Ludum Dare 31 — December 5th-8th, 2014 — Theme: Entire Game on One Screen

Back to Browse Entries

That Dangerous Bridge

by Shackhal - Compo Entry

=================
Introduction
=================

That Dangerous Bridge is a endless high-score game where you grab barrels of vine/beer/candies (whatever you want xD) and take it to your fortress. Sounds simple, right? It would be only if that haunted bridge wasn't there. It has taken countless lifes and is the only way to go to that abandoned, but endless fortune.

Would you like to take the challenge?

=================
In-game Controls:
=================

Left / Right: Move Left / Move Right
X: Jump
Enter: Pause

=================
Credits:
=================


This game was made for the Ludum Dare #31 with the theme "Entire Game on One Screen".

Thanks to my family, because I wasn't at home all weekend and my friends who give me support and a place to jam in peace.

And thanks to you for play my game :)

Leave some comments. I will gladly read it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#51Fun3.83
#153Overall3.67
#189Theme3.94
#198Graphics3.72
#237Audio3.24
#248Humor3.00
#296Innovation3.51
#322Mood3.21

Comments

Quarterflip says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:13am

Loved the simplicity of the game, as well as the artstyle. (The idle animations were particularly awesome!)

Interface says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 3:26am

Overall great fun, love it. Audio fits well with the graphics and sets the right mood. Those meteors or fireballs or whatever are tricksy!
What if the bridge would wobble for a nightmare mode?

flatgub says ...
Dec 8, 2014 @ 7:54pm

This is awesome! The controls feel really nice and the graphics are cute. My highest score is 6... >_<

Alendro says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Nice. I like it.

Wayward says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Nice game, nothing new, but well executed!

Sh1rogane says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 8:41pm

I like it! Got very good graphics with a nice art style and good responsive controls.

Felladrin says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Very nice game! Appreciated the challenge!

Dec 9, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Solid entry, nice minimal art style, good controls, good gameplay.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Nice fun little game. In web version, screen could be larger.

Shackhal says ...
Dec 9, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Thanks everyone for the comments! I'm glad that you like the game!

I would love to add some more challenge variations, but the time was there as always. I hope to add some more on the future xD

gladers says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 12:49am

Hi Shackhal, thanks for your comment. I've fixed a few of the bugs you mentioned. Please feel free to replay :)

Deranes says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 1:13am

Nice simple game. Love the animation of the barrel being carried. Cool that it has its own collision volume, so that a saw sometimes cut the barrel down while leaving the player alive.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 10, 2014 @ 6:57pm

very good game! My haste to deliver the cargo cost me multiple lives :p

I would like to see this game in great detail with tons of stuff added.

xhunterko says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:10am

Nicely done! Running felt a little iffy at times but not so much so as the speed was necessary. Good idea!

rabbit says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 5:27am

Super fun! I like this a lot and I hope you put it on phones.

drludos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Nice concept, simple to play but very hard to master! Maybe you should add a jump button to make the game less challenging? ;)

drludos says ...
Dec 11, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Sorry about the jump button, next time I'll read the manual :p
It's indeed way easier when you can jump :)

cabezotta says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 2:56am

Nice! pretty simple but fun! Great art and music!

VDZ says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Solid, simple game. Not much to say about it.

The only thing that negatively stood out to me was the audio; the music gets very repetitive, and the sounds are kind of grating. Less harsh and/or more varied sound effects would have made it more pleasant.

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Fun enjoyable game.

GoudaGames says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Very simple, great artstyle.

VDZ says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:27pm

By the way, my best score was 8.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:53pm

It's just such a nice and simple game! The random placement does seem a bit weird sometimes.

Dec 12, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Very solid pixel art style. Punchy music. Simple and clear UI. Pause button is greatly appreciated. Nice sound effects. Good variety of traps. Item bob while jumping is a nice touch.

Music was a bit loud. Pausing removes the bridge and player. X for jump is an odd choice, spacebar may have been better suited. Picking up items could have used a sound effect so it's clear when you can turn around.

I'd recommend expanding this if you have the chance, it's definitely something I'd play on my phone.

VDZ says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:20am

@KudukuForgiveUs
Strongly disagree with the X/spacebar remark. Maybe spacebar in addition to X, but if spacebar were the only jump button I'd seriously complain.

Shackhal says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 2:46am

@KudukuForgiveUs
Thanks for check my game. I'm glad you like it.

The pause screen failure only occurs on the web version. I must check a solution about that.

Also I prefer using the "X" button, because for 2 things:

1. The "X" button is a bit more further to the arrows keys and more close to your initial position of your arm, so it a bit more comfortable to the user.
2. It's more personal. Sometimes the space button cause some bugs with the control. It happened with a game I made before. I don't know why.

About the rest, I will check it.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 13, 2014 @ 11:01pm

5 star innovation and theme! Great graphics and music as well. This game was very original, it was so simple yet so fun. Awesome job!

Dec 14, 2014 @ 2:46am

The art is great. Loved the falling animation when getting hit. The simple concept worked well with the theme, nice entry.

Avant-Marde says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Challenging. Never got far enough to see whether there were any more obstacles than saws and fireballs, but at least there were a couple of variations on those saws. Music did get a little annoying, but it wasn't an atonic mess of course. ;p Just grating after a while. Sound effects and graphics were nice (I only disliked the look of those lines for the saws' paths).

More obstacles would've been neat, but maybe I just missed out on 'em by sucking!

Anikki says ...
Dec 15, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Would have been awesome if every successful crossing would have tricked out the castle a bit. I had fun.

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 1:45am

Great game, the idea is simple and fun, the graphics and music are great.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 6:58am

Pretty cool. The sounds were a bit harsh, but it was pretty fun.

guimonpa says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Fantastic game, really enjoyable.
I loved the change of pace when the spiked wheels appeared and I had to stop and plan my moves. Also, it never felt unfair for me, there was always time to react to the obstacles.

I should stop abusing the jump button so much in every game I play though...

MrBadIvan says ...
Dec 16, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Great concept - little bit more content and it will be a very good game. Simple and interesting process, nice graphics, very fun dangers (rain of fire!=)))

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Look deceptively simple but then comes the absurd amount of deathtraps preventing you from getting back safely across. Pretty addictive, nice animations and I love how the background music fits the whole impending doom mood.

Riocide says ...
Dec 18, 2014 @ 10:50pm

This is a rage game! hahaha cool idea but that saw is way too hard! :D

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 19, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Five Stars

zanenga says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 7:04pm

Very nice concept! Sound and art style are cool too.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 21, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Cool !! Good little music, smooth gameplay, randomness and sweat oldschool phraphics :) a bit hard ! but that's how it's the best!

KK says ...
Dec 22, 2014 @ 2:33pm

The detail of aniamation is so neat!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 29, 2014 @ 2:51am

The game controlled very nicely! I liked the concept quite a bit. The music seemed a little off from the setting? I dunno it sounded a little sad to me for some reason. I think the game would benefit from a goal amount of points to achieve or an ending. Also if you continue with this game I'd love to be able to see the saw hazards slightly before they appear (sometimes they would appear and kill me).

Overall a very nice entry! Fun to play. Good job! :)

pixelspirit says ...
Dec 30, 2014 @ 3:02am

cool attention to detail, nice art, and nice controls, but I agree the screen could be larger.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]