Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Tightrope Theatre

by AdventureIslands - Compo Entry

Welcome to the Tightrope Theatre! it's showtime and you are the main star, so hop on a unicycle and start performing! Watch out though: The unicycle is hard to control, and the stage keeps getting more and more various traps, err, props, the further in act you get! Tightrope Theatre is not responsible for death or dismemberment.

CONTROLS:
Arrow keys or WASD to move and jump
M mute music
Esc return to stage select.

You can use enter and esc to move in the menus without clicking buttons.

MISC:
For Ludum's theme, I went with a theatre setting for my game so it looks like the whole thing takes place on a single stage, with just props changing between curtain calls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#14Overall4.15
#14Graphics4.48
#17Fun4.05
#41Audio3.91
#66Mood3.71
#129Humor3.34
#421Innovation3.30
#937Theme3.26

Comments

mangoorange says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:45am

Well made! Love the mechanics!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:13am

Really fun game, looks really complete. Man that Unicycle is really hard to control.

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39am

Adding new physics and therefore game mechanics to the platform genre, refreshingly nice!

shyupuff says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39am

Great job. Super charming art. very smooth. Seems very complete. I was raging at the computer because that was super hard. But that was probably the desired effect. ARGH IT'S SOOO HARD!! Nice job! :D

alvarop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:40am

Impeccable presentation, charming character and amazing music. It reminded me of Aero the Acrobat.

estuardolh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:46am

so much art!
did you spent more time in art than coding ?

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:56am

Love the clean art. I admit I lit myself on fire several times just to watch the animation...

Rundrop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:07am

Very good, charming, neat art, love the way the unicycle moves! The only thing that could make it better is if the ropes had physics!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:30am

Love your game. Its a solid game, but it's very vanilla. Not a bad thing though. A good game is a good game. (I just like weird things)

cbear_wallis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:32am

I really enjoyed this a lot!!! Very fun mechanics and feel.

Newt_ says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:41am

LOVED IT! My favorite so far!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:57am

Wow! How could you possibly make this in 48 hours?!? You're a master video game designer!

P.S. I got through every level except the last. The unicycle is exceedingly hard to control on a pixel-perfect scale.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:49am

Art - awesome!
Music - Great!
Gameplay - Cool!

A lot of platformers around here have pretty rough and buggy physics, but this... so smooth and responsive. Great job!

Managore says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:17am

Yet another amazing game! :)

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:00am

Awesome game, amazing how many assets you made

Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:25pm

An other excellent entry!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Very well made classic platformer with some new elements. The 24 levels were very impressive and didn't feel like they were just mass produced, but they actually all had something unique to bring. The difficulty curve was not completely coherent for me, and there were a few times where I felt two levels should have changed places with each other to make it less jumpy (this is being harsh, because the game is very well made). The challenge of the difficulty curve takes on a new meaning when making 24 levels though, compared to just a handful. The additions to classic cookie cutter platformer in terms of the unicycle really works and adds an interesting element to the game. One of my good friends is a tightwire artist and my girlfriend used to be a spotlight operator, so the theme hit very close to home for me :)

mahu says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Beautiful graphics; simple gameplay; amazing music and sound effects; but i think it does not fit the theme =/
i mean, there are a lot of screens like level selection, initial menu and credits

duon44 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Wow this game is amazing! Very challenging too! (altough I did cheat on level 15)

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Hi there. Loads of content even just seeing early levels (I'm bad at platformers which 'keep moving' even with no control inputs... The theatrical presentation is nice, like the sounds and graphics too. Good job!

rantt says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Loved this game, played through all the levels, best I've played so far. I don't have any criticism. Amazing job :)

rabbeni says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:17pm

This was cool game. I enjoyed playing it :)
Good job

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Art and audio are really good, as expected from you, as well as the rest of the quality of this game. Maybe a bit generic but you managed to make it fun with all the props. Keep up the good work!

GFM says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Nice going with the theme. :)

Graphics are cute and the game felt polished!

But I'd have really liked if you had to keep moving, and fell when moving really slowly for a while.

