Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Control

by xgeovanni - Compo Entry

"Control" is a minimalist strategy game the entirety of which takes place on only one screen.


Instructions:

The goal of this game is to secure control over the board. This is done by placing 'nodes' by clicking the mouse on a tile on the board.

Each node spreads influence to its adjacent tiles. These tiles thus have a chance each tick of coming under your control. They do not become nodes but 'influenced' tiles. Influnced tiles also spread a little influence.

You can place a node on any of your influenced tiles or in an empty tile adjacent to one. You can place your first node in any of the tiles highlighted in green.

You can place a node at any time, but every time you place a node so too will your opponent, who also wants to gain control. You are able to take enemy tiles by influencing them and placing nodes beside them, but more influence is required than when taking empty tiles. Enemy tiles can also influence your tiles.

When you control over 80% of the board you will win the game!

Strategy Tips:

In the early game you should attempt to cut off your opponent from their routes of expansion. Later on then you run out of empty tiles employ a "divide and conquer" strategy by driving through weak points in enemy controlled board with nodes.

Controls:

Click to place nodes
Spacebar: Pause/Unpause
M: Mute/Unmute

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#257Innovation3.57
#362Theme3.75
#500Overall3.25
#531Audio2.76
#636Fun3.00
#754Mood2.70
#1108Graphics2.12
#1500Coolness46%

Comments

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39am

I like this game! It definitely fits within the theme, and it's easy to see and the UI is nice. I also like the calm, cheerful mood to it. However, I think it's a bit slow (even on max setting) and easy to get bored of.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:44am

Neat. It feels like a realtime game of Go. I think the controls could use a bit more feed back. Like a sound for clicking too far from your influence and a sound for clicking in the right place.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:48am

Pretty good game, but the instructions existing as a popup outside of the game window is a bit of a pet-peeve of mine, even ignoring the theme.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Hi there. Interesting idea, influence and territory. While a bit like Go, it doesn't have the definite effect that moves there have - which I suppose makes it more accessible and less complicated, but less determined. Didn't get near endgame as it got a bit samey after a few minutes. The frontline seemed to turn into a WW1-style back/forth of death, rather than locking in place, which might be preferable.

harley77 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:02pm

I was doing good to keep 53% of the board. Interesting strategy game and relentless AI. Great job.

Aglavra says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:07pm

An interesting strategy game similar to go. Always wonder, how people could implement some enemy behaviour in 48 hours. Would be nice to have not only music, but also some sound effects for player actions and events.

Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Fun and clever, but on replay I noticed that the AI seems to only have one strategy (encircle and then stuff all its nodes in the left corners). Multiple AI personalities would definitely bring me back for more.

k8n says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Nice and addicyive game, but too many popups in the beginning

Javabot says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:58am

10/10 for effort.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Interesting idea! it'd be good for multiplayer!

Taldius says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Oh my god, my finger, it hurts so much!
It's a simple game but it really work.
Great job anyway, I really enjoyed playing it.

Natura-Time says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Very nice idea and execution, nice job !

Neil says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:38pm

I liked this! A pretty interesting concept, could be good to add an extra color as well!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 7:40am

Nice music and interesting idea, like a mix of Conway's Game of Life and Go.

The problem is that it's close to being a good game, but it comes across as SUPER frustrating. A couple of reasons for that:

1. The popups as someone else mentioned are bad, rather than ingame messages.

2. For a strategy game and/or action game, responsive user input is probably important...yet there is so much fast randomness, even on the slow setting, that you quite often can click somewhere and it's gone. Or the piece you just placed is gone.

3. Once 70% board control is reached and the remaining 30% is just solid blue, it seems to require either a trick or crazy tedious timing, and the randomness seems to favor the AI.

If the randomness didn't happen, and/or if it happened only when you clicked, I think this game could be a lot better. Having it running constantly just moves it into annoying territory.

tcarter says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:25am

Interesting game. Audio grated on me after a little while.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:50pm

I think this is highly innovative and a good idea. The game board might be just a little on the large side to start with, as I found it all too easy to get to a point where neither side was making progress. However, this is an excellent effort - good game.

oscarabraham says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 8:22am

Very addictive. I would love multiplayer. The music tired me after a while, because games can get really long, but I just muted it out.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]