the theme and cool song.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:05am

Fun game with beautiful visuals and music. Really enjoyed playing and liked the way the game opened up and how the layout changed as you progressed. Great entry.

rabbit says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:36pm

I wish I had some idea of where the TV was gonna fall so I could position it a little better.

Hitting the TV has no graphics/sound to indicate that I had hit.

Game controls REALLY well and has stellar graphics/music. A++

qristofer says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Sweet! Graphix and musix is very very good with supertight controls. I had to try three times before making it past the big telly. Good!

geckojsc says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Great to see such awesome chip and pixel artists working together! I thoroughly enjoyed it. Got stuck in the wall at the end though, because I was standing at the edge of the level when the room changed :)

voxel says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 11:06am

I liked the part with the guy

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Really good graphics and music, gameplay felt a bit easy but straightforward to pick up.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]