LMT says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Really amazing game. Definitely spent the longest out of any LD entry on this by far. All I could ask for really in a 48h game. Maybe it could stick a bit closer to the theme though.

markusfisch says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Very very nice! I really like the idea and the circus music! That winning chords are really addictive :)

Very well done! Couldn't stop until I beat it.

qleonetti says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 8:54pm

I really enjoyed this one ! Good job !

bazld says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Brilliant little game! Good controls (well, its supposed to be tricky) and beautiful presentation. How you made this in the allotted time I will never know.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:09pm

I was very impressed by your previous entries and was not disappointed by this one. There are wild and wacky Ludum Dare games and there are polished ones, but rarely do the two meet so nicely.

My wife has attempted to play this game for her "Mum plays..." series: http://youtu.be/VKfIMzutXQ8

In fact she may still be playing it now.

ceosol says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:30pm

The graphics were great and it was a neat twist on a ordinary platformer. However, I thought it did not meet the theme. If it was "entire game in one scene" then I think you would have had an incredibly creative interpretation.

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:58pm

The game is great, and I guess it on theme, but I feel like its stretching it a little. But the game is very fun and enjoyable, and the graphics are amazing. I did feel that the learning curve was a little sharp, but other than that, probably the best game I've played!

ryguydavis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:57pm

I really really enjoyed this. Unicycle platforming is really a special idea, and you executed it brilliantly. This is just an all around great experience. Side note, I would speed up the curtain transition a bit (it was a bit tedious).

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:21am

I like it! Really good and fun gameplay but I'm not sure how it fits the theme completely. But it was a good game nonetheless!

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:11am

Woaw, this is an incredible entry! Arguably the best I've played so far (except on the theme interpretation). That music is PERFECT, totally fits the game, the graphics are amazing, the gameplay is challenging but rewarding, the pace of the game is excellent due to well thought level design... I can't imagine how this game doesn't end in the top 3 of the Compo results!

Nitpicking suggestion: add somewhere on the screen the number of the current level, so we can now how far from the game ending we are <= helpful fulfill an accomplishement feeling even more.

Somehow, Playing this game brings back fond SNES memories... :)

drludos says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:22am

Also, one "technical question" about the music: what tool did you use to convert the .mid created by cgMusic to get such a good rendering?

Frump says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:39am

This was nice to look at and a lot of fun. Your games are always really solid. Good Work

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:07am

Great work! The gameplay reminded me a lot of your Steam Rogue GB.

I used a theater/curtain effect too! (Yours was way better though haha).

acidave says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:32am

Beau-ti-ful! Quite challenging but not unfair. I liked the sluggish but predictable controls :) Sound and graphics are also really polished, well done!

Valandre says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:00am

Very pollish as usual. good mechanics, perfect graphics.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:52pm

A really well executed game. Good job!
The music was very fitting, the animations cute and the mechanics simple but effective.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Nice graphics and polished as always! :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Hey, people keep telling me my platformer physics is always to slippery. And then you come along and make a game out of it. Well played ;-)

Nice art and style, I like the burning animation. Nice shortcut in level 15 as well ;-)

Very good entry!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:32pm

man. super awesome game! last level beats me. I think this is one of the best games I played. Really well done!!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:19am

So well made as always. Well-done, soldier! Aren't you happy you did this?

recursor says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:27am

Nice graphics and and music. It is quite fun. I made it to Act 24 before I stopped. Very nice.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:55am

Very cute game! Difficulty was spot on, fantastic level design and graphics as per usual. It's insane how you made so many levels in 48 hours and they're all original and challenging. The music really reminded me of Roller Coaster Tycoon for whatever reason, I guess it's the carnival theme.

The only problem I felt was that the tight ropes felt incredibly rigid - it would have been really cool to have them sort of bend to the point of contact when you landed on them, but obviously that would be really hard to do in Stencyl and would kind of demand a custom engine. :P

One small bug: on level 15 I found you can easily win just by dropping right off the start rope. But really, that's the only thing I could find! Excellent work. :)

thopis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:02am

Great controls!Love the hero too!

Lynx says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:22am

I adore your sprite work! And somehow I just experience the feeling on tightrope balancing in a 2D game! What?!

