Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Lord Wars

by berkano - Compo Entry

Battle for the tiny mountain-ringed land of Traqelqure against Lord Bain and the Melontines. 2D top-down RTS

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#322Theme3.79
#393Mood3.12
#420Humor2.70
#422Audio2.93
#601Innovation3.07
#621Fun3.03
#657Overall3.10
#750Graphics2.77
#1550Coolness45%

Comments

Spacemyname says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:53am

Sounds were a tad loud, also I still can't wrap my head around how exactly the game is supposed to be played.

GameQuester says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:54pm

I liked this game a lot and it was quite challeging for me. It would be nice if there were the possibility to select more than one unit but maybe thats the real challenge behind it.

pirate-rob says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:54pm

This game is awesome.

Eponesh says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Greate concept!

ainokaisa says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Quite good. I like the responses :) Battles just feel a bit random and are quite fast. Maybe health par would have helped.

sharpcoder says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Cool idea!

Myyyvothrr says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Really cool, love the art style! Feels a little bit too hectic to me.

Skipi says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:00pm

I like the idea, and it seems like a fun little strategy game. It's unclear how battles are resolved, though, and controlling units seems a little tedious.

Then again, for being done in 48 hours it's quite good!

johnbrynte says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:32pm

I'm agreeing with @ainokaisa that the battling is not perfectly clear even if fighting in itself is very straight forward. Controlling multiple characters in some way would have been nice. Good work and really funny sound effects! :)

TheNewPhoenix says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:29pm

I have no idea what the purpose of the game is. And the other players were to overpowered.

ripatti says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Interesting strategic game. It's easy to defeat one opponent, but I couldn't to defeat both of them. Respect for the misic and sound effects!

grid96 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Really nice game mechanic and graphics.

Night says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Nice a simple strategy. I would like to have multiplayer and mobile version)

DaRaziel says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Really well done strategy game! Although battles are random the game itself is pretty good. Nicely done within the short amount of time!

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 5:35am

Impressive game for the jam, but it is frustrating to have to click each knight individually. Have you played Close Castle? Feels like it could be close to that game. I liked the sound effect of the little knights :)

efux says ...
Dec 28, 2014 @ 2:08pm

The soundeffects are pure gold =D Some more instructions would have been nice. I don't get how the winner of a battle is choosed. But I LOVE IT =D

ShadowTzu says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 12:45am

Nice game :) it's a good idea rotating water tiles to give the impression of movement!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]