Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Space Docking Sim 2014

by YM - Compo Entry

Use the rockets to align your ship with the space station docking port then gently bring your ship in and make a connection. There is a green marker on the gimbal, bring this to the top to align your ship's axis with the axis of the station (in Baby Difficulty, it is already perfectly aligned)

Use R to reset and T to change the difficulty, there are four settings:
>Baby (just thrust towards and you'll align perfectly)
>Standard (keep calm and you'll ace this too)
>2001 (match rotational axis then start spinning!)
>Interstellar (it's not impossible, it's necessary)


All these controls are with respect to the forwards view from your cockpit
W/S - Pitch Down/Up
A/D - Yaw Left/Right
Q/E - Roll Left/Right
I/K - Thrust Forwards/Backwards
J/L - Thrust Left/Right
Y/H - Thrust Up/Down
Left Shift (hold) - Use Main Engines
Space - Look Through Window
R - Reset Current Difficulty
T - Cycle Difficulty

(The standalone version likes to pop into fullscreen randomly, just press R and it should window again)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#106Innovation3.92
#116Graphics3.92
#145Mood3.48
#331Overall3.42
#542Theme3.61
#559Fun3.08
#677Humor2.33

Comments

Xenolupus says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:07am

It definitely does what it's supposed to, but it's very frustrating.

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:26am

Technically not on ONE screen, but neat idea nonetheless!

Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:28am

Exceedingly touchy, but I'm extremely impressed! Thanks for allowing me to spin out of control after I gave up.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:58am

Pretty fun, and amazingly frustrating lol. Good job!

Ian Morrison says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:03am

Very frustrating and the camera out the top of the spaceship is really disorienting, but I fully expect that's by design. An interesting depiction of a docking procedure nonetheless!

uvwar says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:10am

oh man I can't couple with anything beyond the first baby mode (maybe I'm not aligned right? I don't know). Very cool though, makes me wish I had a flightstick or something! Maybe a dual joystick contoller like a 360 gamepad might be interesting to try.

YM says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:13am

Thanks for playing guys. I'm sorry to say, none of you will be progressing to astronaut school this year, maybe next year?

Axial alignment is the key, if you're in the right position, but the ring is rotated a few degrees it wont lock.

Aevek says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:16am

A lot of fun. I would have like a little sound of your ships engines firing to give a little feedback. Also, it was really hard to judge which way I was drifting, which made "Interstellar" mode (even more) difficult. As a hardened KSP veteran I toughed it out, very satisfying. Also the orientation of the docking camera really confused me for some reason. I would also like to be more free to look around, since I got in a situation where I couldn't see the station because it was right between the two views so I kind of tapped spacebar to keep my eye on the station. Not ideal. But a lot of fun, a really good simulator. Really let me try out that insane maneuver from the movie, which I've been craving for a while now.

tppr2046 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:24am

Great simulation!!

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:10am

I'm a bit frustrated haha but the simulation is awesome, also the look and feel of the game, well done!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:39am

really nice and twitchy controls, I appreciate that :) tough to master and could benefit from a graphic showing the controls. But I really enjoyed it! Good work!

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Hi there. Really pretty hard game, second difficulty very tough I found. Not got the right stuff I guess... kudos to Bacon ;) Shame no sound, but I suppose that makes sense in space. Nice cockpit look and feel. Be nice to see an Oculus version of this... would suit it well if you could suss a control scheme or a way to align hands on kbd.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Wahhhhh i'll never be successful :D Nice Gameplay. Nice Art... Love it ^^ Soooo frustrating good ;)

Jupitron says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:04am

Amazing but really complex experience, ill try to beat it.

igoramendola says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:59am

Definitely, I won't be progressing to astronaut school this year. At least, I managed to connect in Baby mode hehehe
It's a nice concept and well executed.

NuSan says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:05pm

I love the concept but im realy bad at it. Maybe some HUD with alignment or a relative velocity display could make it easyer. I find realy weird that IJ and KL keys are not aligned with horizontal and vertical axis of the screen. Keep up the good work !

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:06am

I liked it a lot. First, I'm a fan of space simulator games and this one hits it hard. Second I'm also a fan of games that wanders outside the safe box of "sure formula" gameplay that 90% of people use. So wonderful idea, good execution. Some sound would upgrade this entry to another level as well as some polish in user interface. Good job!

Novodantis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 1:27pm

Love the concept and the challenge of it, but I feel the difficulty is more in the control than the gameplay. The docking ring appeared to be on the upper side of the ship, but the view seemed to be rotated 90 degrees which made it a lot harder somewhat arbitrarily. Despite the frustrations, its a cool concept. Love the Interstellar difficulty.

nesis says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Just (finally) played your game, and loved the compo version of it. It shows some good iteration during the jam!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:36pm

Pretty cool, nice job!

YM says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Thanks for all the continued comments guys :) I'm glad you're liking it.

DonovanWu says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 6:13am

I have tried to make a spacecraft docking simulation, too, but it was much simpler, and it was in 2D with simply scaling the sprite. Yours is much better than the one I made, and it looks more professional and realistic. Nice work!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Really hard, but interesting.

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:57am

Awesome work! Harder than expected, but anyway this is great to controll the spaceship

panda says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 6:08am

Awesome! I love it. The only problem is that when I press "R", I completely crashes my whole computer.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]