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:39am

So good, as always!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:35am

really polished and well done! pretty much perfect. Though something i did find annoying was that the jump did not do its full height rarely, and one level can be entirely bypassed. Otherwise, well done!

Knighty says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:16am

Good work! It was pretty fun and I can't really see any flaws. The theme interpretation might be a bit iffy, though.

VLTRAUIOLET says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:51am

excellently well polished, dunno how you do that in 48 hours!

Trite Games says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Thanks for your comment :) But wow your game is sooo...I feel I used up all the positive words already on other entries, but you deserve them all. Brilliant interpretation, idea, realization, graphics, gameplay mechanics, sounds, this game has it all! So much fun. We will share it on Twitter. More people should play it :D

OpenGL says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Awesome game! I think it's will be top 5 in the end :)

t4u says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I hate when I'm forced to give high rating on pixel-art game. It's such a cheap trick that always works. Everything in this game is at least 4/5 as well.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Very polished game with nice controls and tons of fun to play! Getting through the stages was awesome because you never knew when the next stage would have a new mechanic to try out. The ramp up in learning was very well done and the platforming felt good.

A+++++, would play again :)

ruerob says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:51pm

The best game I played so far. Thank you for this masterpiece. So much different levels, so nice music, sound graphics and use of the theme. A true gem.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Congrats, this is a very cool, funny and hard to control game. Laugh about the burning animation. :-)
Very well made!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:06pm

really nice!

indie4fun says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Wow, it's impressive what you did in so little time. The game seems pretty polished, it has many levels, and with different challenges. The art is great, and love the idea of the light focus pointing to the end of the level -the end of the show for the character!-.
Congrats! Your game is really cool! :)

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:58pm

YES this is looking great gonna play it now!

Louisload says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:02am

beautiful polished game, nice level design, perfect graphics and perfect music, you are a master for doing this in such a short time!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:17am

Alright, very solid game! love the curtains opening and closing. It all feels so polished since every aspect of the game fits in the theme (the theatre theme) and needless to say, you're pixel art is crisp as always :) I kinda missed a climax though and I felt like not all stages' level design were as good. Although there is a lot of content (which is great for48h), maybe less stages with better thought out level design would've made it better. I've seen you do great level design so you could've ;) Also, it reminded me a lot of Penarium, Know it? Anyways cheers, great entry as usual!

Eduardo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:49am

I like the art style! The thematic (circus/theatre) is great and creative! The music fits the thematic, what's is great too!

It's a simple game, but creative e solid! Good job!

The game fits the theme? i don't know, i don't even know what who created that theme was thinking about exactly! We can interpret the LD31 theme in a lot of ways, to me the way you did it's a creative way!

xhunterko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:56am

Played this on Newgrounds. Could not get past the 3rd level I think cause of the closeness of an obstacle. However, this was VERY well done! Excellent job!

admix says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:21am

Nice and fine work! I love the graphics retro sounds =)

Hellequin says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Awesome game! I liked it a lot! Love the gameplay and the graphics! Really a good job!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Loved the mechanics of the game, simple! nice entry, love the art style too!

Domicuc says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:28pm

GOOD JOB! Really fun ! :) i like that! Also check my project if you have some time mate x) thanks.

HotBoxGames says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Great entry :)

DrGeraud says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:38pm

You did a really great job for this LD, as usual !

renatopp says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Another cool game, @AdventureIslands, I would love to see a streaming of you doing the next LD =)

Kuupu says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Loved the game, the controls are hard, but it is a good thing.
What I think you can do for a better experience, is balance the difficulty curve. Do a better progression, offer an opportunity to learn and master the controls before the real challenge :)

Good job <o/

kill0u says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Loved it! It's starting to be hard to complete the levels.. I don't even know how far the end is :(

gillenew says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:01pm

I played all levels, level design was very well made and the progressive difficulty too, amazing work :D

kill0u says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Oh wait, that was the last one! :D

Tuism says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Great game! Love the mechanics, it does feel like tightroping, except... yeah, it doesn't fit the theme! And the music is a bit grating - It's GOOD, just not for a long long time :)

But still damn solid! And so much stuff! WD!

