Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Center of the Sun

by Cyros - Compo Entry

Play as a pink ball in this abstract game. Collect, Shoot and avoid incoming balls to earn points and a high score!

So I finished a bit early. I tried to not stress myself out by keeping everything simple. If you guys could play it and let me know what you think that would be awesome! If you really like it maybe give me a good rating on GameJolt :). Thank you for reading and even more to those who played it!


Building For Linux (or at least Ubuntu):
sudo apt-get install python pygame
git clone http://github.com/jedStevens/center-of-the-sun.git
python center-of-the-sun/main.py

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#330Fun3.33
#409Overall3.33
#557Theme3.60
#589Graphics3.04
#612Audio2.60
#620Mood2.87
#628Innovation3.04
#1695Coolness40%

Comments

JNyknn says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Nice game. You should make a post-compo version with more special effects.

Skills641 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:03pm

can't run program

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:14pm

alright game but i feel like there are a ton of these kinds of games submitted. not your fault but WHATEVS.

Grehg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:14pm

Really simple but it did the job. I had trouble remembering the colors after the tutorial page, but it was intuitive enough to figure out quickly. I like the minimalism and the sound.

rabbit says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:14pm

alright game but i feel like there are a ton of these kinds of games submitted. not your fault but WHATEVS.

AndresGames says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Holly cow I liked this game a lot! You should do a mobile version as this feels like a perfect game for mobile. Really loved the gameplay. Really hard but fun.

sausagroll says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Nice game, I like the blurring effect and the sound effects.

skeeto says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Solid, complete game. It's probably the most fun game I've seen so far. The core ternary game mechanic is really solid, each type of ball being fundamentally different. Managing the incoming balls makes it play a little like Guitar Hero or DDR. I also liked the motion blur and the sound effects.

The one thing I didn't like was the controls. CCW:CW::left:right makes sense when the control ball is on top, but it's inverted when the ball is underneath. I can't think of a better control scheme at the moment (outside of a gamepad thumb stick), but I bet it can be better than this.

Small suggestion: make the collect and shoot colors stand more apart. Pink and purple are pretty close together, visually.

nofxboy1234 says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Nice work.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Nice game, good feedback on when you do wrong and when you do right. A few little tips and things: There seemed to be a bug in my game where, 10 seconds before the timer ended, the game actually 'ended' - as in that the sounds for end-game sounded and the last 10 seconds, while I could technically play, no 'enemies' came anymore.
Secondly, I had a score of 48, which, while I thought it'd be quite reasonable, didn't even get into the highscore table.

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Hi score: 167. It's surprising how much of a difference that motion-blur effect makes - it makes the whole game feel much more polished.

I'd have liked some sort of "Level 2" message or something similar when the balls started curving, though. I had a brief moment of "Wait, what just happened? Did I die, then my spacebar-mashing skipped the menu and started a new game?" - something a little less abrupt would have made things a bit clearer for me.

Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:36pm

When I first saw your game, it didn't look that fun, but when I tried it, I was surprised with how fun it was! I feel like you could do a lot of cool things with this idea.

ohsqueezy says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 11:29pm

I played this many times. It is fun and challenging.

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:08am

I like the three colors mechanic. None of the balls is good or bad per se: you can gain or lose a point if you take the wrong action for any of them. I would have liked a bit tighter controls. I felt like it took so long to change directions I didn't have any hope of making some of the more closely-timed incoming balls.

6DownStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Simple, but elegantly so! Quite a bit of fun, and the motion trails really help the minimalistic style. Great font too!

Dec 24, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Cool idea, I liked the colour-coded twist on the standard shooter mechanic. I feel like the controls need a little tightening up, but it's designed nicely and the visual feedback is pretty good too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]