Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

PhotoBound

by PIXEL^3 - Jam Entry

You are a tourist who on a mission to take a picture of a rare bird, the Hippogriphastopholes. Unfortunately you are stuck on a single screen. If only you could use your camera like one of those camera's in those video games you play. Life's tough for a single screen tourist.

CONTROLS:

Arrow Key: Move/jump
Spacebar: Pick up/drop objects
R: To reset the level

CREDITS:

Programming: Jellonator
Art: AlucardX60
Music: MKSTAR26

Edit(few minutes after deadline): Holy hotfix, Batman! Fixed window displaying wrong title, fixed boxes not colliding sometimes.
Edit2(next day): Fixed the camera glitching through platforms. No idea what happened, just that it's fixed.

Other notes:
-you can edit the levels in /Levels/ if you install the Tiled level editor. See what you can come up with.
-MILDLY IMPORTANT: Since it's not immediately obvious, I'll give you a hint for the tall room with the bunch of spikes: wait until the platform comes down to grab the crate.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#14Innovation(Jam)4.23
#31Overall(Jam)4.04
#104Audio(Jam)3.71
#113Fun(Jam)3.68
#127Mood(Jam)3.65
#191Graphics(Jam)3.90
#192Theme(Jam)3.90
#515Humor(Jam)2.58

Comments

sharp911 says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 4:42am

Great game. I like the controls and the gameplay. Very nice concept.

Sharky says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:10am

The game gets stuck shortly after the bird runs off at the start of the 2nd map

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:13am

Awesome innovation, I love the concept. Great graphics too, and nice music. Good job!

mmoustafa says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 6:18am

Haha! This is such a clever game idea! I wanted to try something similar but didn't really come up with anything this clever. I took me a few seconds to get what was happening, when I re-read your description and realized the "camera" was THE game camera!

The puzzles were all very neat as well. The idea that the bottom of the circle is a ground that you can walk on wasn't very intuitive at first but it's a very powerful puzzle tool.

It was slightly frustrating in some levels, but it made me keep want to play to beat the puzzles, which is a good sign!

sorlok says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:40am

Talk about a game with an "a-ha!" moment! I really enjoyed being all confused at the beginning, but then figuring out what the "entire game on one screen" meant in this context. Great idea! Also, pretty solid platformer, but boxes should "snap" into position is possible (too easy to stack boxes slightly off and wiggle up them). Excellent game!

Louisload says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 7:48am

Nice game, very good graphics and music.
The concept is fun, and I love the bird!

Pcholt says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:01am

Oh that's nice, very nice. The game mechanic is excellent, never seen that before.

mokesmoe says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:01am

A few levels in, in a level that had the camera off to the left and there where a bunch of spikes, the camera kept glitching off of the platform and I couldn't progress in the level

Vulture Tamer says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:30am

very nice interpretation of the theme, good puzzles and nice mood/music

Manderxan says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:29am

Very nice! Great concept. I usually don't play puzzle games much but this was fun. I like the overall style.
I didn't run into any game breaking bugs, but throwing a crate on the camera made it glitch into the ground, but it popped right back up after removing the crate.

Odefus says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 5:16pm

That is a very clever mechanic that makes good use of the theme. Game looks and sounds nice. Solid game all around. Great job.

ketura says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Interesting mechanic of moving the camera with the character. Feels frustrating when you don't see how to solve the puzzle.

Sandcrawler says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:19am

Great work, very entertaining to play. It took me about 20 minutes to complete all of the levels, but I did it.

Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:14am

Lovely game. Nice take on the theme. Decent art and really nice music :)

ssheep says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:15am

this game was actually really fun and the idea was great i would have never thought of it also the audio fit the mood well with the graphics. all in all a great game.

Bloxri says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:39am

Overall, good entry. The puzzle platformer genre has been overused quite a bit so its sort of hard to maintain players to keep coming back. Without a tutorial, the game was very easy to understand after the second level. I do not like the movement mechanics. Jumping sounds really bothered me after awhile from jumping and the background music got bothering at times too. I didn't find any real humor to it but that might of been what you were aiming for. The graphics don't need to be high quality on games like these so a don't let a lower graphics score affect you. Overall good entry. Fun but no replay value.

