Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Batz

by recursor - Compo Entry

Due to scheduling conflicts, I was unable to participate until Sunday afternoon, so I threw this together in about 6 hours. I wanted to keep my successful entry streak alive.

Write your score in the comments below!

Instructions:
Eat all bugs and avoid other bats.
Other bats can be destroyed by diving on top of them.
To eat a bug, touch it with your head (wings don't count).
Venturing offscreen will kill you.

Scoring:
Score more points by flying faster when eating a bug.
Eat a bug while diving gives a 2x multiplier.
Killing a bat gets you the same as above +10pts.

Controls:
Left Mouse = Flap Wings
Right Mouse = Dive

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#451Humor2.63
#576Innovation3.10
#673Audio2.50
#845Fun2.78
#860Overall2.90
#920Mood2.50
#957Theme3.23
#1025Graphics2.33

Comments

Absor says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:25am

Damn bugs are hard to catch! Nice sounds. :D

tyty5949 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:28am

Pretty well done game it it was only completed in 6 hours. The bugs tend to fly off the screen and then not come back for about a minute. But other than that good game. I ended up with a measly 196.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Hi there. Grats on entering! The graphics are a bit small and found the aiming frustrating. The fly mechanics work well. The fly sounds... sound a bit like you shouldn't listen too closely...

Tipyx says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:16pm

*cham* *chu* *cham* *chu* *cham* *chu* :p
Good job o/

Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Not bad, perhaps the graphics could be bigger so aiming would be easier. Sometimes the bugs like to go outside screen and not show up in a while. The flying mechanic was pretty interesting.

Thermite says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 10:18pm

Nice job, especially for 6 hours work!

Nobuyoshi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:35am

Good job, but it should be easier to catch the bugs.

FlashRocks says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:35am

Very well done :), and quite fun, too! If the controls were a bit easier (a keyboard option might've been nice), I probably would have played for quite a bit of time :) The "off screen kills you" really reinforces the theme, and it was a very good game mechanic.

frenzyasii says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:36am

Cool! :)

kburkhart84 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:38am

It was interesting, good concept for a casual/mobile game. The bugs were hard to catch though.

FerraWare says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:09am

Nice movement mechanics, but the game is really hard! Some bigger hitboxes, and the bugs not being able to fly off-screen would provide a much rewarding experience. Nice sounds!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:50pm

way too hard to play on a laptop, haha, but a cool idea and well done.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Flying is fun!
I would like to see the dropping being a bit more extreme, you can hardly notice you are dropping.

Nice job!

MaesK says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Nice controls! Being a bat is hard, but I liked it! Maybe a first easier round to learn the controls would have been nice, before letting bugs go wild and move randomly. Great work

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:30am

Those're some crafty bugs!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:31am

Controls are a bit slippery. Wish I could just stop at the top edge of the screen - annoying how flying too high kills me.

Murchurl says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:34am

Nice job as you only did it in 6 hours! I like the simple controls, Audio is pretty standard. At one point i considered wether the bats flappy sound was saying fuck you haha! overall, nice job for the timeframe you made it in!

bushmango says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:11am

Thanks for commenting on my game, Four Seasons!

Great sound effects ^.^ This is really well put-together, especially for the amount of time you put in. It's like a great version of balloon hunter. Maybe an easy version with bigger collision circles? Also the bugs would tease me by flying off the screen! Love it.

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:40am

It was frustrating at first, but once I got the hang of it, it was pretty fun. The mouse controls were a nice touch, even though it took a while to get a feel for how to use them.

trykondev says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:05am

Super impressive for only 6 hours of work :) Way to dig in and make something instead of just giving up.

vinull says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:42am

Okay, I can honestly say I've never played a game with this control scheme! I got the hang of it pretty quickly but still died a lot because I had to go for multipliers!

Demy says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:48am

Nice audio and controls

DarkEngineer says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Nice job, good game

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 8:44pm

I love the gameplay - but its unfair that the bugs can go off the screen and not you :(

asobitech says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:33pm

I hate those pink bats. Dive bomb the lot of them :D

IcyLava says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:48pm

It can be quite frustrating at times :/

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 10:14pm

It's simple and I like it.

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 23, 2014 @ 5:57pm

It was very fun and hard (FOR ME), im a bad player xD i only scored 40 :( Great work :D

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 5:51am

Feel like a little bat xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]