Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Cell 09

by 01010111 - Jam Entry

THE YEAR IS 19XX AND PRISONS ARE OVERFLOWING.
CRIMINALS ARE GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY TO PAY THEIR DEBTS IN CELL 09.

WASD/LEFTMOUSE/MOUSESCROLL

[MOUSESCROLL ONLY WORKS IN FULLSCREEN]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#28Fun(Jam)3.98
#67Graphics(Jam)4.35
#91Overall(Jam)3.83
#221Mood(Jam)3.45
#330Humor(Jam)2.93
#366Theme(Jam)3.69
#546Innovation(Jam)2.98
#2356Coolness0%

Comments

tweedle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:12am

Nice effects! Like the screen shake. At one point there were two of me... double the fun!

sharp911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:16am

Great game. Good graphics and audio. Works well together. Good job.

madcapacity says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:23am

I really loved the feel of the game. The audio works really well and the graphics/effects are solid.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:22am

Wow! Very cool idea and implementation. By the way can't figure out the purpose yet. But keep playng to reduce my debt!

Finlal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:31am

Why there's no audio rating?
I really loved the sound of the game.

adrianulima says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:10pm

very nice game... congrats

Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Gameplay feel is great.

Fortyseven says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:23am

Love the concept! Feels good, too. Great job!

omaha says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:27pm

Nice work. What happened to the level you tweeted Saturday morning? :)

foolmoron says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:02am

Holy crap did you bust this out in a day?

farwyler says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Great sounds! Awesome game!

BuzzJeux says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Piece of cake that sound good ! Really enjoy this great concept and very nice work on pixelart and sfx. Congratz for this great game !

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:22am

one of my fav!5/5

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:46am

just played it again!God!i've played almost 200 games and your controls and feeling of character moving in the room,is just beyond excellent!Bravo again!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:28am

Pretty smooth, but the audio is SUPER loud on my computer. Also, a few times I got a bug where the character would get stick against the left side of the screen, or otherwise stuck as if left or right was held down.

jackrugile says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:40am

That automatic mini gun style weapon was quite satisfying to shoot... holy crap.

Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:47am

This is awesome! Great simple Idea, nice player feedback and feel

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Nice user feedback!
The system was easy to trick by keeping shooting at the slot machine.

apiotrw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Very entertaining entry

allurious says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Really fun little shooting game! I loved the screenshake and the fact I explode if I die even though I'm a human dude. Really cool concept, here's to more LD games with slot machines :D

ripatti says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Great art and effects! Why no rate for music? It's great too!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Was a bit frustrating and I seemed to get a lot of repeated rolls (one run I kept getting weapon upgrades, another I kept getting three hearts) but other than that it was great.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:03pm

I featured your game at GameARTMonday: http://buff.ly/1qT3S6k
along with other beautiful Ludum Dare games.

Cheers! :)

rxi says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:22pm

As usual the art was an absolute joy to look at! The simple gameplay mixed with the wonderful visuals made the whole thing shine; the audio fit with the rest of the game well. The slot machine at the top really helped to add to the game's character, it all felt like that sort of Futurama future.

Nice work.

drnick says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:25pm

The gambling machine mechanic was quite interesting.
One critique I have is, despite the fact that the bazooka/rocket launcher is the last weapon in the game, it actually sucks.

Krisjet says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Great little action game, reminds me a bit of the Vlambeer style of gameplay, although I'm not sure I like the idea that you have to start over each time you die.

Grindstorm says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Simple, awesome minigame! Why aren't you on Audio category? It sounds awesome.

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Quite amazingly polished. Cool slot machine mechanism.

01101101 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Solid game, very fun! I love the slot machine mechanic :)
Graphics and music are nice too, good work fellow binary guy!

Zayron says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:28pm

This was fun. Good job!

lekochen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 4:23am

Nice combination of action game and slot machine, excellent game feel.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Nice arena shooter, the graphics and music are great.
A little bit more variety with enemies/obstacles would have been nice.
I was really high in debt after dying stupidly to spikes twice, but thanks to a lucky streak I still managed to win.

Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Pssst - We featured your game in a special spotlight episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V18l0CR-GtM

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Great music, and this submission is a very impressive thing for 24 hours of work. It looks and plays great.

I definitely had a hard time with this until I fullscreen'd to switch away from the self-murdering rocket launcher, and having the win state of the game hinging on a virtual slot machine is a bit rough on the player. It's a very cool premise and works well for a jam, though! Everything feels great. Nice kickback on the weapons, for both the player movement and screen shake. Well done!

Dec 25, 2014 @ 11:48am

wow awesome entry, this is almost as good as the games made by vlambeer! I really loved the screen shakes and the different kind of weapons. Minigun being my favourite. On a side note you should consider changing the level design because if you stick to one of the corners with a minigun its almost impossible to lose the game. Overall great entry its a shame you didnt put music in your marking criteria, the soundtrack was great :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]