Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Thief of Insulo

by Cake&Code - Jam Entry

Thief of Insulo is a very simplistic puzzle game in which you try and lead the thief to the treasure. You only get a certain amount of steps to complete each level as well as a few resources you can plop down.

Can you steal all of the treasures and become the richest thief in Insulo?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#187Fun(Jam)3.49
#266Overall(Jam)3.49
#382Mood(Jam)3.20
#484Innovation(Jam)3.06
#556Graphics(Jam)3.15
#748Theme(Jam)3.25

Comments

Kate Kligman says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:54am

This is a clever game. I like the expression on the thief's face. Took a slight bit of trial and error to get the hang of where the thief will go.

friken says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 2:54am

Cool puzzle game!

devshawn says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:25am

I like this puzzle game! I had a lot of fun -- nice job.

Indieindio says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:26am

nice !

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-31/?action=preview&uid=46736 check out our game

MiniBobbo says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:34am

I thought the puzzle progression was really god and how each element was introduced in a way that taught you how it worked before you were asked to do it in the game. I can see how creating levels would be difficult though.

Tortoise says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:35am

Cool game, I enjoyed the puzzles but took some trial and error to figure out what does what.

Resonious says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:37am

Pretty engaging puzzle mechanics!

Wertle says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:34pm

Nice job, I don't see too many puzzle games that do they lay-out-then-execute approach. I thought your ramp-up was nicely paced and I liked how every time you introduced a new element that it was set up so I could just run it immediately to see what that new thing did. If you want to polish it up further, aside from sound effects, something that might be nice would be some feedback for which tile I was mousing over before I placed something, just so I don't accidentally misclick. Also, individual undo or click-to-remove would be nice on levels with lots of placed elements. Nice job!

nine baobabs says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:09am

"I'm not an ambiturner! I can't turn left.."

Fun game, the difficulty progression is pro: it works well to teach the mechanics while being just challenging enough.

shyupuff says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 2:55am

Clever, fun, nice art. Also, digging the background colors. This background music doesn't get really annoying when looped which is nice (: Mechanics were quite intuitive and I enjoyed how it teaches you step by step and never gets super difficult. Nice! :D

Dec 10, 2014 @ 3:39am

I love incredible machine-type games, this is great you guys!!!!!! I love love love you big time C&C The art and level design are, as usual, amazing. I liked the music lots too. I'm still humming it <3

Dec 10, 2014 @ 11:42am

Nicely done game. Simple but stylish art style and easy to learn gameplay that introduces new elements well. Very solid title.

hogtrick says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Pretty nice game! One of the bests I played so far. Awesome work

orion_black says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Really good design, the different elements definitely give rise to interesting interactions. I was expecting a devilishly crafted last level but it was good none the less. Definitely build upon it.

KickBack says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Nice puzzler! The mechanics are solid.

I didn't really like the steps restriction. There could have been alternate solutions to some of the puzzles, but the steps limitation forces only one solution to be the correct one.

Maybe steps could have been used for some sort of score mechanic instead.

But I'm nitpicking, good job overall.

Demy says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Cute game with nice graphics

ZNCatlaw says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Very nice! Cute, fun mechanic, and a nice look.

I wish you hadn't spent so much time setting up all the instructions: the last level was the only real puzzle level, the rest were tutorials. I think you should try shortening the tutorial.

pht59x says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Rythm is somewhat (too) slow. Music is okay. Sound effects would be a plus.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Solid entry, nice job!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Cool puzzle game ! I did not understand how to remove blocks...

Code White says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Good job! It's pretty fun once you get the hang of it!

Dec 12, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Woo! I'm filthy rich! I'd suggest putting an animation on the step counter when it ticks away or have it change colors as you get close. I wasn't aware it was important at first (and likewise wasn't sure what the puddles were doing). Really solid game design. If you decide to work on it some more, I'd also suggest giving more pieces to work with than necessary so there can be an additional challenge of trying to find the optimal solution. Thanks for sharing the game.

bukt says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:04am

Nice TIM :)

abdurrahmankh says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:22pm

puzzles are really good. I wish you had the ability to edit instead of restarting each time. (also editing before pressing start)
over all good fun!

SuperDisk says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:30am

Definitely one of the better games of the Jam. I love a good puzzle. Unfortunately as soon as I started to get into it, it ended :(

Good stuff!

MrShoestore says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 4:30pm

solid game. i liked the mood of everything and the puzzles, though the step limit made it difficult at times

maybeimelias says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 4:14am

Great puzzle game with a nice progression. Nice music to go along with it too. With some more polish this game could go a long way. Great job.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Nice game! Worked well on my touch-screen pc.

Kinda reminds me a little of that game w/ the pipes...

01rafael says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 11:21pm

I can't solve 2nd level puzzle. But anyway great job!

fierysquirrel says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 1:43am

Great game, very clever! consider porting it to mobile :D

TriSquare says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 2:11am

No download links :(, shame, seems that every on else in this thread had fun with your game

rojo says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:17am

I thought the puzzle design was pretty good! You did a great job of showing what each tile did as well. I think if you had time to code it in some sound effects would be the icing on the cake (har har). Also saving the state of the placeable objects between attempts would have been a welcome feature. Nice work!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 4:13am

I like the idea of this game a lot! It reminds me of the incredible machine. I liked how as it got later you started to learn what the different things did to the thief. When the level re-started I would get confused as to why it didn't work sometimes. Overall though good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]