BtheDestroyer says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 5:42am

Really interesting concept

EquipeJAM says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Good Work ^^

Mekuri says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Very nice idea. A nice interpretation of the theme.
Decent controls, and nice graphics! Good job!

rvmook says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 9:01am

Nice concept, the controls were a little harsh at times.(mainly the jump and dying from throwing a box on your head). Puzzles and level design was good

loopinlouie says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:17am

very cool concept. I like that you actually did something with the theme instead of just made the game on one screen. Good vibe with the art and music. The puzzles are also well thought out with that game mechanic, like walking over the spikes with the screen's bottom edge was slick.

AMS says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Awesome game, clever mechanic and gorgeous graphics, well done guys!

Murchurl says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:31pm

This game is quite interesting once you understand the concept. I thought it was a brilliant idea and followed the theme quite nicely. Gameplay was nice and smooth, felt like one of those games where you could take your time and relax. Both art and music was amazing. Overall great entry really loved the concept for the theme!

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 10:51pm

Fantastic level design, the music was beautiful - a perfect fit. Tileset was spot on! The character was a little weird, but then again who am I to judge, everyone in my game is a snowman. :P By far the best puzzle game I've played in any ludum dare.

SolomaZ says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Get photographed you elusive little hippo-bird!

nesis says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:07am

Lovely music and graphics, pixel art is hard to nail well in a short time, you've done well in that respect. Loved the mechanic of the screen following the camera rather than the player - personally I'm a fan of being abstract with the theme, so this one really worked well for me. Level design was very polished, though the second last level had some timing that was a bit tight, where I kept hitting the spikes as the camera moved. Well done!

JayCee23 says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:11pm

That was pretty clever. You're somoene who used the theme to your advantage, rather than let it restrict you.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Really good interpretation of the theme. One of the few game that implement theme well! Congrats, you made a cool game!

alvarop says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Very interesting entry. As I said on the stream, it needs some tweaks and polishing here and there, mostly for the graphics, level design and gameplay. Even with some of the kinks, I enjoyed it.

Backterria says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 12:23am

Great controls,smart gameplay and awesome music!What else do you need?

Dec 13, 2014 @ 7:29am

I really like the idea of the mechanic with the screen being maintained by the camera positioning, but I wish I had a better idea as to how to implement it in a few initial, simple situations (preferably on the same level) before being thrown into larger, more dangerous situations. I feel like this is a mechanic that would get really good reception, and open to all levels of player ability, if it's introduced with a bit more intuitive instruction.

For the most part, when I got to the end of the level, I felt more frustrated and mentally exhausted than fulfilled, as I'd spent most of the level working through how the core conditions functioned instead of using initially-learned knowledge to have fun playing around with the levels.

The pixel art was good, and the music was well done. The little bird was VERY cute and a good motivator to get to the end of the level. :)

Mach60KAS says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Awesome game, great job! The music really reminded me of Link's Awakening, and the camera mechanic was very well thought-out. The art was done very nicely as well, fantastic work folks! Keep up the great work! :)

VLTRAUIOLET says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 3:12pm

tricky & well designed puzzles; and a lovely ending :D

there were a couple levels which felt like they couldve been split into 2 levels instead of 1, just because restarting was quite painful, but other than that, a very thoughtfully designed & executed game :D

el-pepi says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Very good game! I liked the concept and the mechanics. Very well executed. Amazing graphics and good sound.

Managore says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 1:51am

Easily one of the best takes on the theme I've seen so far. There are some incredibly well made puzzles that are even more impressive when you realize the game only uses a few mechanics but explores them all very well. I had a lot of fun with this game!

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 3:04am

Awesome game all around. :D

TehSkull says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 5:09am

W O W! I cannot even begin! Wow!

A gift for you from MrTorb, consider it an award for a good game: http://puu.sh/dtRHm/22469f158c.png

Pulsartronic says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 9:56am

really nice puzzles, i like this kind of games :D ... it works very well on linux, i had to update some dependencies and it worked ... what a great idea to use the window as ground, jojo ... it took me a while to figure it out :D

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Lovely pixel art and music.
Great puzzle game.

