Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

CoinSlot

by SuperDisk - Jam Entry

NOTE: Read the description. This game has a special feature that you might overlook. Everything SHOULD be in working order server-side, but if it breaks or the website is down, please email me at yux50000@hotmail.com! Enjoy the game!

CoinSlot! This game is about what REALLY happens to coins once you put them into a vending/arcade/etc machine.

It's just a Rube Goldberg-esque pipe building game, or so it would seem.

In the game, you build a pipe contraption that carries coins from both entrances to both exits, with no real restrictions. Just be as creative as possible.

Once you've completed your invention, hit the submit button to upload your device to the database, where it will be compiled and linked with the others, and added to the giant machine at the top of this page!

View fullscreen site at http://beam.to/coinslot/

Read the readme.rtf for more info.

We originally had many more wacky parts planned, but due to time constraints we only got a few in. Perhaps we'll release a post-LD version :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#62Innovation(Jam)3.94
#304Humor(Jam)2.98
#364Audio(Jam)3.08
#397Fun(Jam)3.19
#453Theme(Jam)3.60
#458Overall(Jam)3.25
#576Mood(Jam)2.94
#738Graphics(Jam)2.74

Comments

Pestel Crew says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Interesting concept. Kind of a puzzle or constructor) Liked it! But somehow my system hands up when I close your app. Maybe it's just me :/

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Gah, I'm sorry you played it in its broken state. I'll get it working properly here soon and all will be well.

sorlok says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:19am

Really clever idea; I like how everything comes together! Too bad the server is laggy though. Anyway, a very fun idea, and well done overall!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:44am

I've downloaded the game, because the page doesn't seem to respond when the game's about to load. I am using Google Chrome.

The game was smooth, it works well. I found the fun from putting different parts together then releasing a coin. I feel like a kid but good job :D

Although, some graphics of this game are similar to this game (not spamming but try to compare it though, I just remembered from the graphics :D):
http://www.cartoonnetwork.com/games/eds/candymachine/

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 1:52am

I think I fixed the "page not responding" bug. It was from some laggy javascript code. Doh!

@sorlok I saw your addition! That was the first field test of the upload mechanic. Good to know it works.

@Roan Contreras
That game was a huge inspiration in the creation of this. Funny that you remember it too :)

udo says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 2:59am

It just says "LOADING" for me.

Croze says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:06am

Easily the most innovative idea in the jam I've seen so far. Incredibly well done!!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:07am

Very unique! Would be somewhat underwhelming on its own, but being able to upload my creation and see it mixed in with others is pretty cool.

Did you take the music from somewhere? It sounds really familiar. Either way, I dig it (and the cymbal crash when two coins intersect is perfect)!

Robber says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:40am

dude..this rulezzz!

Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:36am

I really enjoyed this, and will likely go back to play more later. :)

The idea of a socially-constructed Goldberg machine is absolutely awesome. I love the simplistic, early-90's pixelated art style, with the different pipes and effects. I found myself really sitting and trying to create an elaborate series of pipes. I did, indeed, have a great time with it! :)

I'd love to see this on a larger scale (with a better server!), more/different types of pipes, with a larger area to work with and more entry/exit points. Really well done! :D

el-pepi says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:38am

The idea is great! I hope you get a better server and get a huge machine!

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:33am

This reminds me of The Incredible Machine. It's not super replayable, but I love the idea of creating a massive machine out of everybody's screens. Great job!

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:38pm

I wasn't going to give this 5 starts, but the big machine...! damn you got all my 5.
I liked every thing about the game, nice music, it really fits, I liked the opening,reminded me of old school PC games.


the only thing I noticed is that some parts does absolutely nothing (correct me If Iam wrong), I think you can make some parts make more score than others, add some gameplay to it, makes the players try Engineering the machine.
or if you dont want it to be the game-play-ye type.you should just make awesome parts like the TV.

epic job.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:41pm

Alright, slowness still abounds in download time but at least I don't think it'll crash anymore! Javascript blows!

Anti says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:20pm

This is really great. Such a cool idea.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Really good fun. I'd love to see a post-LD version of this as more of an Incredible Machine-type puzzler.

The social element of this is really awesome. I could watch that all day.

Hunter X says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Okay, this is a fun concept to play around with (I actually had a similar idea myself a while back, albeit with programming and input/output signals rather than moving coins). The music got a bit repetitive and there isn't much replayability in the range of components available, but I could easily see this being expanded into something far more sophisticated than it already is.

