Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Little Dude's Epic Adventure

by Jim Haslett - Compo Entry

A Little Dude goes out for a walk, and has to find his way back home...


Controls are the arrow keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#116Audio3.50
#165Humor3.22
#173Mood3.43
#409Overall3.33
#563Innovation3.12
#574Fun3.07
#887Graphics2.58
#893Theme3.32

Comments

Carl Graves says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:51am

The narrator is a nice touch.

Valon says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:44pm

I agree nice touch with the narrator. The controls are good too everything is smooth.

madameberry says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:44pm

The narrator was pretty great.

Paperscraps says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:45pm

The narration was cool, haha. Simple game, but enjoyable.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:47pm

I like the narrator too!
The violin though, got quite annoying after a while...
I found this very cute :)

chaosed0 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:48pm

I love the random sawing at the violin in the background.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:49pm

This was, despite the seemingly annoying violin, a really sweet and beautiful game. The voice is very soothing and actually gives you a much better relation to the character. It's nice and all to know that the little dude is home safe, but I kind of wanted to continue his adventures. Great work!

Divitos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:40am

I like the narrator, and the controls feels precise, but you feel a little too sluggish when in-air.

stray says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:43am

really nice concept.
Goodjob dude

Jim Haslett says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Divitos, That is on purpose. You actually have no control while in the air, as you can't apply force to move right or left. The controls are based loosely on physics. The ground has friction, and you apply force (really just acceleration) based on that friction. Same for jumping and falling. There is force (acceleration again) of gravity and jumping force that counteract each other.

Newt_ says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Really liked the narrator! Also the movement animations looked very nice.

Yarek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:54pm

Love the narrator it really gives life to the game. It reminds me to the game Thomas was alone :)

ShadowStryker says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:00pm

I really liked the narration. It was an excellent game, and it's always nice to see a fellow LWJGL user! Only issue I had with it was that I was able to outrun the narrator's voice, starting the next sound-clip before the previous one had finished. Playing both at the same time.

That doesn't take away from the game at all in my opinion though. Great job!

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:01pm

Nice little game. Narrators are always cool in games and I liked it :)

flegmatical says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:59pm

As the others, I also think the narration was great. I thought the "little dude found a box, looks like a parachute" was hilarious, until I understood he actually found a parachute. Thought he didn't understand the concept of gifts at first :D

Jyrkface says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:17am

I agree with johnbrynte on everything. Great example of how aesthetics and feel can make a game much more than its mechanics :)

egos says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:03am

when the game transform in a real basic platformer the end comming
You focus on the narration so great job !!

lurumdurum says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:21pm

The narrator part was pretty cool, I like how it was done. The level changing mechanic was pretty cool as well, you could do some cool stuff with that. :)

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:23pm

liked how the graphics changed over time

Zettelkasten says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:38pm

The platforming feels very good and I really love how you implemented the theme! Good job!

christopf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Well, that was a fast one. Love this minimalistic style and you made me laugh a few times. Also how you break the expectations in me made feel good. Good job!
Oh the critic i nearly forgot: It could be longer of course and maybe more of a story? I feel you could do that easily and the setup also is inviting. Keep up that good work!

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Very nice little adventure there. Narrator rocks, there`s not much of them in games nowadays... Liked it!

christopf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Well, that was a fast one. Love this minimalistic style and you made me laugh a few times. Also how you break the expectations in me made feel good. Good job!
Oh the critic i nearly forgot: It could be longer of course and maybe more of a story? I feel you could do that easily and the setup also is inviting. Keep up that good work!

oh_andrej says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Charming little trip with Bastion-esque narration. Short and sweet. Just hope Little Dude didn't pay too much for that house, the location seems a bit inconvenient.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:20pm

1+ for the narrator ;D

Meral says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Cute thing. I had a little trouble with the controls, but maybe that's just me and platformers.

Good job!

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:49am

Very nice audio!

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:36pm

Nice little game here (: felt the deep side of the game, the narrator was great, Great work :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]