Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Atticus VII

by Deconstructeam - Jam Entry

[NOTICE: THE EMBEDED BROWSER GAME IS THE POSTCOMPO VERSION]
[IF YOU WANT TO PLAY THE ORIGINAL LD SUBMITTED ONE, DOWNLOAD THE WINDOWS VERSION AT THE BOTTOM OF THE DESCRIPTION]

There’s been a mysterious murder inside ATTICUS VII, a module transportation spaceship.

Only five people remain inside the silent corridors, knowing that any of them could be the killer.

You play as CAIN (Cruiser Artificial Intelligence Network), a vigilant and apparently powerless observer that was rebooted just after the crime.

Your duties as the ship’s AI require you to maintain its integrity and schedule the tripulation’s tasks while they focus on fulfilling their vital mission.

Will you give priority to solve the murder, to fulfill the mission efficiently, to alter the tripulation’s lifes, or to learn more about yourself?

Will your actions benefit the humankind? Will you do what you are told? Or would you rather become a murderous AI?

Choose your own path and explore the game’s multiple different endings.

Controls:

- Mouse only –

Click on a room to see the options available.

Choose the tripulation’s location every day using the Schedule architect during the night.

Place someone alone in the Command Center to interview him and ask him about what you discover.

Place people in a room to prevent that room from deteriorating that day.

Figure out the rest.





CREDITS

Oddly Shaped Deconstruguers team:

Jorge Plaza "TaLoco?" (Gods Will Be Watching) – Pixel Art

Jordi De Paco "Greyshock" (Gods Will Be Watching) – Game Design, Coding & Story

Kevin Cerdà "truguers" (Nihilumbra) – Game Design, Story & Writing

Marina González (Gods Will Be Watching) – Pixel Art

Pablo Ruiz "Fingerspit" (Gods Will Be Watching) - Music

Renaud Despinois “Oddly Shaped Pixels” (Super Rocket Shootout) – Game Design & Coding

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#12Overall(Jam)4.19
#25Mood(Jam)4.15
#27Audio(Jam)4.07
#77Graphics(Jam)4.30
#112Fun(Jam)3.69
#127Innovation(Jam)3.72
#192Theme(Jam)3.90
#245Humor(Jam)3.15

Comments

trenchgames says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:12am

Cool game guys! Great job with the presentation.

Azlen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:14am

Do you have any mac builds? I really want to play this game

Trixton says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:21am

I detached the module with all the people in it and then I depleted the oxygen in the control room. Cool game.

kburkhart84 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 3:24am

This is different.

I got to ETA 2 days. I thought I killed off the people by depleting the oxygen, but then it wouldn't let me advance the game so I don't know.

GreyShock says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:38am

Thank you for playing! We'll be adding a browser version if able soon.

Yarek says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Nice game! It looks nice and the idea is great :) Good job!

You can try mine if you want:

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=22486

MechanicMoon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 1:39pm

Interesting story, cool graphics, and you can kill everybody detaching modules without reason... nice ;-)

Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:50pm

This is amazing, seriously. I haven't reached any good ending, yet. And I say yet because it's made me go back and try again a handful of times already. And I'll probably go back again for that extended post-compo version. I just want to solve that damn mystery! :D

Now, the sticky business: I had it crash to desktop starting a day that I was sending Nikram to interrogate. And there was a confusing bug where in some conversation the dialogs where switched, I think it was between Graham and Franklin?

Anyway, you guys are good! Makes me kinda feel bad when I think most of the things I come up with are basically just silly games :P

Keep up the good work!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:36pm

Pretty cool game. I'd add a confirmation menu to let the player know what happens when you detach a module with sombedoy in(like the one you get when you accuse somebody of murder).

I really liked the idea of getting a piece of narrative or another based on my actions, that was great.

Well done!

thopis says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:02am

Beautiful atmosphere and graphics of course!Music fits perfectly too.Great work!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:25am

Me ha costado un rato encontrar cómo cerrar el juego, un botón de salir no habría venido mal (o que se cerrase al pulsar escape).

Con respecto a los gráficos, los personajes dentro de la nave están especialmente bien. Los cuadros de diálogo fuera obligan a retirar la mirada y se hace un poco raro mirar lejos de donde están los personajes hablando.

El audio es escaso pero establece bien el ambiente del juego.

Es increíble la cantidad de contenido que habéis conseguido en tan poco tiempo. Tendré que dedicarle más tiempo para ver los distintos finales.

hypnoticbytes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Love this game as I loved Gods Will Be Watching. Good work guys!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:24pm

I think this is the best game I've played from the Jam!
Great Music, Great Concept and amazing story. I still don't know if it does have a really good ending (I only got bad ones). Great work! Well done!

Dec 10, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Day 1:
Jettisoned the embryo lab, killing everyone on it. Watched it drift slowly into space sadly clicking on it hoping it would return. It didn't.

