Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Subpixel

by Paul Sinnett - Compo Entry

This is a memory game (similar to Simon) using the subpixels of an LCD monitor. Watch the pattern and repeat by clicking with the mouse.

I was initially going to make a procedural maze game of some kind, but when I heard that Ralph Baer had died I decided to make this instead as a tribute.

This game was made in Scratch, with bitmap images for the sub pixels and glowing dot made in Inkscape. To see the source code, go to the web link and click on the blue See Inside button.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#99Theme4.12
#411Audio2.94
#579Graphics3.06
#699Fun2.94
#704Overall3.06
#2185Coolness20%

Comments

Gins says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:11am

Pretty cool idea! The different pitches for each color are very helpful to memorize the sequence, so you can/have to use two things: melody AND a graphical pattern at the same time. Really fun, good luck for the rest of the LD! This could have potential as a mobile app btw.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Hi. Nice game, but dam frustrating! Not unlike Simon game, loved that, so thank you for the memories. Shame that the pitch doesn't track left to right... found that confusingly un-piano-like, if that's a thing. Good job!

Paul Sinnett says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:11am

I've since found out that there was a make of screen that used a yellow sub-pixel in addition to the red, green, and blue. So that would have been even closer if I'd zoomed right in on one pixel.

It's surprising how hard it is. I think 5 is the best I've managed so far.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:25am

It's a pretty cool idea but kind of difficult simply because there are so many sub-pixels on the screen.

ianh says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:26am

Hey neat, a Scratch entry!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:26am

man, you really went all out with the theme, huh? You made an entire game out of just a few **pixels** of the screen. That's really cool, and extremely creative.

WiErD0 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:28am

Cool idea, I like how each of the different colors played different sounds. Also, complements on actually doing something useful with scratch. I think I basically reached the limit of what it can do by trying to make AI with it, and basically got about 3 FPS after that. I've heard that they have done some improvements lately, though, so maybe those make it fast enough to be usable.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:48am

Nice twist on the theme! Only downside is that it seems to generate the same pattern every time, which seems to be down to your deterministic random number generator. Custom sound effects may have also been a better fit for the game instead of using the note blocks (note blocks create really harsh sounds). Very cool nevertheless!

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:18am

so THAT'S scratch! I keep hearing people talk aboot it; first time really seeing it. Thanks for the tip on Sees Inside button!

Also Simon much harder with so many subpixels '>_>

digibody says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:39am

Nice idea. I like it, except the colors repeat too much, maybe a different landscape of colors and shapes would be 'easier' more fun to play.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Creative. Neat ++

FlashRocks says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Nice idea and well-executed.. just not really a Simon fan, haha :D

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:50pm

nice take on a Simon game, very challenging, well done

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:55am

Nice concept but no intuitiveness here

panda says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:56am

Great use of the theme! This is a fun little Simon game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]