Mase says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:23pm

You've balanced the difficulty very well while introducing enough new elements to keep things fresh. Nice.
I almost gave up at the last level but somehow my brain adapted.

Datamosh says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:23pm

AMAZING work. Your time management is impressive.

rogberth says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Great game, nothing bad to say about it. Great job to all of you =)

rayman1900 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Very well done game, especially with that many levels for a 48h compo ! First, I thought, just by looking at the pictures without playing the game, that you would have implement a "balance" kind of pendulum mechanic to your unicycle, but when I played I saw how much just that "slippery" physics was doing most of the job and I say this in a good way ;) If this going to release on iphone, I would gladly play it !

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:24pm

As always, you nailed it : )

ilokimo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Cute and very complete! Not just yet another platformer. Fits the theme, and I am never against another Circus game from Finland :D

Sublustris says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:54pm

For 48 hrs work it looks realy perfect! well done.

rottenmage says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:32pm

That was fun! I like the art too! The game is really polished. Great job!

whilefun says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Very well done! I think when the unicylclist falls, it would add a lot of "feel" to have a crowd boo or gasp in horror. Likewise, some cheering in addition to the win music would add a lot I think. One nitpick is I wish the restart level curtain transition was a tad quicker. I want to get back to retrying immediately :D Well done overall!

fil00dl says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 6:07pm

pretty platformer game with an interesting inertia component and a lot of content

Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Cool game, hard as f**k (and i'm also bad, that doesn't help). One of my favorite rated games, yet, with "First of Many" from Anniki.

elliottd says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:23pm

The awkward acceleration on the character fits the theme of the game well, wonderful degree of completion

rubna says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:38pm

very nice gfx and sounds/music! i disliked the floatiness of the controls at first, but when i got the hang of it really started to feel like i was balancing on a unicycle, with the tapping and all that! Still a tad too frustrating for me, but great job nonetheless!

BretHudson says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Congrats on the Newgrounds feature! This is more polished than games that have been worked on for a month. Really blown away by what you've got here, it's super great!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:44pm

How you made this much content in 48 hours is beyond me. Very polished game.

Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Great entry as always! Too hard for poor me, but I'm sure better gamers will have a blast with this. Nice music, but the sfx are a bit too... sfxr.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:57pm

bravo, great game :D

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Really love the tightrope mechanics and music! I had no idea it was procedural until I looked up CGMusic, I'll need to keep that in mind for future dares. I'd have liked if the ropes responded a little to the player, but I assume that's a stencyl limitation more than anything. Your game is full of character as always, and the difficulty curve is great for a game of this length. Keep up the good work! :D

GhostBomb says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Amazing. Normally I loathe games that used loose controls as a mechanic but I played this one to the very end and enjoyed it. I would occasionally encounter a bug where I wouldn't finish the level when I stood on the end platform.

cyrixd says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Very fun! The controls were excellent, I never felt cheated by death, despite the intentional sliding due to the unicycle. Really well done experience. If you're planning on continuing development, might I suggest a Rayman-style 'Oooo! Ahhh!' system for particularly tough jumps?

allanolivei says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:22am

I'm impressed ... The game is perfect ... Many levels ... and very well distributed the difficulty.

Otrora Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:24am

No very convince with the way you managed the theme. It seems like cheating :) but other than that, a solid entry. Classic AdventureIslands

monika says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:29am

Very cute. It's like every annoying platformer ice level but less annoying and with a better explanation than "ice".

DavidLv says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:35am

I like this game, perfect.

codeapparat says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:28am

Art and sound are great. The overall amount of quality, polish and content is absolutely astonishing for a compo entry. Some (high-level) criticism: I do suffer a bit of platformer-fatigue. It's probably the most common LD genre and it's getting a bit dusty. The tightrope idea is a nice twist, but impacts gameplay only slightly. Also that movement physics work very different on moving and static ropes is quite irritating. Finally, i get that the idea is that you look at the same stage the whole time while the scenes get set up behind the curtain, but i think it doesn't carry the theme too well. The levels still feel very disconnected from each other, the curtain just like a loading screen. Some connection between gameplay and theme would have been nice. But as i said, that's complaining on a high level, as this is certainly one of the most incredible compo entries.

