Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Mazimon

by The-Force - Jam Entry

Mazimon was intended to be a mix between mazes and the game simon and resulted in a fast paced maze solving high scoring game.

I did wat I could LoL.

--------------------------------------------------------
Controls :
[Any key] to start the game or a continuing after beating a maze.
[A][W][S][D] or [<][^][v][>] to move.
[ESC] to exit the game, or exit seed edit mode.
[CTRL] to enter seed edit mode.
[Return](while seed edit mode) to use a seed.
[Space] to pause.
[Backspace] to restart the current maze.

How to play: You need to go from the start to de farthest end as fast as you can but without crashing or going into a dead end.
Each time you make a valid move a sound will be played for the direction you are moving, also the path up to 5 blocks ahead is lighted so you can walk fast.
When you fail a move you will restart at the last checkpoint. At the end you get a Score and pps(points per second).

After beating a level a new one is generated up to "infinity". You can see the level seed at the top of the screen. You can change the seed of the maze also by pressing ctrl, editing it and then pressing enter.

Note: The last screenshot is not realy how the game looks but to show the maze it generates. Wich could be used to cheat too ;)

Tools: Unity, bfxr.

PS: I just found Ralph H. Baer died two day ago so this game is dedicated to him for two obvious reasons.

************************************
YOU CAN KEEP PLAYING TO THE INFINITY
DON'T STOP AFTER BEATING THE SEED 0
CREATE YOUR OWN SEEDS (buggy sometimes?)
************************************

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#180Theme(Jam)3.92
#260Innovation(Jam)3.46
#393Overall(Jam)3.33
#423Fun(Jam)3.16
#476Audio(Jam)2.78
#547Mood(Jam)2.98
#687Humor(Jam)2.23
#688Graphics(Jam)2.86

Comments

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:29am

Web links want to download the html-page, not to open it. Windows build worked fine. Sounds fun when you go fast.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:29am

'Web' link leads to a download link, which downloads the unity web player but not the unity3d file.

egos says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:30am

good idea but the discover of new pieces his a little frustrating

The-Force says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:38am

Sorry, I uploaded the web version to another site and should be fine now

madhoe says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:45am

PS: Use a coroutine when generating the maze so that it doesn't hang the game for that short period of time

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Hi there. Interesting idea. Nice to see fog of war/ gradual reveal. Found the maze walking itself a bit frustrating, need to be able to go back to solve a maze, so fading to prevent that causes restarts.

The-Force says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:45pm

I added visibility 5 blocks ahead so you can walk faster.Also changed de entry from compo to jam just for that.

@mrexcessive the way to go back is failing by hitting a wall or a dead end.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:15am

Interesting challenge, and noble tribute. Nice work.

spitfire87 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:26pm

169pps :)
Really liked this game. The idea is simple but original and the executions is perfec. The FoG & Maze fusion was really great.
Also it was a very moody game, It really feels like playing Simon again :_)
Good job srslly.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:58pm

I win! Nice game and nice idea. Well done!

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:58pm

I won! Nice game and nice idea. Well done!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:03pm

I enjoyed that:)

Larzan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Wow, well done, so simple but great audio concept and i couldn't stop till i made it, good game!

Spilim says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Excellent game! The idea worked really well, thank god you made checkpoints because they are really necessary haha, really enjoyed it.

d3garcia says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Excellent game, I love the idea and it was amazing when I finished the level, took me by surprise when everythign was revealed, I love the audio but I think graphics have a oppportunity.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:28pm

I like mazes.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:38am

I really enjoyed this game! The concept is so simple, but it works really well with the theme, and the audio adds a lot to the experience!

mybluecorners says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:39am

This was cool, and I usually hate mazes! I like how you can go as fast as you want at risk of crashing into the walls.

floorman says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:40pm

I could play this game all day long.

Please put this on Android so I can play it on my phone?

5k0d says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:45pm

the fog of war is funny, maybe you should be able to move backwards lol :)

spirulence says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:45pm

The perfect small LD game idea, executed well. Great fun!

rantt says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 7:47pm

I kept trying to rush and kept crashing into walls...lol. Took me a little while to beat it. Fun game, I enjoyed it, good job :)

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Nice game. Very interesting option to play with. I think with some background music would be better. Great one entry. Congratulations ;)

Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Interesting for sure :)

PoQA Games says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:19pm

I had a lot of fun in this game. I was confused by the sfx indicating a checkpoint. It would be cool to have the sounds spell out a song :)

Awesome job, I was getting spooked out weirdly enough!

01rafael says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Looks great! I'm not sure that I've dig in gameplay. But anyway it was fun!

jmborden says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:32am

You combined fog of war, a maze finder and a Simon to make a surprisingly addictive game Being able to quickly restart from a checkpoint made this game hard to put down. I liked how simple audio and visual feedback gave me a sense of how well I was doing; if I heard the save point audio I knew I was on the right track. Addictive puzzle game!

ynots says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:27pm

nice..

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]