Found a way to jump with grey box more the 4 box high. (Mario jump)
Everything was then to easy. Need to replay it with out using the "Mario jump". :-)

Very well made! Thanks for playing our game on twitch.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 14, 2014 @ 12:23pm

It's a game for speedrunners!! :-)

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:46am

I have to say first and foremost great puzzle design. The mechanics were both intuitive and innovative, which is a very difficult task to achieve. The music was soothing and set the tone of the game very well, that being a game which delights you by defying your expectations. The way the difficult ramps up is very well managed, it never took me took long to figure out the solutions to the puzzles, but I still felt like they constantly challenged me. I was a little taken aback by the sudden precision jumping requirements because I don't think the jumping mechanics were the strength of this game. I think if you have more pure jumping puzzle parts, that didn't include the more cerebral logic puzzle element, instead of having them at the same time, it would be better because I was very anxious about losing my progress half way through the puzzles. I was very impressed that you managed to fit a platformer with scrolling levels so well into this theme. Excellent job! And I just want to re-iterate how well the levels were designed. Thanks for making this game!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 9:23am

This is brilliant. I would love to have a game like this on a handheld. :3

Kain.Oborin says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 10:09am

I really liked your take on the theme, the level design later on may need a little bit of improvement, but the movement/ character control, the concept that the camera is not locked to the player but the player is locked to the camera is actually a really nice touch. I may not have beaten the game this time around, but I definitely plan to tackle it again in the future.
Thanks for the great game, and I hope to see more of your work.

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:26am

Hi, we were chatting at streams today=)
I didnt first realised the theme with tourist (Yeah, should read the description) but it is great interpretation of the experience of photographer=)
The levels are interesting and the idea with camera and screen is very clever indeed.

Stending says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 11:43am

Awesome interpretation of the theme!
One of the best entry in my opinion! ;)

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:44pm

I can see how the theme gave you the idea for the camera mechanic, and it's a very clever thing to do, though it sort of drifts away from the theme in the end.

The mechanic itself is quite fun, and level design is better than other entries in that it teaches the mechanics quite efficiently. If only it might be too easy.

The music was a bit off, as it didn't loop very well.

It is an overall good entry, very much centered around a clever mechanic, good job!

Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:04am

Good concept, good music and overall a very fun game to play :)

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 1:15am

Reminds me a bit of Fez. Wonderful puzzle game, and challenging to boot. I loved it!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Really clever use of the theme and also challenging but not too hard puzzles.
I often got crushed by a crate that I threw myself, that seemed somehow illogical and annoying.

Lynx says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:41am

This a fully polished game with a great concept that almost does the Portal effect where it's a weird mechanic to wrap your head around, but when you do, it's simply amazing and eye-opening.

Kind of wish you could pickup the camera from above, as you can sometimes get it stuck in corners easily, but that's a minor issue I guess.

Overall this a perfect example of a clever innovation to a massively overused and abused genre of 2d pixel-art platformer. I can honestly call this the next Braid style indie game!

Can't wait to see where you take this post-Jam!

gana0 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 1:58pm

I really love the mechanic of having the camera be an essential element to the puzzles. This idea is a great game mechanic that works really well. I loved everything about this game. It was challenging, yet simple and required experimentation to solve the puzzles.

My only gripe is that I was not able to get past the level with a ton of spikes while the camera was rising on the floating platform. My character would die while he was rising for no apparent reason. I did not hit the, but he would still die while the ground beneath him rose, making getting to the top impossible. I'm not sure if this was intentional to have the character die like this, but it was not very obvious how to NOT die and solve the puzzle.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Dec 24, 2014 @ 3:37pm

@gana0
No, the random dying is a weird bug that affects a small ammount of players. No idea what causes it. Probably some kind of floating point thing, but I don't know. Repeatedly jumping helps, but it's not a fix. I wasn't able to reproduce the bug myself, but I have seen people stream it and get the bug. We are creating a post-compo version which should fix everything.

Dec 24, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Pssst - You are featured on todays Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pE047h0Gqx0

Wertle says ...
Dec 26, 2014 @ 4:25pm

I really love all the different types of gameplay you were able to get out of this mechanic (puzzley stuff, twitchy platforming stuff, etc.). Super clever and there were lots of moments that made me feel really smart. Two nitpicky pieces of feedback: it'd be nice if the crates stood out more palette-wise from the rest of the environment. Also, the states of the bridge (on/off) were easy to see when the transition happened, but when I came upon one sometimes I didn't realize if it was on or off right away. Those are pretty minor, though. I had some trouble in the level where you had to run around and avoid the spikes while the camera went up, i kept dying but didn't think I was touching any spikes so was a little confused. Well done!

Maxw3ll says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 3:05am

Very good, novel mechanic. Well done guys!

XTremEive says ...
Dec 27, 2014 @ 3:07am

I have yet to beat it, but it's really, really, really cool so far! Nice job!

Dec 27, 2014 @ 10:41am

Nice visuals and level design !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]