MegaMasterX says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:38am

Great graphics! I struggled with a bit of the mechanics, but this was a REALLY fun entry.

hogtrick says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:26pm

Loved the playstyle. I think it's to hard though ^^" I liked the slippery of the controls, nice detail.

PixelCrust says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Challenging game, I like the graphics also. enjoyed playing it :)

gre says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:36pm

Great take on the theme. Awesome art and music.
The concept is incredible and all fits together nicely.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 3:09pm

This was fantastic, nice job!

Xaychru says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Brillant graphics and music as always! The game itself isn't very original but really fun to play! It wasn't too hard, though I died a few times because I thought the borders would stop the dude... ^^

BuzzJeux says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:34am

Great polished and pixelized game here ! perfectly match the theme and really fun to play, really good & amazing job as usual !

danidre14 says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:52am

This game is too hard! Thanks for making it though! :D

mrhill says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:16pm

funny game :D

Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:56pm

extremely polished, although not terribly unique or interesting. Everything felt very tight and responsive, though, and I'm hard pressed to find any serious flaws in this game.
One minor gripe I had, however, was that restarting a level felt like it took too long. A slight increase in the speed of the little curtain animation would certainly be a large improvement.

Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:32am

Great entry that feels really complete. Plenty of levels and the art and music work really well.

Saf says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:44pm

We have a winner here :)
Another beautiful and awesome game! shut up and take my ratings

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:38am

Outstanding game all around! Simple but quite fun, with excellent level design/progression, great audio and fantastic pixelart!
One of the best!

khahem says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 9:59am

Nice game, feels very complete and well polished.

"Sluggish" controls felt great and matched perfectly the theme of the game.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 10:13am

I don't know if the controls just happened to be that hard once you implemented it, or if you did that on purpose... but this is not how I was expecting a monocycle to work, and with those pixel-perfect collisions I felt like I was fighting with the avatar rather than controling it.
The levels were pretty well made, but I would have ordered them differently (especially the first few ones)
I gave up on level 19

JJEvil says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 3:15pm

A simple platformer, but charming, good looking & well done.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:48am

5 star Graphics and Overall! Awesome job! You got so much done in 48 hours, you must have not slept! This is one of my favorite games so far. Definitely top 100, maybe even top 50!

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 2:28am

That game is really great. Amazing work for three day. Congrats !

LegacyCrono says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:07pm

The graphics and music were a delight, I think you've nailed the presentation here! The controls are also super satisfying, but on the moving platforms it seems to get stuck a bit for some reason (I noticed this on level 16). The level design is pretty good, considering the simplicity of the mechanics.

I thought it was a bit too easy for me, none of the levels were much of a challenge. That being said, I wish there was some kind of measurement of how good you're doing (completion time, perhaps), to improve the replayability and make it more interesting.

It's not an innovative game. It's a tried and trusted formula which works very well and is fun to play. It's lacking something unique to make it stand out. Your previous games were also platformers and they're all very fun, but I'd like to see what you would come up with if you leave your comfort zone and tried something new. =)

Paisley Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Pretty fun little game. I like how the unicycle moves without you doing anything and how it is realistically difficult to control. One thing I might have done would be putting physics in for the ropes. Good job.

dunin says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 10:01pm

not original, but well packaged game!
good levels, good difficulty curve (the last level take me a while...). I love this horrible inertia...

zatyka says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 2:50am

This is a great example of taking a simple idea and making it look polished and professional. Excellent LD entry.

Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Pssst - You are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4QPQ6j3uiw8

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Most impressive entry i've seen so far. Gorgeous grahics, controls feel really tight and polished, and LOADS of content! Great work!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 5:09am

Iam not going to talk about art, because the guys already told you how cool they are.
the great thing about this game is the controls, because it really felt like balancing. once you loose balance its over, it feels like slipping.

I loved it, I would really love to play more levels. I made it to the end no problem.

I loved how the clown always facing one direction, that enhanced the feeling that you are actually trying to balance this thing.
not best use of theme in my opinion, but its not bad either.