Couple of bugs/notifications, when I tried to load the global viewer on Firefox it didn't seem to operate (got the music but no video) so you might want to make a note about compatibility on the game page; and when I submitted my section the image included on the TV was corrupted slightly (the black border of the image became pink) even though it appeared fine in the client. The source image was a 168x157 PNG with no transparent areas if that helps with debugging.

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 8:50pm

Hunter X: Yes, firefox is the only browser that doesn't support this, since the game transmits images as giant PNG "filmstrips" that have a hight that commonly is in the hundreds of thousands of pixels. It does this because uploading individually takes 20 times longer to do, reinitiating an FTP transfer every time. Incidentally, much of the lag upon starting the viewer doesn't come from download time, but splitting the strips into individual frames. Alas, what can you do?

Thank you muchly for the detailed information!

Anachron says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:40am

Totally zany! Neat :)

DarkCart says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:39am

Clever, clever. Good job!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:53am

Are you crazy or just insane? This is an awesome idea! I love it to pieces, well done! :)

P.S. Don't be hating on javascript just because you're doing some crazy stuff that was never meant to be done. You could have done some better lazy loading ;D

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Wow! I couldn't get images in the TVs to work, but this is really cool.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Nice looking machine, and good music!

TehSkull says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:55am

Uggghghhhhhhh I wish it had told me BEFORE I waited 5 minutes for it to load that it doesn't open in Firefox. Proper review coming, but I gotta say something while I'm thinking of it.

Gigawicket says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:04am

Very fun game. And amazing to see the huge machine. Had some issues with freezing, but maybe that's on my end. Great job!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:02am

A pretty interesting toy!

Boberro says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 11:28am

Great idea. Though I had to adblock embed page, because it used to crash my whole system :)

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Great toy and music is very matching and really creates the mood in connection with Machine=)

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Haha very creative game, love that each game together is one big game! 5 in innovation!

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Nice game! I had some fun with this, but uploading my machine took almost 10 minutes, and my entire computer was frozen for that time. Not sure if it's just me and my crappy internet tho. It was a lot of fun though!

wademcgillis says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Couldn't play, game stuck at LOADING (1/21)

lxd1 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 5:20am

Fun

alyphen says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 12:28pm

When it works, it works well. It's really cool to see all the coins flying everywhere. The music is good, but for some reason I could only get music working in browser in Firefox, and images working in Chromium.
The builder application itself runs fine under wine including submission.
A very innovative non-game, nice to see and quite refreshing.

Tifu says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 10:10pm

This unfortunately crashed my PC, I had to turn the power off :S
I think it was the webplayer, rather than the game (I had this page running in the background while I played) as it is currently trying to load on this page and making my typing incredibly slow... the global machine also wouldn't work in Chrome. So I can't see the full picture :(

Nice idea, would probably be pretty challenging if the synchroniser was removed, though I guess you were going more for an interesting communal creation experience over challenge :P
Maybe upload a video of the global machine after the competition so I can see the whole thing? :D

L0N3 W0LF says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Wow the concept is awesome, great work :D

Gins says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 10:53am

Pretty amazing idea, the entire game is indeed on one screen if you count the global machine, that's something I haven't seen yet in this LD. Well done!

Madball says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

I think it's the most original game I've seen so far! There are some issues, though. The test music is too loud comparing to the edit music. The test music doesn't loop in the editor, and in the global machine, it's looped very poorly.
And how is global machine supposed to work? It only shows one random level each time, but loads all of them.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Really cool idea, though the execution is lacking on some ends. Uploading and downlading takes quite some time. That could have been solved more efficient, but I know it's Ludum Dare, so I'll let that one pass. (Also closing the client freezes the computer for some time?!)

The TV part and the synchronizer are a really smart idea. Liked playing with those.

Also the web viewer is lagging like hell with chrome.
And on firefox the global machine just shows 3 machine-parts, that are repeated forever vertically...

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Sorry. It's broken in Firefox, because it can't handle huge PNGs. My error detection code for this was to just say "Firefox not supported" when it failed to load all of the images, but apparently someone uploaded a few machines that were small enough to be loaded by Firefox, thereby thwarting my errorchecking and messing it up even further.

Madball: Try it in chrome instead of firefox if you're having that issue.

Klianc09: Yeah it's laggy and horrible, but I tried.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]