10/10 would fail the human race again

blzkz says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Nice graphics as always, fun and different! Cool :)

Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:04pm

very polished and well presented, but also extremely unclear. I couldn't figure out what the little mail icon next to any of the character's portraits meant, the requirements for any given action on the ship are never defined, and I have no idea what benefit comes from fixing a module, nor do I know what causes a module to break.
I'm afraid that this game was just a bit too confusing to really be engaging, but I do believe that there's something pretty nifty down there if you take the time to explain it a bit more carefully.

Daid says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:09pm

The mail icon means the person can make a log (put the person solo in the comms room)

The rooms break down every day if there is no person in it. (except for the sleeping room)

I played this a lot. And while I think I know how the story is intended, I couldn't get to the good ending...
(I know who did it, but I cannot seem to give the proper answer to the "why" question)

There are a few bugs that I noticed as well. (Some talk options disappear after certain events) And there is an funny thing if you put the proper 2 people in the comms room.

After a bunch of re-tries the long intro put me off.

lapskaus says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:18pm

My favorite so far! Game design at its finest. I love how it doesn't stick to any popular "formula" but does things in its own way! I'm definitly going to play this again and try to beat it :)

andreaswitzen says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 10:13pm

One of my absolute favorite entries so far, if not the favorite. I love that the game mechanics isn't obvious, though it's a little bit tough that I have to play the whole game over again because of a failed murder accusation (but this is to be expected of a game jam-game I suppose). I also love the graphics and audio and the mood they create together with the dialouge and backstory.

Surprising that this gave has relatively few comments, are you working on a post jam-version instead of rating other entries?

NicePenguins says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Once again, you guys did an astonishing job :o

This kind of puzzle with a strong atmosphere (like GWBW or Ages or Irving) is totally awesome to play ! I loved the story, the music and all the atmosphere in general. Best entry I've seen so far, congratulations :) !

Dec 18, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Muy buen trabajo maestros.

Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:42pm

chilling, this is really well done for a game jam! really polished and stunning story line. absolutely loved this entry!

Simon says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 12:46pm

This is absolutely fabulous. I loved it :)

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:07pm

This is a very engaging game. Thank you.

Dec 19, 2014 @ 1:39pm

The graphics and art style are great, a fantastic entry.

Krisjet says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Great job! I especially enjoyed the music, very FTL-esque, and the plot, which was very intriguing. It seemed like it would be interesting to have some more stuff to juggle at the same time, most of the time I didn't use all the actions on my turn. Will be playing this one until I solve it I think :)

CoolChesire says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Awesome dudes, i like how the people are really aggressive :)
-Esciron

Mabi says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 7:35pm

I think i made a mistake at the very end, this was a very unsatisfying experience... Amazing game though!

pht59x says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Not the type of game I particularly enjoy. But this one has some nice features.... The music is great!

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Great job as expected. Loved your GWBW and now this. Awesome game for be done in three days. The music fits perfectly and all the screenplay looks amazing. Very solid work. Congratulations :D

gallerdude says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Really awesome and well thought out!

Tonasz says ...
Dec 20, 2014 @ 3:39pm

I'm after first play through (there will other, I'm sure of it), I found out who was ally and I'm really happy I got choice there. And a game alone... is superior and my favorite in this LD :) When I run it I said to myself "hmm it's like God Will Be Watching, I loved it <3" and then noticed you are the same guys who did it! Great job!

ScorpyX says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 4:00am

tried all the endings and everything that could possibly be
Amazing story trip - Thank you guys

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:24am

You rated our game playing the postmortem version? LOL

runvs says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Very nice Entry! Really love the music and the storytelling!

okkolobr says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Very interesting game ! Gonna replay it because.. I NEED TO KNOW !

Florent says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Really excellent !

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:38pm

5/5 Top quality! And with replay value.

Dec 22, 2014 @ 9:03am

The dialogs are great !

erik says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 9:18am

This is a very cool experience, and you did a wonderful job with creating mood through the visuals, audio, and narrative. My only complaint is that the time limit means that you need to play over and over again to make any progress and achieve a good ending. I actually wonder if I found all of the endings, or if there are still more options that could be uncovered.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:07pm

One of my favourite entries so far, great job !

Dec 24, 2014 @ 10:50am

I really loved this game. There aren't enough smart who did it games out there.

Pepelumen says ...
Dec 25, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Great art, great music, great story and great gameplay. Congratulations!
I want to retry it until I get to know the result of the mission. A "skip intro" option would help that :P

Dec 26, 2014 @ 6:37am

One of the best looking games I've played this LD, love the visuals and atmosphere. Impressed at how much depth you've included and just wish things were just a bit clearer with the actions and consequences.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Really cool! I'll have to play this again (and again, and...)

Dec 28, 2014 @ 12:41am

Amazing work once again. Only flaw I see is that it wasn't really clear you had to "explain" who the murderer is. After a few days it seemed pretty certain who it was, so I called in the meeting, but apparently I hadn't collected enough information yet which seemed a little random. Anyway, great experience in all regards, audio and visuals are top notch, the atmosphere is great, the gameplay is fresh yet familiar. Really enjoyed playing this. :)

GarethIW says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 10:14pm

nicely done and well put together.

Lane says ...
Jan 15, 2015 @ 12:45pm

This is pretty awesome guys. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]