I also liked how old school the game felt, thank god you did not ruin it by putting 3 stars and collectibles every level, it just wont go with the game. great work over all!

alyphen says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Really solid platformer physics - the unicycle really adds a new dimension to it. Some of the levels are really tricky. My only major gripe with this is, since you're dying so much, the curtain animation takes a little too long and you spend more time watching curtain transitions than you do playing once you get to a certain point. I'd really like to see this turned into something bigger though, perhaps have circuses in different towns and completing one moves you to a different town (with perhaps some UI changes to keep things interesting). Overall, very well polished, nice pixel art, nice music. Good entry.

Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Awesome game!

okkolobr says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 2:41pm

really complete and impressive for a 48h ! Love the graphism and music. Gameplay feels classic, but is good too.
Congratulations sir !

lexi says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:51pm

I loved the movement of the unicycle (after getting used to the controls)! I especially enjoyed the graphics as well.

mortus says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Great entry! I should learn to create games with less content and at least half that amount of completeness for jams.

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 6:34pm

A really solid and fun game with great graphics. The level design was good and how the introduction of new thing was good. The music was a good fit and it feels really polished. All I'm missing is some kind of sound when jumping.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:04pm

The game was really fun! I beat the whole thing.

I would have to agree with what a lot of people, to me it didn't really fit the theme. However I really enjoyed playing it! One comment is I wish the curtain would go a little faster, especially after dying, I just wanted to get up and play again! It's amazing how much art, sound and level design you got in for a compo entry! That is pretty outstanding. :)

Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:28pm

I played through all the levels and really enjoyed it. The visuals and music felt nice and fit well together and the controls are smooth. The connection to the theme is a bit weak and I wished it would be more clear that these screen borders have no collision... grrr ;D good job anyway!

Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Seems so simple yet perfectly executed, like a balancing act ! I love how the controls feels, the level design is excellent. Love the visuals and music too, I think I love everything about this game :D (restart feels a bit long when you die often).

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 1:04am

I won! The graphics were great, though I'll admit the gameplay was somewhat uninspired.

It's no biggie though, it did ramp up in challenge which is a great thing if you're a level designer, as it means you've done the right thing.

cxsquared says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 6:02am

Super hard and fun and the controls are perfect. I have no idea how you made such a polished game. Great freaking work.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:35pm

another awesome entry - your work is always spectacular

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Very nice entry. Trying to give really tough feedback as I know you are a real pro. :)

First of all, the good job with graphics. The levels get more difficult. The idea of the game (or how to win) is marvelously simple and well explained right in the beginning. Perfect amount of "tutorial" if you may. First level is also a great introducer.

My main ideas for improvement would be:
- collision accuracy. I wasnt totally sure where the hitcheck occurs. I could go under spikes without getting killed (head/hat touching em) but then hitting a barrel with a feet/wheel killed me.
- falling off the cliff: I felt that I should have not felt couple of time right from the edge (of final goal). I guess this again is a something that requires more testing, but I would have liked slightly wider collision area there. (so that I wouldnt fall off)
- the bike is pretty good, but not sure if i liked it. Of course unicycle is what unicycle is. Anyhow, it kind of didn't do exactly what I wanted it to do.

A good entry. Very well done. Amazing that you could do this all in just 48 hours.

ponk says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:52pm

Really good ! Awesome compo :) !

Erkberg says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Wow, that was really great. I really liked the interpretation of the theme, the controls and gameplay mechanics worked very well. Visuals and audio are very nice and the amount of levels is impressive. Amazing job overall!

ketzer says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 9:26pm

<b>Content is King!</b>
Loved Duke Dashington and love this one too. Its attention to detail, simplistic gameplay yet new mechanics every few levels(and alot more content than duke). Maybe a tad too easy and your social network buttons didnt work for me. Overall my Favorite LD31 so far.

Wertle says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:57pm

I really enjoyed this game - it was really frustrating, yet fun. I think you nailed the feeling of balancing on a unicycle (as someone who has never ridden a unicycle). I wish there was a litter more leniency on jumping near the edges of the platforms as I found myself falling off the platforms multiple times when I felt that the jump button just wasn't being registered. The graphics were very well done and the music was super thematic. The death sound was a little harsh, but other than that, nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]