Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

Resize

by crhallberg - Compo Entry

EDIT: Thank you all for playing! I've been told the embed player doesn't work quite right, so I disabled it. Hit F11 after the link for best results.

Will start reviewing everyone back soon! It's been a busy week!

---

Explore a mysterious building! Watch out for holes! The screen is your companion!

A game idea from way back in the day. Iterated on with forward game design.

I recommend Chrome for this one. Tested Chrome, IE10, and FF and the performed in that order.

Wanted to use a real window for this, but the performance was awful. Had to start from scratch 12 hours in!

That being said, I've never been prouder of a finished game!
That being said, give it to me straight!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2356Coolness0%

Comments

mahalis says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:21am

Neat idea! I got stuck pretty early on (couldn't figure out what to do with the pink thing), but what I was able to get through was clever.

noahm says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

Cool concept, if a little frustrating to actually play. Collected 5/6 coins, but couldn't get the gate in the lower left to open a second time. Once I found the second, lower sliding panel.

crhallberg says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 12:01pm

mahalis: The pink thing attached to the pink ring?
noahm: I can agree with that, sounds like you got stuck at the hardest part.

Thank you guys for playing!

oh_cripes says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Great concept. Kind of awkward to play though, dragging the window around.

mrexcessive says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Hi there. Interesting idea. Couldn't find a way across the hole at right hand side just under the large grey arrow pointing down. Shame no sound.

yongcamu says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 12:16am

Damn son, that's one sexy piece! Using so little to create something to fun, mad respect. Also, well done on the stylish color scheme. So much fun.

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Really cool idea. I feel like it would benefit from being more zoomed out though, and having a fullscreen mode due to the nature of the mechanic, as resizing and moving the window was a bit too awkward at times. But overall, I like it!

tudd says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Original and fun game ! Final boss was really interesting, although a little confusing at first. I thought it was funny that I could resize away the spike wall :)

Note - the pink things don't work properly in the embedded player, make sure to click WEB and make it FULLSCREEN.

haloflooder says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 12:27am

Funny that we have the same concept. The only difference is that this one doesn't resize on it's own and you have to move it manually which made it harder to play. And dickbutt.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 1:44am

It taked me a little time before I get the point, but very nice concept ! I eventually kill the boss, after understanding how to do (and some red screens ^^).
Good job, well done !

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]