Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Screemo Quest

by FrederickK - Compo Entry

I couldn't finished, the idea was that a villian stole some gems and you have to recover them!
As go trough the game, you'll have some interactions with the game screen, but I couldn't do all that I wanted. xD'

I hope you guys enjoy it as it is. x__x

Controls:
Arrow - Move
Button 1 - Sword Attack

Edits:
29/12 - Well, I tried to finished it, but still very incomplete, I wanted so much to add some features but maybe is time to give up. Things that I added:
- Better feedback of damage
- Hp HUD
- Levels, but not fully implemented
- More sprites
- Better Ocean
- You can talk to the NPC now
- Mug shot
- Better title logo and background
12/12 - Postcomp version added! Still not finished, but much more polished.

*Rate me using the normal version, I ask to play the post afterwards.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#305Graphics3.50
#451Humor2.63
#585Audio2.65
#610Innovation3.06
#674Mood2.81
#816Theme3.39
#877Overall2.89
#1005Fun2.50
#2025Coolness28%

Comments

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:56am

Can you actually do something in this game?

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:58am

I really enjoyed this. When I got to the green orb and the screen grew, I was super excited. I hope you keep working on this post-LD, because I would really like to see where it goes. (and what the guy by the house says.)

FrederickK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:04pm

@Absor
Yes, yes! I added controls in the description, also, you can kill the monsters doing 3 attacks on them.

FrederickK says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:20pm

@RainbowSexyFish
Working on it!

stigmawall says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:23pm

I was surprised with the end of the game, hahahahah.
Não é um jogo dificil de saber como se controla, mas meus dois cents é deixar o personagem mais rapido (tipo beeeem mais rápido) e não deixar ir tão longe os personagens quando tomam hit.

Alendro says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Keep working on it and don't be discouraged

Kaijuu says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:51am

Very simple game, but not bad. Liked the knockback effect after attacks and overall mood. Would be nice to see expanded story and HP counters.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:23pm

cute, clever use of the screen size, very original, too bad you didn't finish on time, but nice effort ;)

schnerble says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 5:14am

You've got the beginnings of a fun game there. I like the animations and the music - cool style :)

Budaniel says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 6:10am

Controls are kind of sluggish in my opinion. Fit the theme, but kind of bland.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 3:28pm

WOW! Not bad!

CMWeissMedia says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Very interesting game, it's too bad you weren't able to finish it.

maxmetallica says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:21am

nice game

mohammad says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:30am

Not bad, keep working on it and it could be an awesome game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]